HomeAdvisor Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

HomeAdvisor Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
47%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
HomeAdvisor CEO Brandon Ridenour
Brandon Ridenour
107 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment and the potential for income is amazing(in 52 reviews)

  • "Great place, great people, great opportunity(in 51 reviews)

Cons
  • "Boiler room like call center that wasn't for me(in 27 reviews)

  • "I let you know when I experienced a "Con" to working at Home Advisor(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales Consultant- Top Performing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeAdvisor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I made 165k my first year post taxes Free food Culture- Happy Hours Great Management- Mentors not bosses Merch Mart office is sick

    Cons

    It’s sales, all these other reviews look like they couldn’t handle the hustle. Bulls season tickets, that would make this place epic

    Advice to Management

    Promotions are happening too quickly, some of us top performers don’t want to leave the phone. My goal is 200k+ this year

    HomeAdvisor2019-11-16
  2. "Loved working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 

    I worked at HomeAdvisor full-time

    Pros

    The culture and people are great here! It was really enjoyable. They play a lot of games to get everyone engaged. It made work fun.

    Cons

    Be ready to be on the phones all day and cold calling.

    HomeAdvisor2019-11-13
  3. "It's okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HomeAdvisor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I made more money than I expected to make out of college. (I make like 70-80k a year) I learned how to make sales. The skills I learned here will help me get better sales jobs in the future. My sales performance will look good to future employers and help me land jobs.

    Cons

    My manager and director are great, but in general the upper management is poor. The culture of distrusting reps to use their time wisely and be independent makes this job feel like management cares less about sales numbers, and more about you being at your desk making dials.. which is ridiculous.

    Advice to Management

    If a rep has been at the company for a long time and consistently performs well, just let him be, and treat him with respect.

    HomeAdvisor2019-11-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeAdvisor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place, great people, great opportunity

    Cons

    could use more guidance sometimes

    HomeAdvisor2019-11-01
  5. "Experienced Sales Professional Seeking New Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Sales Representative in Golden, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HomeAdvisor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, fun environment and competitive wages

    Cons

    If you're not a hard working individual thats competitive then you will not be successful

    HomeAdvisor2019-11-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeAdvisor for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Base Pay+Commission structure, coworkers are awesome, environment is fun, happy hour every now and then. Highly Motivating trainers

    Cons

    I understand in sales, your job is to sell, and if you aren’t producing, then maybe it isn’t for you, however this product is completely different, as you’re trying to sell something 95% of people don’t feel they need. People are complex and unfortunately no matter how smooth you are on the phones, you aren’t going to change their mind, especially when you ask for their Credit Card. Because of this, it’s concerning... how easily they’ll fire someone for not hitting their quotas. People I’m sure turned down other jobs to work here, and if they’re going to keep wasting that kind of money training new people, that they choose to fire every six weeks, they’re just an extremely irrational and heartless company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Managers for the most part are great, whoever decides who stays and goes, are who need re-evaluating.

    HomeAdvisor2019-10-28
  7. "This is the definition "employee- centric""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at HomeAdvisor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Unbeatable management and leadership team. Approachable, relatable and some of the best in the business. - The culture here is unmatched. Never really "looking at the clock" here. There is a ton of growth and opportunity in this office specifically. - This is a melting pot of awesome, hardworking individuals. If you're looking to be a part of an office that is passionate and always hustling, this is it.

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind at this time

    HomeAdvisor2019-10-30
  8. "Fun Environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HomeAdvisor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful Environment, Great Managers, Incredible Training, CULTURE CULTURE CULTURE

    Cons

    Sales Culture & Music playing everyday

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up, it is very clear you all care so much about your teams.

    HomeAdvisor2019-10-24
  9. "LOVE THIS PLACE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeAdvisor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    One of the best working environments I have ever been a part of. High energy, fun contests, and leadership truly cares about their employees. Uncapped commission structure and getting commission on retention

    Cons

    Having more flexed hours would be cool.

    HomeAdvisor2019-10-23
  10. "Great place to work - great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeAdvisor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great culture -Positive environment -Outstanding senior leadership -High income potential

    Cons

    -I can't identify any

    Advice to Management

    Keep bringing in top talent to fill the office

    HomeAdvisor2019-10-23
Found 745 reviews