Honey Birdette Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Honey Birdette Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
55%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "40% discount on lingerie and 30% discount on poorly made vibrators(in 12 reviews)

  • "(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Wearing heels for majority of the day(in 16 reviews)

  • "No support from upper management(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Hard work but worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Ringwood, Victoria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Honey Birdette part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Keeps you on your toes, every day is different - Incredibly rewarding work - Great support from higher management, calls from state manager every morning to check-in and see how you're doing - Constant opportunity to train and better yourself, - Great discount and incentive prizes to win each month, as well as vouchers for good work - Empowering group of women

    Cons

    - Working with all women tends to result in some level of drama or gossip no matter what the workplace. If you don't get involved, it doesn't affect you. Same as every other company I've worked for. -

    Advice to Management

    Please hire a team to run the warehouse! Too much confusion over stock availability

    Honey Birdette2019-10-15
  2. "Glamorous and Sophisticated from the outside, stressful and nasty on the inside."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Boutique Manager in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Honey Birdette full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great incentives if you are really good at your job including international trips, Louboutins and money to spend on product in store ( - Some amazing work mates - Beautiful stores to work in - Getting dressed up for work every day (looking and feeling amazing)

    Cons

    - Getting dressed up for work every day (having to get up an hour early to put on a full face of makeup and wearing heels all shift). I wasn't able to feel the bottoms of my feet while working here and had to invest in a foot spa. You also have to constantly spend money as you're expected to show off current collections. Dress code is very strict down to what hair colour you have and what nail polish you wear - and... of course, ALWAYS with a red pout. - HORRID upper management including a CEO who verbally abuses staff and rather than support them when an incident happens in store (whether theft or an unfair and undeserved customer complaint) sends passive aggressive or even just outwardly aggressive emails. Pressure on Area/State Managers who then put pressure on Store Managers and staff to perform and staff are fired if they aren't performing with no attempts to help them improve - Western Australia had around 5 or 6 AMs within a year of the time that I worked there. - Massive pressure to meet personal sales targets (and store-based for managerial staff) - both of which are very unrealistic - which results in sales stealing and huge amounts of stress with girls constantly obsessing over numbers. Also resulted in customers saying they felt pressured to buy and refusing to shop in some stores or with certain girls. - Very little formal training and support from management and then abuse when you don't know what they expect you to know without having actually taught you. - A rotating door of staff because of the horrible culture and being sacked for meeting unrealistic targets. On the upside it means you can go from casual to store manager in weeks because everyone either quits or is fired. - A stupid amount of unpaid expected overtime - you are expected to be there 15 mins early to open the store (unpaid) and only get 10 mins after official close time to shut up shop, but if customers are in the store you cannot close the doors and they can stay as long as they want. I had customers keep me 2 hours after close time and bought nothing but I couldn't tell them to leave and you do not get paid for this. Regular staff meetings/training (which is mostly just state managers ranting about how you need to sell more because they are stressed out) most of which are not paid. 5 hour shifts with no toilet breaks. Often left in store alone for 4 hours and not allowed to close the doors if you need to pee. Mostly working alone unless you are in a flagship (usually the capital cities) store.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Stop treating your staff like they are disposable. -Ditch the mean girl upper management (which is tricky since the CEO is the worst of them all) and foster a supportive, nurturing work environment instead of a cut-throat, nasty one.

    Honey Birdette2019-11-14
  3. "My dream job come true!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Honey Birdette full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Empowered to work hard and strive for excellence by your leaders. - Customer relationships are like no other business and very rewarding. - Everyone you work with is very open and progressive. - Working for a company that isn't afraid to challenge the status quo. - Amazing discount on products - Motivating incentives for the floor team - Opportunity to progress

    Cons

    - the product is divine which makes it hard to curb your shopping addiction ;)

    Honey Birdette2019-10-13
  4. "Great for my first retail job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Honey Birdette part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a classy environment, fun and exciting all in one. I enjoy coming to work because it's a great work environment and I feel confident and determined to hit my goal for the end of the day. For my first retail career I can say it's definitely a fun one and I have learnt so much!

    Cons

    For me personally I don't think there is any cons.

