HOYTS Reviews

Updated 18 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
HOYTS President & CEO Damian Keogh (no image)
Damian Keogh
39 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great casual work"

    5.0
    Former Employee - CW1 

    I worked at HOYTS part-time

    Pros

    Working in cinemas is the best casual job around

    Cons

    Dissatisfied customers make the environment challenging

    HOYTS2019-10-15
  2. "Selling tickets, organising theatres"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Frontline Crew 

    I have been working at HOYTS part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits with changing in environment

    Cons

    Repetitive with continuous limited hours

    HOYTS2019-10-18
  3. "A Company You Can Grow With"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GM Workplace Health & Safety in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HOYTS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities to grow and learn Promotes from within Fast paced Great benefits for staff Strong visions for the future

    Cons

    I don't have any cons - my time with HOYTS has been a really positive experience

    HOYTS2019-09-25
  4. "Great environment and culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HOYTS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I felt very welcome from the beginning, I had an induction from my manager and HR and received a great welcome pack. People have been here for over 40 years so you know its a great place to work. We also get to go to screenings of films before there release.

    Cons

    The pay could be higher but the benefits far outweigh this

    HOYTS2019-09-17
  5. "Good Environment, Good Versatility"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HOST Member in Penrith
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HOYTS part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to make friends and meet people, good amount of versatility in the different areas that it doesn’t get boring and really good perks and discounts!

    Cons

    Mostly hire teens, young management team

    HOYTS2019-09-16

    HOYTS Response

    September 22, 2019HR Talent Advisor

    Thank you for your long tenure at Penrith, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time at HOYTS!

  6. "Pretty Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HOST Member 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HOYTS part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Discounts are great - Good employees -

    Cons

    - Management - Hours can be late during school, and have to be available pretty much everyday

    HOYTS2019-09-13
  7. "Highly stressful, other employees were great"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lux Crew Member in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at HOYTS part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great movie discounts the people i worked with were generally really helpful, kind, and fun to be around really teaches you how to manage your time hiring process was efficient

    Cons

    severe lack of training, new employees thrown in the deep end some managers could be hypocritical and were often condescending/patronising, staff made to feel stupid for making mistakes. lack of professionalism from managers constantly purposefully understaffed so the entire shift is spent running off your feet some customers can be horrible and so entitled - especially in LUX because they were paying a premium price (admittedly the prices in LUX are ridiculously high, especially for food) the pay was low for the amount of work we had to put in

    Continue reading
    HOYTS2019-09-27
  8. "Great people and culture to work it.."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Executive in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HOYTS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and culture to work it.. Opportunity for promotion from the site level to HQ

    Cons

    Can't expect much on pay

    HOYTS2019-09-06
  9. "Not worth it"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member 

    I worked at HOYTS part-time

    Pros

    $2 tickets, discounts on food and drink, flexible with rosters

    Cons

    Severely underpaid, management weren't very understanding at times

    HOYTS2019-09-18

    HOYTS Response

    September 22, 2019HR Talent Advisor

    HOYTS pay above the industry standard and also hire Crew on a permanent basis so they continuously have a higher rate of pay and job security. In regards to your comments on management I encourage you to email me more about this at hr@hoyts.com.au for a confidential discussion. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and thank you for your time at HOYTS.

  10. "Great job, not so great management team"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Team Member in Maribyrnong
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at HOYTS part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great experience ( for that I recommend ) - learn to work in a fast paced environment - learn to work against the clock to clean cinemas - learn to multitask - learn great customer service and how to use KPI, POS and how to upsell. Really helpful for working in customer service

    Cons

    - if you need a day off, you’ll be ‘punished’ for it and get less shifts the next week - you’re expected to put work before everything. Too bad if you’ve have a uni assignment - they make you feel bad for taking a sick day - if you request annual leave they will still roster you on that day and tell you to sort out changing the days your working yourself ( swap with someone else don’t call in sick or you’ll need a medical certificate) - you’ll be doing a lot of work for minimal dollars and run off your feet - once you’re over 15 your hours drop and they hire younger people

    Continue reading
    HOYTS2019-08-29
Found 140 reviews