H&M Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

H&M Reviews

Updated 17 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4706 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
H&M CEO Karl-Johan Persson
Karl-Johan Persson
1426 Ratings
Pros
  • "H&M is a wonderful employer generally speaking because they allow you to express yourself and they care about their employees(in 263 reviews)

  • "Great benefits package for employees(in 253 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you want to work in H&M you need a really fast pace, sometimes there is some lack of communication from the management team(in 182 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is not a priority(in 154 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Brisbane

    I have been working at H&M part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    many paths for career development

    Cons

    can be hard to be recognised through the company

    Continue reading
    H&M2019-07-06
  2. "Good uni job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 

    I worked at H&M part-time

    Pros

    - Good team - Staff room - Break times - Recognition Bonus'

    Cons

    - Can't take leave over 4 weeks - Can be picky with hours

    Continue reading
    H&M2019-08-12
  3. "Slow to replace people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cash Office Responsible in Sydney

    I have been working at H&M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company takes feedback seriously that’s why we do dialogue written feedback twice a year. Lots of small trainings throughout the training. Having good culture majorly depends on the leadership team

    Cons

    Really slow at recruiting new team specially for leadership positions, department manager hasn't been filled over 2 months. There was a time only 2 managers working for 2 weeks on their own only getting support from other stores when one of them was having a day off. It just burns them out. Uses the values against their staff to unfair working conditions ( we are one team and if you’re a leader you should support the store now .....)

    Continue reading
    H&M2019-08-11
  4. "Inclusive culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advsior in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at H&M part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An inclusive culture that is fun to work in.

    Cons

    Sometimes under staffed Some employees have negative attitude

    Continue reading
    H&M2019-07-19
  5. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 

    I worked at H&M part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great people to work with

    Cons

    customers can be rude sometimes

    Continue reading
    H&M2019-07-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Proceed with EXTREME caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandiser in Adelaide
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at H&M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You meet some fantastic people and excellent training before I started my role.

    Cons

    This company is one of the most vile and horrible workplaces I have ever had the misfortune of working for. In particular the Australian arm of H&M is unprofessional, unsupportive and fosters a culture of workplace bullying. To the next department managers and visual merchandisers of the Adelaide store be very wary before applying, there is a disturbing level of bullying by upper management that included verbal abuse, spying on staff, random intrusive locker searches through your personal belongings, extreme micromanagement and very intrusive interviews after a sick day where you are asked what your symptoms were, what did your doctor say and if/what they prescribed. You will feel too intimidated not to answer these questions despite it being a complete breach of your privacy. These are done to make staff feel too intimidated to take their sick days. I raised all these issues to a HR representative and area management and who all put down this behaviour as a ‘personality clash’ and did nothing to protect staff despite that fact that they had voiced that they felt unsafe, intimidated and bullied. They insisted that his behaviour was not a form of bullying but rather part of a ‘driven’ management style. This company does not care about its people, it is run by extremely unqualified people who rose up in the company simply because they stuck around long enough and knew the right people in head office but don’t have any formal training or qualifications in management, effective communication, leadership or empathy.

    Continue reading
    H&M2019-07-31
  7. "Easy Job. Christmas casual position. Management was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at H&M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. Good staff.

    Cons

    Too much work load to be completed within a short period of time.

    Continue reading
    H&M2019-06-26
  8. "h&m"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at H&M full-time

    Pros

    Big company, work culture, good pay

    Cons

    Rush hours, weekend shifts, late close

    Continue reading
    H&M2019-06-08
  9. "Good environment bad IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at H&M part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very casual environment, friendly staff,.

    Cons

    the IT system they had in place were not very good and a lot of things had to be done manually.

    Continue reading
    H&M2019-06-03
  10. "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at H&M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Met amazing people and they became my life long friends

    Cons

    Favouritism. Unachievable expectations Company values are invalid Unpaid overtime Leadership turnover is 80% monthly due to visa holders

    Continue reading
    H&M2019-07-08
Found 4706 reviews