Find jobs for Senior Manager

Hays Senior Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 85 of over 4,137 reviews

4.7
92%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
56 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Contractor

    helpful and supportive

    Jan 28, 2021 - Senior Claims Manager in Brisbane
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Contractors paid at higher rates compared to permanent staff

    Cons

    Contracts can end on short notice

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Team of the year 2018/19 and getting better!

    Aug 1, 2019 - Senior Manager in Geelong
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    We have a fantastic team of 15 in Geelong and growing, with an office expansion set for late 2019. We have opened a brand new Ballarat office in Nov 18 with 3 people and are set to open Bendigo in Oct 19 with 2 people. Such a great culture, supportive, collaborative and high achieving.

    Cons

    I work five minutes from home and five minutes from the beach, no CONS from me!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Hays Response

    HR Coordinator

    We are thrilled to hear about your 5 star experience with Hays and highlighting our continued growth and our supportive, meritocratic culture! Thank you for your review and for sharing a snapshot of your Hays Story so far.

  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Amazing Career

    Jun 30, 2019 - Senior Manager in Canberra
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome culture, support and commitment to developing people. If you’re willing to work hard and take on feedback they will back you 100% Opportunity to make really good money Training is excellent Non financial rewards are also great Strong leadership

    Cons

    Long hours The work can be quite relentless Rigid operating model Leadership bottlenecks reduce opportunity at senior levels

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hays Response

    HR Coordinator

    Thank you for your review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed our range of employee benefits, uncapped commission structure and strong culture. Your feedback is valuable and your suggestion will be passed onto our leadership team. Thank you again, and all the best for the future.

  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Senior Manager

    Mar 21, 2019 - Senior Manager in Melbourne
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Clearly defined career path Supportive Environment Minimal Micro Management

    Cons

    Dated and unreliable IT infrastructure Culture can become too toxic/political at times Low base Salary and uncompetitive commissions

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hays Response

    HR Coordinator

    Thank you for your review and for recommending Hays as an employer. We’re delighted to hear your feedback about our Wellness@Hays programme, culture and career opportunities. We feel confident that the salary structure at Hays and uncapped commission rewards high performance and provides unlimited earning potential. We have some of the most up to date technology in the recruitment industry and invest heavily into our systems and databases to ensure that our employees are well equipped to do their job. Appreciate the feedback and we’ll pass it onto IT. If you have any questions or concerns, we recommend speaking to your RD. Wishing you an incredible career here at Hays!

  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Working here can be likened to a recruitment battery farm.......

    Feb 18, 2009 - Senior Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Global company that offers the opportunity to work in different locations across the globe. Clear career progression / promotion structure. Clear and regular performance review system in place. Despite everything they manage to employ some great people who are really up for making it work.

    Cons

    Long work hours. Immature work force and management style. Outdated 'gun ho' senior management style - don't seem to move with the time or appreciate the needs of employees. I worked for them for 8 years and they are still using the same tried and tested formula that isn't consultative and is all about making money. The constant focus on dollars undoes genuine innovation as there's no room to do anything different. Micro management is rife and people get to senior management roles from hanging around the longest. They lock their poorly educated old school senior sales managers in so that they commit to Sydney mortgages and kids in private schools and can't afford to change jobs - so they just hand around like dead wood because they know they don't have the skills to be able to go and do anything else.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Having this company on your resume can damage your future career.

    Jul 30, 2008 - Senior Manager in Melbourne
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you are willing to work all the hours that God sends then you have potential to earn good money at Hays. In commission payments, not as a salary. That is the only reason that you should consider Hays as an employer.

    Cons

    Appalling work life balance. You will work 55 hours a week here. Fact. You will not be able to afford not to. Very poor management. Managers are promoted on their sales ability, not their management ability. Non-existent benefits package. Generally uninspiring and not particularly intelligent colleagues.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    Compliance

    Jul 30, 2021 - Senior Project Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay of pretty decent and it makes up for bot having paid vacations. The people who work here are generally happy.

    Cons

    No paid vacations unless you are full time and that is usually very hard to achieve if you work with clients

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    First class career progression

    Jun 3, 2021 - Senior Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team, lots of career opportunities

    Cons

    None I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent training provided.

    May 23, 2021 - Senior Manager in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work hard and you will get promoted

    Cons

    Long hours which I suppose is what recruitment is all about

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good company, Rubbish salary

    Jun 18, 2021 - Senior Manager in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people and good training

    Cons

    Money is poor for the work and hours

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 85 Reviews

Popular Careers with Hays Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Hays? Share Your Experiences

Hays logo
or