HSBC Holdings Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

HSBC Holdings Reviews

Updated 20 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10254 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
HSBC Holdings CEO Noel Quinn
Noel Quinn
39 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Amazing opportunities. Great growth.

    Cons

    Old tech stack. Hierarchical but also depends on the teams

    HSBC Holdings2019-03-05
  2. "Financial Crime Compliance Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Growth in the department, Best to develop professional Skills

    Cons

    No work life balance , best to have more disciplined staff

    Advice to Management

    Best to recruit staff with more respect and humanity and values

    HSBC Holdings2019-03-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to gain international exposure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1.The breath of work would have you engaging with multiple stakeholders from different countries. 2.Culture is generally good. People are from diverse ethnic backgrounds.

    Cons

    1.Multiple layers of management can delay execution process. 2.Be prepared to deal with politics from around the world.

    HSBC Holdings2019-01-04
  4. "Conventional, limited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great working culture and company values - Moderately high compensation - High job security for internal staff - A well-developed system of process and procedure. Great corporate structure

    Cons

    - Limited growth opportunities for entry-level employees - Hierarchical structure

    Advice to Management

    Don't just preach the company values. Live and demonstrate them to your employee through actions

    HSBC Holdings2018-12-08
  5. "Relationship Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Well known global bank with strong network and full range of products available to both corporate and personal customers. Largest foreign bank in Australia.

    Cons

    As a foreign bank in Australia, it has less network in the country. Considering the client base, the bank is still far behind the local banks.

    Advice to Management

    Hope HBAU can have more branches in their current network to be more competitive to the local players.

    HSBC Holdings2018-10-17
  6. "Credit Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Executive in Parramatta
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, people focus, flexibility, good career progression

    Cons

    Very very old style system, centralized control from UK or HK

    HSBC Holdings2018-10-13
  7. "Good pay, great benefits,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager 

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, great benefits, great stock options, and great vacation package. Casual atmosphere (sometimes a select few take casual to a new meaning). Flexible schedules.

    Cons

    For the record, I am giving a very neutral observation as I am not one of the many disgruntled employees, I am actually one of the ‘content’ ones. Salaries are super unbalanced and not fair within the HSBC organisation

    HSBC Holdings2018-10-12
  8. "Management Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Opportunities to travel Collaborative working environment

    Cons

    Bureaucratic too many layers of management

    HSBC Holdings2018-09-25
  9. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to explore and work on a variety of banking projects

    Cons

    Lack of leadership in management

    HSBC Holdings2018-09-24
  10. "Working at HSBC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Comradery among employees are high

    Cons

    Work-life balance are very low

    HSBC Holdings2018-09-22
Found 10254 reviews