Guidewire Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Guidewire Reviews

Updated 8 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 750 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
Guidewire CEO Mike Rosenbaum
Mike Rosenbaum
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-life balance with flexibility and respect for personal needs;(in 124 reviews)

  • "smart people around you makes it interesting(in 34 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Architect in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good culture. Great people. Invest in training.

    Cons

    Some customers won't listen to advice that would make things easier.

    Guidewire2019-07-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Guidewire have an excellent on-boarding program and show a real commitment to ensuring that their people have a good solid understanding of the application before putting them in front of a customer. They really want to give you everything they can to make you successful. There is a great culture within the organisation and everyone I have met really buys into the company culture. You really can feel that culture with...

    Show More

    Cons

    Travel is a requirement Mon-Thurs each week if you are on a project outside of your home town. This can be tough but you are made very aware of the requirements when applying for the job. You need to be prepared to do the travel.

    Advice to Management

    Really focus on maintaining the culture as the company grows quickly, it is easy to lose focus.

    Guidewire2016-09-12
  3. "wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Collegiate environment, where rationality and integrity are highly valued and recognised personal traits. Very clear strategy, well expressed throughout the company. Competent and accessible senior management. Wonderful customer base.

    Cons

    The consensus and collegiate approach to decision making can sometimes be frustrating, but is nothing compared to the inertia of other places I have worked.

    Advice to Management

    lets keep doing what we do, please...

    Guidewire2014-10-14
  4. "Talented people who work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time

    Pros

    Great career opportunities, company full of smart talented people that work as a team, implementation projects that use world class software. Company values are embodied at all levels and not something that is merely written down.

    Cons

    Significant travel requirements in professional services makes work life balance difficult but balanced by 4 day onsite 1 day offsite schedule.

    Advice to Management

    Maintain the culture that has served Guidewire well to date.

    Guidewire2013-11-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The professional services organization is choc-a-block with competent professionals. New employees quickly get up to speed because they have a lot of one on one interaction with the more senior staff. You learn a lot and you learn it very quickly

    Cons

    Work-Life balance suffers because of the amount of travel you may need to do in the professional services organization.

    Guidewire2013-05-16
  6. "Good place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company and management are invested in people as much as they are about the company's growth.

    Cons

    fast paced growth and lot of management changes

    Guidewire2019-08-07
  7. "A place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible work - Empowered to try new things, fail and learn - Easy going teammates and staff in general - We do things that matter and that benefits all of us, friends, family

    Cons

    - Communication can be improved in times of changes - We are missing the opportunity to have a rotation program for the roles outside engineering

    Advice to Management

    Keep looking at making Guidewire relevant.

    Guidewire2019-08-08
  8. "Direction to the cloud can either make it or break it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company really embraces company values together

    Cons

    Sometimes we don't practice what we preach internally and it can get quite frustrating

    Advice to Management

    Focus on empowering people internally.

    Guidewire2019-06-27
  9. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture and work load Friendly environment

    Cons

    proprietary language, location, salary grow

    Advice to Management

    Slow on changing processes and finding requirements

    Guidewire2019-07-10
  10. "Challenging and Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Foster City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guidewire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Here is an opportunity to make a difference in the business with a culture that is open to ideas from anywhere in the company; when rationality is used to lay out proposals. Great team environment - everyone is wiling to help when something important is at risk, especially if customer oriented. Interactions with people from many cultures and global locations makes teamwork more interesting. Great place for a person...

    Show More

    Cons

    Some employees (at all levels) can be jaded and negative. Wish they would just move on to another company that better suits their needs. Also, need greater accountability for mid-manager level results. Provide more opportunities to leverage this level of leaders.

    Advice to Management

    Continue communicating the strategy throughout the organization. Prepare and support VPs and Directors to directly communicate the big ideas to their teams, so they can take ownership and provide direction. We have very talented people at this level who desire to have a greater role in leadership.

    Guidewire2019-06-17

    Guidewire Response

    August 7, 2019Talent Attraction | Employer Branding | Talent Brand

    Thank you so much for your constructive review. We will continue to communicate the strategy throughout the organization.

Found 750 reviews