H&M Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

H&M Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4266 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
H&M CEO Karl-Johan Persson
Karl-Johan Persson
1356 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance is not a priority(in 141 reviews)

  • "If you want to work in H&M you need a really fast pace, sometimes there is some lack of communication from the management team(in 180 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sale Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at H&M part-time

    Pros

    Really good place to work, no pressure to make sales.

    Cons

    Being apart of unsustainable fast fashion!

    Advice to Management

    Do proper scheduling

    H&M2019-01-18
  2. "H&M Sales Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Sales Advisor in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at H&M part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Big team, lots of people coming and going to meet and work with, can be moved between departments, varied work

    Cons

    Long hours, tedious pressure from management to improve sales for issues beyond our roles. Working in fast fashion doesn't always feel like a great contribution to the world.

    Advice to Management

    Falls in sales isn't just due to staff actions and can't always be solved by staff i.e. greater retail slump

    H&M2019-04-09
  3. "Good Part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Campbelltown, New South Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H&M part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible - worked in accordance with Uni Shift's where released in advance

    Cons

    Management Lacked Vision Improper promotion - would promote people under poor guidlines

    H&M2019-04-03
  4. "Great Jobs changes too much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chadstone
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at H&M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff discount is 25%

    Cons

    Working hours- very early 5.30am /6am or very late having late finishes The drama that happens back of house Lack of upgrades throughout the store - student discount,afterpay, system to check, automatic functions all manual. No website to look for current stock Management needs improvement Lack of staff Need better lighting, dust free environment, temperature arrangement You will never GROW in...

    Show More
    H&M2019-03-17
  5. "Great job to get your experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H&M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Roster changes very frequently

    Cons

    Wake up very early or close late

    Advice to Management

    Good msnagers

    H&M2019-01-15
  6. "Sales Assitant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at H&M part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Staff discount 25% off (if you shop there it's good) They actually give our part time contracts which is good to know how many hours you'll work I met a lot of cool people there

    Cons

    Terrible Management Very high turnover, they seem to prioritise people from overseas over people who live here which kind of sucks because we can stay longer than them, yet they choose to give us less shifts. Hire way too many people, then drop them like flies Casuals get no shifts when its not Christmas time or a sale is on I dont think the staff is very diverse, they only seem to hire young people Very fast paced,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on nurturing the people who work there instead of hiring heaps of terrible workers, I think having less GOOD staff rather than more TERRIBLE staff is best

    H&M2019-01-24
  7. "Values manipulation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at H&M full-time

    Pros

    Global brand, stable career once in, even hard to get kicked out for low performance people

    Cons

    Promotes people based on who you know, as well as people that have done the easy work. Junior senior management in support team with little to no experience.

    H&M2019-01-14
  8. "Great company with good values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Melbourne

    I have been working at H&M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open-minded Supportive of goals and progress Great values

    Cons

    Sometimes difficult in situations of bias and favouritism very prominent in management

    H&M2018-12-13
  9. "Retail Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at H&M part-time

    Pros

    The people you work with are great.

    Cons

    Very busy, high workload, and often understaffed.

    H&M2018-12-02
  10. "Previous employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at H&M part-time

    Pros

    Environment was positive and friendly - very encouraging other staff

    Cons

    Last minute rosters sometimes and didn't always feel appreciated

    H&M2018-11-13
Found 4266 reviews