Honey Birdette Reviews

Updated 9 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
54%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
Cons
  • "Wearing heels for majority of the day(in 17 reviews)

  • "No support from upper management(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The best job I've ever had"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Honey Birdette full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A new challenge every day Upper management are incredibly supportive and encouraging - they truly want to see you succeed Relevant and useful learning tools are consistently updated and made available The company culture is empowering from store level to upper management Transparency across the company means there's always opportunity to progress and branch out into areas that interest you Heavily incentivised at all levels HQ and design team listen to and implement customer feedback into policies and products

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be challenging to maintain as you become so invested in your work

    Continue reading
    Honey Birdette2019-11-26
  2. Helpful (5)

    "An embarrassment to have worked for"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Honey Birdette full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Some of my casuals were lovely people who recognised the pressure higher management put on us as store managers and were somewhat of a shoulder to cry on - Generous discount on products - Generous but unattainable incentives

    Cons

    - Staff numbers were never thoroughly thought through, if at all. I would either have too many casuals; leaving many barely employed, being given the legal contracted minimum of 6 hours a fortnight (sometimes this would be a single six hour shift every two weeks). I would have my own casuals, AND casuals from other stores texting me begging me for more hours so that they could pay their rent. Alternatively I would have not enough casuals; leaving me working hours overtime each week when no one was available to work, or being called in on my days off because someone had called in sick the night before with no other casuals available to cover. - In my experience, the company does not fire. Rather, if they no longer favour a casual because of their KPIs or availability, area managers will request that store managers “take them off the rosters” (direct quote). No communication, just cease giving them shifts. When casuals then began anxiously texting and calling as to why they no longer get shifts or if they are even employed by the company, we would be instructed to not respond. This occurred on multiple occasions. - Inadequate security and safety measures; on multiple occasions I would be in store alone with customers that made lewd comments, advances, gestures, or even would physically touch me, and would have no means to contact security or have any defence due to being so alone. The partition walls (whilst a legal requirement in all stores to hide the toy walls) obstructed view from the outside of the store, and would frequently be utilised by perverts to isolate and harass workers without witnesses. - We were once pressured by area managers at company boot camps to go home and leave positive reviews on Glassdoor due to the numbers of scathing reviews the company had received. I can confirm many reviews made between August-November 2019 were made by former colleagues that had been pressured to leave positive reviews. They are not genuine. - Personal budgets; all staff are assigned personal budgets for each day, week and month. They either make them, or they fall into the ‘red’- a zone that is published publicly in the staff newsletter every single week, naming and shaming them causing humiliation and also severe drama amongst casuals that would steal sales from others in order to get themselves out of the red. You are appraised monthly on your previous months sales, and your casual’s sales adversely impact you as a manager. You will be accused of having not trained them properly or having not worked hard enough. - Flagship stores are favoured over any other. They will receive more stock, be favoured by area management when store-store conflict arises, always be chosen by the CEO and head office for store visits, whilst other stores are constantly overlooked or ignored. - Head Office are unprofessional. The Customer Obsessives and other Honeys that represent the brand from its very headquarters should act like brand ambassadors. Despite their prompt responses when called from the store, their social media presence is an insulting reminder that the HQ Honeys care more about videoing each other twerking in the office for their instagram stories than representing what is marketed as an exclusive and luxurious brand. - The pay is utterly appalling, and you will not see anything for the hours of overtime you will be asked to work. - Presentation standards are suffocating and objectifying; nude or red manicured nails, red lipstick, winged eyeliner, stilettos, white collared shirts and sleek, tidy hair are all uniform requirements. - Staff turnover rate is obscene. Including for store managers. Goes to show how invaluable and disposable their employees are. - Absolutely no training. Even for new store managers. All you can do is call other stores when you are completely lost or fend for yourself. Most commonly you would be trained by casuals that had been there longer than you.

    Continue reading
    Honey Birdette2020-01-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Glamorous and Sophisticated from the outside, stressful and nasty on the inside."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Boutique Manager in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Honey Birdette full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great incentives if you are really good at your job including international trips, Louboutins and money to spend on product in store ( - Some amazing work mates - Beautiful stores to work in - Getting dressed up for work every day (looking and feeling amazing)

