House of Fraser Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

House of Fraser Reviews

Updated Sep 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 639 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
House of Fraser CEO Alex Williamson  (no image)
Alex Williamson
93 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff discount could be done manually not just with the instore staff credit card(in 39 reviews)

  • "Great pay (in the concession I work)(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor management, no staff discount unless opt to use store credit card(in 28 reviews)

  • "There is a lack of air conditioning on the shop floor making it very difficult to work in(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at House of Fraser part-time

    Pros

    Friendly Coworkers and good work environment

    Cons

    It is advisable to check the hours worked vs. paid

    House of Fraser2019-09-08
  2. "Floor sup maganer not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Service Manager 

    I worked at House of Fraser full-time

    Pros

    Friendly fun challenging good product and sales can be made

    Cons

    Bad business waste of money

    Advice to Management

    Work like mangers

    House of Fraser2019-09-07
  3. "Old times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Specialist in Gateshead, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at House of Fraser full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay well especially for 16 year old as only one wage paid to all ages

    Cons

    Mike Ashley got involved and brought in new rules

    Advice to Management

    Don’t let the changes change you

    House of Fraser2019-09-06
  4. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England

    I worked at House of Fraser part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible around my busy studying schedule for university and always provided opportunities for development

    Cons

    Could have been easier if stores were staffed with a larger number of people

    House of Fraser2019-09-03
  5. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 

    I worked at House of Fraser part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team nice management salary is good discount

    Cons

    Can be a quiet environment

    House of Fraser2019-09-04
  6. "Bad work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Solihull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at House of Fraser part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get paid a salary

    Cons

    Awful colleagues, rude and obnoxious, too much emphasis on KPI's

    Advice to Management

    fix up

    House of Fraser2019-09-02
  7. "Decent pay, management could be better, company on overall decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Specialist in High Wycombe, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at House of Fraser part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Decent pay - 20 percent discount - Friendly staff - Decent working environment

    Cons

    - Company management and HR is now an absolute headache - Favouritism within management family members - No recognition or any real progression - No communication with HR - Company on the decline overall ever since takeover.

    Advice to Management

    - Listen to staff and actually act accordingly rather ignoring and continuing cycle leading to the companies inevitable end.

    House of Fraser2019-08-30
  8. "Good workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at House of Fraser part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great to build customer service skills

    Cons

    High staff turnover, very long hours

    House of Fraser2019-08-14
  9. "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Christmas Temp in Dundrum, Dublin

    I worked at House of Fraser part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount was great and worked with some nice girls

    Cons

    Supervisors, managers, floor managers wouldn't have a problem making it clear they didn't like you etc, manager kept rostering me in for one day a week I was unavailable due to college and would give out to me every week that I hadn't 'informed her'. Supervisors have a power complex and favour/don't correct their sales assistant pals.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to treat all staff equally or don't be a manager. Learn to take note of everyone's available hours and don't give out if you make a mistake with the roster yourself. Management definitely need retraining in how to manage the floor and the staff.

    House of Fraser2019-08-28
  10. "Used to be good to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at House of Fraser part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Majority of staff are friendly and managers approachable

    Cons

    Currently short staffed and standards are slipping

    House of Fraser2019-08-12
Found 639 reviews