House of Fraser Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

House of Fraser Reviews

Updated 24 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 603 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Alex Williamson
80 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Poor management, no staff discount unless opt to use store credit card(in 28 reviews)

  • "There is a lack of air conditioning on the shop floor making it very difficult to work in(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Lovely start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at House of Fraser part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyable day to day work

    Cons

    No overtime available at start

    House of Fraser2019-06-11
  2. "It was Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at House of Fraser part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay and Work was not too strenuous

    Cons

    Manager have a lot of favouritism. It seems as if the managers don't really care about the staff.

    Advice to Management

    Talk to staff more

    House of Fraser2019-06-24
  3. "Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Greenhithe, England

      I worked at House of Fraser part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      It was very lovely and we all worked as a team

      Cons

      As a part timer I never felt as important as full time staff

      House of Fraser2019-06-24
    • "Support from staff and managers"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Croydon, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at House of Fraser part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Recieved support from staff and managers from starting the job. Lovely atmosphere.

      Cons

      Disorganised workplace, management decisions are questionable.

      House of Fraser2019-06-04
    • "I worked here for four years...."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Administrative 

        I worked at House of Fraser part-time

        Pros

        Flexible with shifts Great Colleagues Very structured progression pathway

        Cons

        Little opportunity for pay increases Unstable company

        House of Fraser2019-06-04
      • "Shop Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Associate in Dublin, Dublin
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at House of Fraser full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Responsibility given to all employees

        Cons

        Poor working conditions, lack of management , lack of flexibility

        House of Fraser2019-06-11
      • "Nice"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Victoria, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at House of Fraser full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Nice place to work

        Cons

        No many benefits like pension

        House of Fraser2019-06-08
      • "Decent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Manchester, England
        Recommends
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at House of Fraser part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Easy job Friendly Decent pay

        Cons

        Overtime not allowed Sometimes unprofessional Not a lot of things to do

        Advice to Management

        Listen to your staff

        House of Fraser2019-05-25
      • "Wouldn’t recommend"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Guildford, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at House of Fraser part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Staff discount could be done manually not just with the instore staff credit card. Lunch breaks.

        Cons

        Poor Management Not paid for going over my hours cashing up etc Not flexible with your days off Holiday management is poor

        House of Fraser2019-06-06
      • "Provided me with excellent opportunities"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Service Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland

        I have been working at House of Fraser full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Department store environment offers many opportunities to develop skills and ability to work a variety of experienced people

        Cons

        Current situation with the company not long being taken over

        House of Fraser2019-05-21
      Found 603 reviews