    Cons

    - Getting dressed up for work every day (having to get up an hour early to put on a full face of makeup and wearing heels all shift). I wasn't able to feel the bottoms of my feet while working here and had to invest in a foot spa. You also have to constantly spend money as you're expected to show off current collections. Dress code is very strict down to what hair colour you have and what nail polish you wear - and of course, ALWAYS with a red pout. - HORRID upper management including a CEO who verbally abuses staff and rather than support them when an incident happens in store (whether theft or an unfair and undeserved customer complaint) sends passive aggressive or even just outwardly aggressive emails. Pressure on Area/State Managers who then put pressure on Store Managers and staff to perform and staff are fired if they aren't performing with no attempts to help them improve - Western Australia had around 5 or 6 AMs within a year of the time that I worked there. - Massive pressure to meet personal sales targets (and store-based for managerial staff) - both of which are very unrealistic - which results in sales stealing and huge amounts of stress with girls constantly obsessing over numbers. Also resulted in customers saying they felt pressured to buy and refusing to shop in some stores or with certain girls. - Very little formal training and support from management and then abuse when you don't know what they expect you to know without having actually taught you. - A rotating door of staff because of the horrible culture and being sacked for meeting unrealistic targets. On the upside it means you can go from casual to store manager in weeks because everyone either quits or is fired. - A stupid amount of unpaid expected overtime - you are expected to be there 15 mins early to open the store (unpaid) and only get 10 mins after official close time to shut up shop, but if customers are in the store you cannot close the doors and they can stay as long as they want. I had customers keep me 2 hours after close time and bought nothing but I couldn't tell them to leave and you do not get paid for this. Regular staff meetings/training (which is mostly just state managers ranting about how you need to sell more because they are stressed out) most of which are not paid. 5 hour shifts with no toilet breaks. Often left in store alone for 4 hours and not allowed to close the doors if you need to pee. Mostly working alone unless you are in a flagship (usually the capital cities) store.

    Continue reading
    Honey Birdette2019-11-14
  4. "Hard work but worth it"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Ringwood, Victoria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Honey Birdette part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Keeps you on your toes, every day is different - Incredibly rewarding work - Great support from higher management, calls from state manager every morning to check-in and see how you're doing - Constant opportunity to train and better yourself, - Great discount and incentive prizes to win each month, as well as vouchers for good work - Empowering group of women

    Cons

    - Working with all women tends to result in some level of drama or gossip no matter what the workplace. If you don't get involved, it doesn't affect you. Same as every other company I've worked for. -

    Continue reading
    Honey Birdette2019-10-15
  5. "My dream job come true!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Honey Birdette full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Empowered to work hard and strive for excellence by your leaders. - Customer relationships are like no other business and very rewarding. - Everyone you work with is very open and progressive. - Working for a company that isn't afraid to challenge the status quo. - Amazing discount on products - Motivating incentives for the floor team - Opportunity to progress

    Cons

    - the product is divine which makes it hard to curb your shopping addiction ;)

    Honey Birdette2019-10-13
  6. "Great for my first retail job!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Honey Birdette part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a classy environment, fun and exciting all in one. I enjoy coming to work because it's a great work environment and I feel confident and determined to hit my goal for the end of the day. For my first retail career I can say it's definitely a fun one and I have learnt so much!

    Cons

    For me personally I don't think there is any cons.

    Honey Birdette2019-10-10
  7. "I never loved work so much"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Boutique Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Honey Birdette full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive management team Great sense of fulfillment & empowerment High energy work place. Great staff who are passionate about their jobs Opportunities to advance Amazing incentives Boundary pushers. Movement makers. Pro equality

    Cons

    High turn over of staff Occasional hostile customers Personal results are public to all employees

    Continue reading
    Honey Birdette2019-10-09
  8. "Developing and Improving"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Melbourne
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Honey Birdette full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at Honey Birdette for more than a year, I can evidently see that the corporate culture and reputation us as honeys have is changing. This is due to the development and training recently instilled into the honeys. - more encouragement as a team in stores. - we break down the taboo stigmas - we are there for people to talk about vulnerable and sensitive topics in a safe environment - We stand up for charities and support as much as we can! An example of this is the McGrath Foundation - Discounts and Incentives are often a driving force! You are recognised for your hard work and rewarded accordingly - Communication with your State Manager !

    Cons

    - There needs to be more communication from the Top Level HQ Management down to the staff working on the floor! - Some rules or policies are put in place, then we witness the actions of other honeys that contradict said rules, some consistency will help!

    Continue reading
    Honey Birdette2019-10-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great team / Poor higher management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 

    I worked at Honey Birdette part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small team in your store meaning you create great relationships. Regular customers

    Cons

    Bad head management Forced to up sell no matter what Unless store manager there was no jail h security/contract Constantly changing staff

    Honey Birdette2019-10-23
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Safety violations"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casual Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Honey Birdette part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    40% discount on all products (lingerie, bondage, latex, AND toys), great incentives e.g every Christmas they give away several pairs of Loubitons and an international trip to a few girls

    Cons

    You have to wear heels despite being on your feet for up to 10 hours per day, highly competitive because you have few customers and high budgets (that are often too high for stores that aren’t flagships), sexualising workers, if you dont make budget for 3 weeks you’re cut down to one weekday shift, if you aren’t available up to 4 days a week as a CASUAL you could get fired. Casuals can very rarely meet incentives nor win prizes because you have to work a minimum of 5 hours a shift on that day or certain hours a week. So it’s only store managers and 2ICs that can actually win

    Continue reading
    Honey Birdette2019-10-16
Found 95 reviews