    Honey Birdette2019-10-10
  5. "I never loved work so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Boutique Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Honey Birdette full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive management team Great sense of fulfillment & empowerment High energy work place. Great staff who are passionate about their jobs Opportunities to advance Amazing incentives Boundary pushers. Movement makers. Pro equality

    Cons

    High turn over of staff Occasional hostile customers Personal results are public to all employees

    Advice to Management

    Sometimes the feedback from the staff at the bottom of the food chain, really is the most valuable.

    Honey Birdette2019-10-09
  6. "Developing and Improving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Melbourne
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Honey Birdette full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at Honey Birdette for more than a year, I can evidently see that the corporate culture and reputation us as honeys have is changing. This is due to the development and training recently instilled into the honeys. - more encouragement as a team in stores. - we break down the taboo stigmas - we are there for people to talk about vulnerable and sensitive topics in a safe environment - We stand up for... charities and support as much as we can! An example of this is the McGrath Foundation - Discounts and Incentives are often a driving force! You are recognised for your hard work and rewarded accordingly - Communication with your State Manager !

    Show More

    Cons

    - There needs to be more communication from the Top Level HQ Management down to the staff working on the floor! - Some rules or policies are put in place, then we witness the actions of other honeys that contradict said rules, some consistency will help!

    Advice to Management

    - Listen to the honeys at the front line who handle the customers on first encounter, we understand what the customers need and want

    Honey Birdette2019-10-09
  7. "Great team / Poor higher management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 

    I worked at Honey Birdette part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small team in your store meaning you create great relationships. Regular customers

    Cons

    Bad head management Forced to up sell no matter what Unless store manager there was no jail h security/contract Constantly changing staff

    Honey Birdette2019-10-23
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Safety violations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casual Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Honey Birdette part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    40% discount on all products (lingerie, bondage, latex, AND toys), great incentives e.g every Christmas they give away several pairs of Loubitons and an international trip to a few girls

    Cons

    You have to wear heels despite being on your feet for up to 10 hours per day, highly competitive because you have few customers and high budgets (that are often too high for stores that aren’t flagships), sexualising workers, if you dont make budget for 3 weeks you’re cut down to one weekday shift, if you aren’t available up to 4 days a week as a CASUAL you could get fired. Casuals can very rarely meet incentives... nor win prizes because you have to work a minimum of 5 hours a shift on that day or certain hours a week. So it’s only store managers and 2ICs that can actually win

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Budgets should be store based budgets as opposed to personal and that will see less of a turn over and probably more budgets made. Incentives should be able to apply to all, and MOST IMPORTANTLY women shouldn’t be made to wear heels because it’s a major health and safety issue (stuffed up my back and couldn’t participate in my sport for a few months and it is still injured despite not working in 6 months)

    Honey Birdette2019-10-16
  9. "Old Honey Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Honey Birdette full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture is changing and the focus is being put more on developing the team. It feels like the old Honey ways are slowly coming back into the business and we are all feeling more supported and inspired in store. Great discount and incentives. New working agreements for more flexibility in store. We are encouraged to sell an experience not focus on the sale, if we are engaging with the customer the sale will come... naturally. Feel supported by upper management and can always ask for help from CO if we can’t get a hold of our AM. Business is still growing internationally opportunities to travel.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lack of team in store. Wearing heels for majority of the day. Not enough product to keep up with demand of vips. Promote more AMs from within.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your team, we want to grow. More Bootcamps and visits.

    Honey Birdette2019-10-03
  10. Helpful (3)

    "FAKE COMPANY AND FAKE REVIEWS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Honey Birdette part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Now I know where to NEVER spend my money

    Cons

    Let me start by saying the state managers were told of Honey Birdette’s shocking Glassdoor rating and for the next week mass amounts of positive reviews were posted. Please take all these positive reviews with a grain of salt because all ex-employees or disgruntled current ones a sure upper management has offered some sort of incentive for people to post overly positive reviews. This company is corrupt, greedy,... and a terrible place to work. You are not valued or helped to grow. You are dispensable. The company pretends to value feminism and empowerment, but treats their employees like dirt and their customers like stupid cult members. Do not work here. Do not spend your money here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Too far gone. The Northland store has just shut their doors, and hopefully the rest follow.

    Honey Birdette2019-10-21
Found 93 reviews