HelloWorld Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

HelloWorld Reviews

Updated Oct 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
HelloWorld CEO Peter DeNunzio
Peter DeNunzio
47 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Only mild incentives from upper management to retain talent because many positions are considered somewhat disposable(in 11 reviews)

  • "Although flexible, work-life balance is a struggle here(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "An OK place to work, but has many flaws"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at HelloWorld full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility and laid-back atmosphere. Decent benefits and perks.

    Cons

    Lots of tech-debt on many platforms. Although flexible, work-life balance is a struggle here. Not really focused on professional development. Lots of office politics and favoritism. Since being acquired by Merkle and moving to Southfield the overall atmosphere and culture has eroded.

    HelloWorld2019-10-06
  2. "Good work culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Finance 

    I have been working at HelloWorld full-time

    Pros

    A well balanced work culture

    Cons

    No cons in my opinion

    HelloWorld2019-09-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great company, culture and atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommends

    I have been working at HelloWorld full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been here for almost 5 weeks now and it has been a breathe of fresh air. The interview process was smooth, and they really try and place you where they think you'll fit best and strive most. The culture is great and they are flexible when it comes to appointments, or any issues that could arise. So far it has been amazing!

    Cons

    None so far, all around been great.

    HelloWorld2019-07-26
  4. "Great New Space"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HelloWorld

    Pros

    Their new space is really amazing and super cool. The people are great.

    Cons

    If you work on the Coca Cola account, be prepared to feel locked away in your own world. Entirely separate floor and locked doors. Sterile, white environment.

    HelloWorld2019-06-02
  5. "Good so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HelloWorld full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, fair pay, flexibility, training, growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Too new to have cons

    HelloWorld2019-05-31
  6. "Nice people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at HelloWorld full-time

    Pros

    Really nice people and fun

    Cons

    Can not think of any

    HelloWorld2019-04-30
  7. "Worst employer I've EVER worked for. Hands down."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HelloWorld

    Pros

    Great for as a first job. That's it.

    Cons

    The supervisors aren't trained on how to be effective supervisors. Annual employee turnover is 20-25%, you can do the actual math with what they expose internally. That exceeds what Forbes says is a healthy turnover. When you ask what you can do to get the best rating in each of the categories on your performance review, your supervisor shrugs their shoulders and tells you they don't know. It's for this reason that the can't give you top performance ratings, because they themselves do not know what that looks like. If you get the top performance ratings you're eligible for a merit increase, this is how they keep you from getting that. The performance reviews are relative, and heavily based on personal biases. The company at one point was even running a media sharing server inside their IT network, that was hosting bootleg movies and music. They do not promote mentoring to improve your skill set and make you a more valuable employee. They have a supervisor policy to tell you something positive about you or what you've done every week or every two weeks, as if to artificially placate you. We are not puppies.

    Continue reading
    HelloWorld2019-05-30

    HelloWorld Response

    June 3, 2019Associate Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Based on your feedback it would be most appropriate to have a personal conversation to discuss this further. Please feel free to reach out to me directly - Ginger Camilleri, Associate Director, Human Resources

    Continue reading
  8. "Cool Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Southfield, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HelloWorld full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work environment is cool Working with Big name clients for promotional/loyalty work Work hours are flexible, with option to work from home Everyone is friendly and supportive when needing help with work You get 3 “summer half days” (1 a month from June-August) Standard Holidays

    Cons

    Pay could be better. Raises are difficult to receive and then you get capped at amounts that other companies are providing as their starting salaries. Benefits are expensive for what you get They advertised unlimited PTO but have since changed the wording to “flexible PTO” with a cap at 14-18 days, anything past that needs approval by HR. Granted that’s a decent amount of days off, don’t advertise it as unlimited if it’s not. Quarterly mandatory Staff Calls where they toot their own horn/the Sales Teams’ horn for 2 hours

    HelloWorld2019-04-10

    HelloWorld Response

    May 14, 2019Manager, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to share this review. With respect to paid time off we do indeed have a flexible time off policy in place. If it was previously publicized as unlimited paid time off we apologize for the miscommunication. To provide clarification the 14-18 days that you stated in your review is likely the statistical average of days taken per year that was shared in an informational session, but it is not a cap. If you have any further questions feel free to reach out to me directly . Thanks, Ginger Camilleri Associate Director, Human Resources

    Continue reading
  9. "Great company with great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HelloWorld full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, Pay, work and client management

    Cons

    Teams not structured properly and they keep moving people

    HelloWorld2019-04-03
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great office space, solid team members, but imperceptible leadership that felt like high school."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Producer in Southfield, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HelloWorld full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The office space at HelloWorld is great! The office consist of three spacious floors of open space arrangements, an arcade room, three kitchens and great views. Plenty of team members that really back one another up, and friendly people that work together to get the job done.

    Cons

    The lack of management and leadership is fulsome, to say the least. When I was first hired there, I would have days when I would come home and tell myself, “wow, this is a place I can really see myself grow!” This was until you realized that the managers/higher echelon employees we’re hired into their roles because of social cliques. Nearly all my managers were friends with other managers outside of work, which made problem solving tough, and would diminish your credibility, reputation or potentially cause havoc in the workplace because of the belief you may be a backstabber. I got let go shortly after consulting one of my managers about the lack of maturity with the way things have been handled in the past, and, most importantly, the absence of leadership that cause turmoil in the organization. There is no question that if you’re not one of the “popular” people at HelloWorld, you will surely be replaced by someone else who is a close friend of the manager looking to fill your seat, or won’t be promoted. HW still needs some work, and I enjoyed most of my time working there until they canned me one morning, but if you have other opportunities, do your research before signing your pen to HW.

    Continue reading
    HelloWorld2019-04-04

    HelloWorld Response

    May 14, 2019Manager, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to leave this review. It is important for us to understand where we can improve as a management and leadership team. I will be sure to provide your feedback to the appropriate leadership. Regards, Ginger Camilleri Associate Director, Human Resources

    Continue reading
Found 98 reviews