Hays Employee Reviews about "work hard play"

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 155 of over 4,242 reviews

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
1,899 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast career progression, rewarding position, great people(in 161 reviews)

  • "There are lots of incentives to work towards eg race days or office parties, very sociable and young working environment 'work hard play hard'(in 157 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Certain times of year bring long hours(in 495 reviews)

  • "Not much flexibility around working hours(in 141 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work hard play"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Loved it here!!! One of the best places I've ever worked!

      May 4, 2017 - Manager in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture. Management are fantastic, offer you development and value in your career. Supportive environment. Loyal to their employees and you can always trust they will do what they say they will do. They genuinely value their employees. Will do what they can to make it work for you. Training is fantastic! Career development is great. Hard work is rewarded. Global reach. Its just an all round great place to work.

      Cons

      Perhaps the commission structure. Although being a bigger business they do tend to have more of a reach so it does tend to even out.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hays Response

      Head of Internal Recruitment

      Thank you Melbourne, I'll be sure to share your comments with Nick, Tim and the team in VIC. All the best in your future career.

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great training and development opportunities

      Jan 31, 2020 - Manager in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good training, a clear development path to leadership. Work hard play hard culture.

      Cons

      Can be a little political, salaries and commission could be higher.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hays Response

      HR Advisor ANZ

      We are delighted to hear about your positive experience with our industry leading training and development opportunities at Hays. We are proud of our fair and transparent commission structure that allows employees unlimited earning potential based on performance. We would recommend that you share your feedback with your Manager or our HR Advisor, Danielle Marshall at Danielle.Marshall@hays.com.au.

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Associate Consultant

      Nov 19, 2016 - Associate Consultant in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have only been here for 5 weeks but everyone I have met so far at Hays have been so friendly and supportive, and you wouldn't even know you're speaking to senior consultants/managers or even directors. The training is second to none. I'm really amazed with how detailed the training is, whether it's class, book or online training plus the on the job training you constantly get as well. The team culture is amazing as well where they do reward your hard work with drinks, prizes etc

      Cons

      None so far. Definitely long hours but you won't notice at all because they literally fly by! I love the fact that you're constantly busy.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Hays Response

      Head of Internal Recruitment

      Thank you for your review from Melbourne. It's great to hear that regardless of global location the message is consistent and you have all the support and tools to help you become a great recruiting expert. Good luck in your M1 and M2 training which will no doubt be coming up very soon. Looking forward to hearing from you again in 2017 when you are promoted to recruitment consultant. All the best.

    4. 4.0
      Former Contractor, more than 1 year

      Recruitment on the Up and Up

      Nov 13, 2015 - Recruitment Consultant in Brisbane
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team environment. Rewards based on hard work. Recognition for going beyond the call if duty.

      Cons

      Salary is a little low for the workload required. Entry level work hard to come by. Want experience but don't pay for it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hays Response

      Head of Internal Recruitment

      Thank you for your comments from Brisbane. I have passed your advice to the Senior Management team to review.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Remuneration

      Jan 19, 2021 - Consultant in Singapore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get the autonomy and rewarded for your hard work.

      Cons

      A lot of external factors in this job.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company, great culture, rewarding career

      Jan 13, 2021 - Manager in Petaling Jaya
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Untapped earning potential Young and dynamic workforce Definitely a fun, work hard play hard environment

      Cons

      Pros certainly outweigh the cons here, and any cons would be minor when compared to pros

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Challenging yet rewarding

      Jan 11, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Your hard work will be paid off.

      Cons

      Extremely stressful on hitting KPIs

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      great atmosphere, great people and rewarding work!

      Sep 16, 2020 - Senior Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You are rewarded for your hard work through commission, incentives and awards. Great team atmosphere, every day is lively, fun and exciting!

      Cons

      long hours at times and high pressure environment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Career Opportunities

      Sep 15, 2020 - Manager in Sheffield, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you are motivated by promotions, earning commission, continuous personal development Hays is a great career path. I personally started as an Intern during my placement year at university, after returning I worked within the finance recruitment sector and then progressed to manage a smaller office. Since then, I have moved to manage a much larger team/area. Hard work definitely pays off

      Cons

      The hours can be long but we now have hybrid working which means we can work from home and office.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      excellent organisation to work for

      Sep 7, 2020 - Senior Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity to develop, excellent training, working with an organisation with a credible reputation, good communication from and to all levels, friendly and supportive culture across all regions, hard work and success is celebrated and well rewarded - both financially or with appropriate recognition or events (where possible!), opportunity to develop and nurture excellent and long-lasting customer relationships.

      Cons

      none if you are prepared to put in the work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 155 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Hays Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hays? Share Your Experiences

    Hays logo
    or