Grubhub Driver Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Grubhub Driver Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
43%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Grubhub CEO  Matt Maloney
Matt Maloney
134 Ratings
  1. "Was good Now...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver in Eugene, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, easy scheduling, simple job and clear app usage

    Cons

    No more minimum, extreme slow times, driver care/customer care and app technical difficulty

    Advice to Management

    Bring back minimums to make it worth driving again.

    Grubhub2020-01-09
  2. "good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver 

    I have been working at Grubhub

    Pros

    good pay flexible schedule finding new places to eat

    Cons

    mileage and gas rude customers time consuming

    Grubhub2020-01-05
  3. "GrubHub"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub for more than a year

    Pros

    You make your own schedule.

    Cons

    If you are late 'logging in' you are marked 'absent' for that block.

    Grubhub2020-01-03
  4. "Excellent source of side income"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub for less than a year

    Pros

    Work your own schedule, no one bossing you around, decent pay

    Cons

    Wear and tear on a car

    Grubhub2020-01-02
  5. "Love working for this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver in Lake Charles, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and work whenever you want

    Cons

    Sometime restaurant is closed and you drive all the way there without pay and losing gas

    Advice to Management

    Allow driver's to get paid even if restaurant closed or cancel orders.

    Grubhub2020-01-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Better than all of the competition!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver in Auburn, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub for less than a year

    Pros

    Well known company with market share of restaurants. Incentive based rewards for dedication to delivery and scheduling adherence. Achievable goals with perks. Minimum wage style pay with adherence to requirements. Large orders with excellent payouts. Catering options with excellent payouts. If you take every order received and don't drop your scheduled blocks you get rewarded. Best hot bags ever!

    Cons

    NO WAY TO TAKE A BREAK during your 2, 4, 6, 8 hours blocks (2 hr. Blocks are in sequence i.e. 1pm-3pm and 3pm-5pm). RIDICILOUS! Lke every delivery gig job you will destroy the value of your vehicle with mileage. Gas and maintenance adds up as well as paying taxes on every penny you earn at the end of the year-hurts your bottom line A LOT. ADDITIONAL RIDESHARING INSURANCE is a MUST (which most people do not spring for).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lead by example. Reward drivers for high stats with more perks/bonuses/resources/GrubHub branded gear. Driver specialists seem to be overworked and responses can take days. Give them help and bonuses for the work they do every day.

    Grubhub2019-12-16
  7. "OK for a little while"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No micro managment. Set your own schedule

    Cons

    Pay wasnt great if you factor in car costs.

    Grubhub2019-12-20
  8. "Not Worth It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver in Asheville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub for less than a year

    Pros

    The schedule is very flexible.

    Cons

    You don't normally make even minimum wage once you factor in mileage. They advertise $18-24/hour, which is true, but once you subtract expenses, it's not. They also guarantee you that you will make at least $10/hour if you accept ever offer, but that leaves you making even less, because you'll be doing offers that only pay $3-5 all day and still put mileage on your car. I made minimum wage ONCE while working for them; the worst day was $1.77/hour after expenses.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire actual employees, pay them decently, and you won't have such high turnover!

    Grubhub2020-01-16
  9. "Do not work in the Driver Network Operations Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Driver Specialist in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub for more than a year

    Pros

    If located in the Philadelphia office, then there is a lot of space and free lunch and snacks!

    Cons

    There is no potential for growth. Your manager or team may not be in the office with you which is fine, but there is an extreme disconnect with communication. The ops organization is a bit of a disaster, and training was lackluster.

    Advice to Management

    Restructure!

    Grubhub2019-12-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Most evil company I could ever imagine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub for more than a year

    Pros

    Basically, I drive my own car around and deliver food orders. I choose my own schedule to a degree. I was able to generate relatively large amounts of revenue in a short period of time. I can logon anytime and pick up overflow, I can take off extended periods of time.

    Cons

    Basically, I drive my own car around and deliver food orders. I have seen driver compensation fall by approximately 75% in the year I've been with Grubhub. It's been implemented in small decreases over time, generally carefully coordinated with an opening of the floodgates and hiring of hundreds of drivers. The terms on which you are employed, compensated, informed, or even acknowledged are subject to change at any moment at the sole discretion of Grubhub and without recourse. Your ability to refuse an order is a farseyou are penalized and they may just send it back again and again until your penalized out of a job. Customer service and support is filtered through Bangladesh before you can get any help, and that is limited. The smallest series of events can knock you out of your competitive standing and seriously damage your income potential. Grubhub will sometimes do it purposely, for reasons unknown and Anyone with higher access to the system appears to have the ability to cause the system to discriminate against you without explanation. When you do contact the company, they refer to the software as if it were the one in control of then and ultimately responsible. They misrepresent gratuity as payment for services rendered and make personal accounting as difficult as they can to hide it. There is absolutely no transparency.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice for someone who has no integrity, ethics, compassion, or human decency...

    Grubhub2019-12-30
Found 298 reviews