Hoyts Cinemas Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Hoyts Cinemas Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 135 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Hoyts Cinemas CEO Damian Keogh (no image)
Damian Keogh
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "50 cent movie tickets, nice people to work with(in 14 reviews)

  • "Amazing benefits including extremely cheap tickets and candy bar items(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Head office is strict on payroll(in 5 reviews)

  • "No existen los fines de semana, los horarios son completamente rotativos(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great environment and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hoyts Cinemas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I felt very welcome from the beginning, I had an induction from my manager and HR and received a great welcome pack. People have been here for over 40 years so you know its a great place to work. We also get to go to screenings of films before there release.

    Cons

    The pay could be higher but the benefits far outweigh this

    Hoyts Cinemas2019-09-17
  2. "Good Environment, Good Versatility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HOST Member in Penrith
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hoyts Cinemas part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to make friends and meet people, good amount of versatility in the different areas that it doesn’t get boring and really good perks and discounts!

    Cons

    Mostly hire teens, young management team

    Hoyts Cinemas2019-09-16
  3. "Pretty Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HOST Member 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hoyts Cinemas part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Discounts are great - Good employees -

    Cons

    - Management - Hours can be late during school, and have to be available pretty much everyday

    Hoyts Cinemas2019-09-13
  4. "Great people and culture to work it.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Executive in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hoyts Cinemas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and culture to work it.. Opportunity for promotion from the site level to HQ

    Cons

    Can't expect much on pay

    Hoyts Cinemas2019-09-06
  5. "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member 

    I worked at Hoyts Cinemas part-time

    Pros

    $2 tickets, discounts on food and drink, flexible with rosters

    Cons

    Severely underpaid, management weren't very understanding at times

    Hoyts Cinemas2019-09-18
  6. "Great job, not so great management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Team Member in Maribyrnong
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hoyts Cinemas part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great experience ( for that I recommend ) - learn to work in a fast paced environment - learn to work against the clock to clean cinemas - learn to multitask - learn great customer service and how to use KPI, POS and how to upsell. Really helpful for working in customer service

    Cons

    - if you need a day off, you’ll be ‘punished’ for it and get less shifts the next week - you’re expected to put work before everything. Too bad if you’ve have a uni assignment - they make you feel bad for taking a sick day - if you request annual leave they will still roster you on that day and tell you to sort out changing the days your working yourself ( swap with someone else don’t call in sick or you’ll... need a medical certificate) - you’ll be doing a lot of work for minimal dollars and run off your feet - once you’re over 15 your hours drop and they hire younger people

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - relax and stop working minors so hard

    Hoyts Cinemas2019-08-29
  7. "Unsafe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cinema Worker I in Belconnen
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hoyts Cinemas part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are pretty incredible here.

    Cons

    They force you to open food areas without proper sanitation and before the place even opens.

    Hoyts Cinemas2019-09-08
  8. "mixed review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cinema Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hoyts Cinemas part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    fun environment with other staff, friendly staff, team work, opportunities to move to management and head office if interested

    Cons

    always understaffed, lack of respect for front-line staff, low pay, always cutting hours last minute, ignores employee entitlements

    Hoyts Cinemas2019-08-28
  9. "Good Perks, Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Chadstone
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hoyts Cinemas part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great fun with friends, cheap movies, easy enough work

    Cons

    Right on minimum pay with no weekend rates, management can be extremely rude and ultimately incompetent

    Advice to Management

    Employee better people that are able to do their job,

    Hoyts Cinemas2019-08-13
  10. "Hoyts is an excellent first job, with training in areas from customer service to cleaning."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cinema Worker in Greensborough
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hoyts Cinemas part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The training & friends are excellent

    Cons

    Can be a gossipy environment & hard to work at as an older employee as the pay doesn't reflect the work

    Hoyts Cinemas2019-08-05
Found 135 reviews