Hogan Lovells Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Hogan Lovells Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 270 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Hogan Lovells CEO Stephen J. Immelt
Stephen J. Immelt
85 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours, unpredictable schedule, pyramid structure(in 22 reviews)

  • "Career progression for non-lawyers is not encouraged(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Front of House Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hogan Lovells full-time

    Pros

    Inclusive, forward thinking firm which incourages personal growth and admires ambition.

    Cons

    Would prefer to all work in one building

    Hogan Lovells2019-05-23
  2. "Good firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hogan Lovells full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team and culture Good infrastructure Quality of work

    Cons

    Bonus Lack of transparency on remuneration Open plan offices on some floors Lack of paralegals

    Hogan Lovells2019-05-21
  3. "Great firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hogan Lovells full-time

    Pros

    Collaborative and friendly working environment, excellent pro bono initiatives and well structured teams.

    Cons

    Have to be part of central cliches in order to progress swiftly

    Hogan Lovells2019-05-16
  4. "Basic review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Analyst in Sandton
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hogan Lovells full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    It’s quite a chilled work environment the teams are very lovely. UK hours are quite nice and working from home benefits are nice. Medical Aid is fully covered and Parking is subsidized.

    Cons

    It’s a good company if you studied Law. But going into support roles is not pleasant at all. Salaries are below market. Socially it’s a draining environment to be in.

    Advice to Management

    The current culture is not good .

    Hogan Lovells2019-05-17
  5. "Nicw environment but had a horrible boss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hogan Lovells full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Global name, learnt alot about following strict guidelines

    Cons

    My boss was a terror

    Advice to Management

    Listen to feedback from those on the ground and get rid of middle management who are performing poorly and abusing their staffs

    Hogan Lovells2019-05-13
  6. "Great law firm!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hogan Lovells full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Good company culture, great pay

    Cons

    Long hours, unpredictable schedule, pyramid structure

    Hogan Lovells2019-04-22
  7. "Loved working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hogan Lovells full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Friendly, supportive team work. Last year I worked here was 2012, not 2015.

    Cons

    I have no cons to mention.

    Hogan Lovells2019-04-21
  8. "PSL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hogan Lovells part-time

    Pros

    Great team and office network

    Cons

    If you enter as part time it may be hard to change to full time later.

    Hogan Lovells2019-04-11
  9. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Johannesburg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hogan Lovells full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Staff, flexible working hours, food, cellphone allowances.

    Cons

    Studying opportunities are turned down if not in line with the business of your department - but this applies in most large firms.

    Advice to Management

    promote diversity in studying options for staff so that they can better themselves at the organisation or, if they choose to do so, elsewhere.

    Hogan Lovells2019-04-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Depending on team, could be a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hogan Lovells full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Benefits, staff response to weather conditions, firm cafeteria is affordable and good, overall friendly atmosphere. Staff in general is wonderful.

    Cons

    No room for growth. I spent many years working for Hogan, over the last few years (2015-2018) I saw much change, and felt more and more like a cog in the machine. It used to feel like family. Another con, the raises were never great. Too much work for the staff size.

    Advice to Management

    Of my long tenure at Hogan, the majority of my time, was truly amazing, and I can’t ever enjoying work as much as I did, with the team I was a part of, ever again in my career. Changes to IT, have pushed out decades of experience in the building, between cuts, new management, lack of support from management, not enough staff. It was truly sad to witness the slow downgrade over the last few years. I hope the changes...

    Show More
    Hogan Lovells2019-04-22
Found 270 reviews