HSBC Holdings Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

HSBC Holdings Reviews

Updated 19 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9764 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
HSBC Holdings CEO John Flint
John Flint
772 Ratings
  1. "Conventional, limited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great working culture and company values - Moderately high compensation - High job security for internal staff - A well-developed system of process and procedure. Great corporate structure

    Cons

    - Limited growth opportunities for entry-level employees - Hierarchical structure

    Advice to Management

    Don't just preach the company values. Live and demonstrate them to your employee through actions

    HSBC Holdings2018-12-08
  2. "Relationship Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Well known global bank with strong network and full range of products available to both corporate and personal customers. Largest foreign bank in Australia.

    Cons

    As a foreign bank in Australia, it has less network in the country. Considering the client base, the bank is still far behind the local banks.

    Advice to Management

    Hope HBAU can have more branches in their current network to be more competitive to the local players.

    HSBC Holdings2018-10-17
  3. "Credit Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Executive in Parramatta
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good salary, people focus, flexibility, good career progression

    Cons

    Very very old style system, centralized control from UK or HK

    HSBC Holdings2018-10-13
  4. "Good pay, great benefits,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager 

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, great benefits, great stock options, and great vacation package. Casual atmosphere (sometimes a select few take casual to a new meaning). Flexible schedules.

    Cons

    For the record, I am giving a very neutral observation as I am not one of the many disgruntled employees, I am actually one of the ‘content’ ones. Salaries are super unbalanced and not fair within the HSBC organisation

    HSBC Holdings2018-10-12
  5. "Management Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time

      Pros

      Opportunities to travel Collaborative working environment

      Cons

      Bureaucratic too many layers of management

      HSBC Holdings2018-09-25
    • "Business Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Able to explore and work on a variety of banking projects

      Cons

      Lack of leadership in management

      HSBC Holdings2018-09-24
    • "Working at HSBC"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time

      Pros

      Comradery among employees are high

      Cons

      Work-life balance are very low

      HSBC Holdings2018-09-22
    • "Middle market"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time

      Pros

      Distinct competituve advantage on international reach

      Cons

      Conservative risk appetite doesn't meet the market with mid market corporates

      HSBC Holdings2018-09-08
    • "Future"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Relationship Manager in Sydney
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Global organisation, good management so far, growing organisation in Au.

      Cons

      Limited cross function experience.

      HSBC Holdings2018-08-19
    • "sales manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
      Recommends

      I worked at HSBC Holdings for more than 3 years

      Pros

      good team work and multi culture

      Cons

      Challenging and friendly working environment

      Advice to Management

      Challenging work and friendly working environment, hope more training and team building work

      HSBC Holdings2018-08-15
    Found 9764 reviews