Hair Club Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Hair Club Reviews

Updated 9 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 327 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Hair Club CEO Mike Nassar
Mike Nassar
138 Ratings
Pros
  • "We get to help people feel more confident with themselves(in 28 reviews)

  • "Long term employees show that it’s a great company(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "You have to not mind working Saturdays(in 27 reviews)

  • "There are no Cons to being part of this family(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "the best business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hair Club part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    they had great service ad they were really nice

    Cons

    there were no cons at this wonderful store

    Advice to Management

    continue being nice and being good

    Hair Club2019-05-29
  2. Helpful (3)

    "What a Moderate, Strange Trip It's Been"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hair Club full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Health Benefits, Schedule, compensation and getting to work alongside some GREAT team members and clients

    Cons

    There is a lot of cronyism in this company that seemed to have gone wayward, but unfortunately has returned – just different faces now. We joked that Executive meetings must look like a bobblehead convention because of all the ‘Yes Men’ in the same room. In the last 2 years, new leadership has brought in people from outside the company at the top tier(s) for much needed outside perspectives; while well intended, this...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Concentrate on being the BEST at the solutions you offer before adding more ....and more. When there are re-re-re-launches of things, that might indicate that perhaps you might be biting off more than you can chew. Understand that some of the demands to management regarding the Ultimate Employee Experience and the specific demands in running a center, don't always align - trust your managers to do what's best.

    Hair Club2019-06-09
  3. "Excited to be a part"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Relationship Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hair Club full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits, loyal clients, great staff, continuous education training, 401k, cross train, advancement opportunities, teamwork, friendly staff

    Cons

    As of now there are no cons

    Advice to Management

    The interview process was great not stressful I was able to be myself. However it would be better to offer your proposal for a position with the company after a background check is performed on Potential new hire.

    Hair Club2019-05-15
  4. "Bad hair day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Image Consultant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hair Club full-time

    Pros

    Great management. Really nice people. Fun atmosphere. Decent $

    Cons

    I just couldn't sell the glue-on's. Let's get real. How do you look people in the eye and sell them that for thousands of dollars when they can buy a better looking one for 1/8 price internet? It just made me feel bad. Too bad though because I loved the company.

    Hair Club2019-05-27
  5. "Hair stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hair Club full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very organized and great opportunities

    Cons

    Non at this time still new

    Advice to Management

    Continue to grow together

    Hair Club2019-04-23

    Hair Club Response

    May 13, 2019President & COO

    Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great job, if you like your career held hostage."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hair Club full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, PTO, 401k, Set reschedule, The Clients are the most rewarding aspect of working for Hairclub. You build amazing relationships, while doing something extremely rewarding. Easy to build a clientele based on your skillset.

    Cons

    The Pay structure for stylists is outdated. There is no Incentive, there is no opportunity. Most commissions are based on SALES, and specialities services. Why we don't receive commission on male clients who wear hair (major part of the Business) is beyond me, other than greed of course. Hairstylists currently are paid 15hr starting out. With 3% raises yearly (.45cents) I've seen independent competitors start stylists...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue moving the company forward. The Culture has improved but i guarantee ever stylist is waiting for corporate to Review and change the current pay Structure for Stylists. Enforce actual policies in the Handbook. Hold stylists and supervisors accountable. Promote those with a proven skill set. I feel like my talent is being wasted.

    Hair Club2019-05-07

    Hair Club Response

    May 13, 2019President & COO

    Hi, we definitely don't want you to feel like you're being held hostage. Please reach out to me so we can discuss.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Hairclub"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Coordinator 

    I have been working at Hair Club full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free products and services.

    Cons

    No help from upper management

    Hair Club2019-04-18

    Hair Club Response

    May 4, 2019President & COO

    Hi. I’d like to find out how I can help. It would be great to hear from you. Mnassar@hcfm.com

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great for stability, but no growth potential."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hair Club full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent income and benefits. Loved majority of clients.

    Cons

    Poor management and growth opportunities. Growth opportunities seemed to happen for those who sucked up to management. I don't think managers can be managers unless they can do the jobs they're managing.

    Advice to Management

    Get a better training program . Completely revamp the system for a detailed education/hands on process. Promote those with the skill set to do new clients and become supervisors. Provide more earning potential to the stylists that keep your business running show more appreciation to avoid losing great employees. Promote within have managers understand what it takes to each job they're managing.

    Hair Club2019-04-01

    Hair Club Response

    May 4, 2019President & COO

    Thank you for the feedback.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hair Club full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A few of the things I love about this organization are the outstanding support and guidance from some of the most phenomenal people I've ever had the opportunity to work with. In addition, we have opportunity to impact and improve the lives of others.

    Cons

    There are no Cons to being part of this family.

    Hair Club2019-02-16

    Hair Club Response

    March 23, 2019President & COO

    We're glad you love it! Thank you for the feedback.

  10. "Ic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hair Club full-time

    Pros

    Great working environment staff and clients

    Cons

    Having to work on Saturday

    Hair Club2019-02-08

    Hair Club Response

    May 13, 2019President & COO

    Thank you for your feedback!

Found 327 reviews