Grubhub Senior Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Grubhub Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 31 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Grubhub CEO Matt Maloney
Matt Maloney
6 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Compensation, atmosphere, office amenities, innovation

    Cons

    Competitive amongst each other, lacking service perks

    Grubhub2019-03-31
  2. Helpful (17)

    "A great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Good and improving engineering culture. * Good and improving transparency, no silos or inter-departmental secrecy. * General relaxed, friendly atmosphere. * Customers love the company.

    Cons

    I found no major downsides.

    Grubhub2018-12-17
  3. "A great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment. Management appreciate hard work

    Cons

    I can't think of any at this moment.

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you are doing

    Grubhub2019-02-09
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Food. (pantry stocked w/ drinks, snacks, cereal, etc, catered Fridays, $18 Grubhub spend every week, which is about 1 meal. Would be nice to have another days worth). Meet new people during lunch eating together. Everyone is nice. Work-life balance and laid back environment. I came from a dog-eat-dog env w/ long work hours and this is far from it. Women engineers, leads, and senior management, BUT the NY office needs...

    Show More

    Cons

    Code reviews can be really meticulous... to a point that I think is ridiculous. This may not be a con for you, but the code is clean. I feel like that can still be achieved w/o this level of nitpicking. Teams are siloed. I like to work on a breadth of problems from ops to sre to typical engineer work (startup env). You won't do that here, but there is a set of tools to do what you may need. You can also propose a feature...

    Show More
    Grubhub2018-05-10
  5. "Great Company w/ a solid plan for the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - fast-paced sprints but realistic in what can be accomplished giving a good work/life balance - challenging/interesting problems - the company is growing fast and has ambitious goals for future - helpful and collaborative work environment

    Cons

    - I don't have any so far

    Grubhub2018-03-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good place to work, good management, upbeat, management close to front line. Opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    Quick paced, lots of changes, need bigger teams to accomplish tasks at faster pace. Some old fashioned politics gets in the way.

    Advice to Management

    Executives need to understand how to keep employees safe from some overtly policitical managment

    Grubhub2018-02-28
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The freedom you get at the work place is amazing. No micro management. You will get the feeling that you own your applications. Great place to work and I highly recommend Grubhub for employment. Free food on every Friday and free drinks through out the year.

    Cons

    I didn't find anything so far...

    Grubhub2017-12-08
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great people and atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Games room and social events - Team knows how to use agile and a focus on good project management - Meal perks - free friday lunch and weekly grubhub bonus - People in my team are very open and approachable - We schedule time to refactor the codebase - We schedule proper amount of time for automation testing & release management - You will get proper work/life balance (rare in NYC)

    Cons

    - Working in midtown can be stressful with the amount of people you need to dodge - We're currently expanding the office so finding good desk space is difficult - The codebase is challenging in parts

    Grubhub2016-07-14
  9. Helpful (23)

    "Tech folks: stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Your colleagues are great. There was a tremendous sense of camaraderie.

    Cons

    New management is out to get rid of all the good tech folks left in Chicago. I don't know what their motivation is, but they are firing people with no notice because their concept of the position changed.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your long time, committed employees with respect.

    Grubhub2016-07-19
Found 9 reviews