HSBC Holdings Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

HSBC Holdings Project Manager Reviews

Updated 1 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 174 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
HSBC Holdings CEO John Flint
John Flint
13 Ratings
  1. "Good pay, great benefits,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager 

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, great benefits, great stock options, and great vacation package. Casual atmosphere (sometimes a select few take casual to a new meaning). Flexible schedules.

    Cons

    For the record, I am giving a very neutral observation as I am not one of the many disgruntled employees, I am actually one of the ‘content’ ones. Salaries are super unbalanced and not fair within the HSBC organisation

    HSBC Holdings2018-10-12
  2. "Work Life Balance is Great, Salary Might Not Be That Competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is great. You can take leaves as long as it's within the policy. If it is, it's almost a no questions asked approved leave. Most managers discourage overtime. If there are multiple hours of overtime rendered, management takes notice and works on it. Phones are allowed on the floor which is something different from other service centers. Sleeping quarters, gym, play area, karaoke rooms, and pantries are...

    Show More

    Cons

    The salary might not be competitive anymore. I have heard some of my colleagues leaving the company for a better pay outside. The company needs to review it's compensation package. It might be great for people coming from outside. But if you are growing within the company, the increase is okay - but not competitive.

    HSBC Holdings2019-05-25
  3. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager - Projects in London, England

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good exposure to large projects and senior stakeholders

    Cons

    Large organisation so moving up is hard

    HSBC Holdings2019-06-01
  4. "Great Bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Innovative and good opportunites globally

    Cons

    Can be too big and decisions take time

    HSBC Holdings2019-04-23
  5. "HSBC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Hong Kong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good well being, good annual leave

    Cons

    no direction in career, low paid

    HSBC Holdings2019-05-02
  6. "Much restructuring due to large regulatory fines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HSBC Holdings for more than a year

    Pros

    Many good and interesting people to work with. Lots of opportunities as there's an overhaul of having too many systems to manage...Evergreen in affect.

    Cons

    British hierarchy management issues in some cases, much politics, and the near shoring of IT dismantled good teams. Parent company regulatory fines negatively impacted people management, typical path of cheaper labor resource planning.

    Advice to Management

    Cheap labor adds to your glut more than you know.

    HSBC Holdings2019-04-26
  7. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flex time, work from home, cross border collaboration

    Cons

    Travel, late night working, time zone issues

    HSBC Holdings2019-04-17
  8. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Encourages learning. Have dedicated learning programs

    Cons

    Work life balance and low salaries

    HSBC Holdings2019-03-02
  9. "Good for money making, not so good for professional development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant/Project Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings for more than a year

    Pros

    HSBC has finances, so usually this is not a thing to worry about.

    Cons

    Difficult to do any change, make a positive impact. Everything takes forever and directions and priorities are changed every day. Old and inefficient systesms and processes, which doesn't let grow technically and learn and apply new skills. Very unfriendly office environment. Even simple things like microvawe, kitchen, water, good coffee machine are missing here. It is a huge office and hard to organize, but regardless...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in employees wellbeing and increase consistency thought organisation (tools, processes, priorities)

    HSBC Holdings2019-02-28
  10. "High Energy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great exposure to Banking and working with Stakeholders

    Cons

    Long hours which impact work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    Once you find a team that works, appreciate successes and reward those who can execute

    HSBC Holdings2019-02-12
Found 174 reviews