Hoyts Cinemas Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Hoyts Cinemas Reviews

Updated 18 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 121 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Damian Keogh
28 Ratings
  1. "Crew Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hoyts Cinemas part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great monitored training. Monitored KPIs enables you to track your individual progress. Fast paced environment. Cheap movie tickets. Big team so it's nice to talk to someone new every-time you come to work. Good first job or if you are new to customer service.

    Cons

    Managers hate it when you are talking with colleagues, even it it's quiet and you've done all the tasks you need to do. High pressure to constantly look busy. I would say that due to most of the staff being very young there is a lot of drama/politics. Strict with uniform. Weekly rosters are published very late.

    Advice to Management

    Implement monthly rosters instead of weekly ones. Allow your employees to have short conversations while being productive - this will lower your high turnover.

    Hoyts Cinemas2019-03-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Needs work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Chadstone
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hoyts Cinemas part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff members all similar age, friendly and really kind. $2 tickets were great. Training was clear and explicit. A lot of room to work in different areas of the cinema, offered a lot of independence.

    Cons

    Pay was never great Management completely disregarded requests to work fewer hours when needed, also often denying leave requests for no specific reason Thrown in the deep end most of the time - expected to do a lot of work far beyond what staffers are being paid. While mostly really nice, management could often come across as slightly condescending/patronising. Relentless pressure to up-sell and meet largely meaningless...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your staff are people too.

    Hoyts Cinemas2019-03-15
  3. "Great environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hoyts Cinemas part-time

    Pros

    The people, flexible hours, heavily discounted movies + food

    Cons

    Required to work on public holidays/school holidays

    Hoyts Cinemas2019-02-03
  4. "Overall a Solid Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hoyts Cinemas part-time

    Pros

    -Great team -Easy tasks -Everyday is different

    Cons

    -Hours can be variable as part time -Head office is strict on payroll -Customers can be horrible to deal with

    Hoyts Cinemas2019-01-10
  5. "Crew member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Hoyts Cinemas part-time

      Pros

      The team was great to work with

      Cons

      Management rostering was typically scarce

      Hoyts Cinemas2019-01-23
    • "Crew Member"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Hoyts Cinemas

        Pros

        Good work, great environment and pay

        Cons

        I don’t mnkw didn’t star ye lol

        Hoyts Cinemas2018-12-28
      • "Unprofessional management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Adelaide
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Hoyts Cinemas part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        50 cent movies Cheaper candy bar food Staff movie nights

        Cons

        Bad pay You have to sell memberships that no one wants Pressure to hit KPIs Management were rude and careless

        Advice to Management

        Management were careless and unprofessional when I brought up issues and queries. Never responded to text or calls.

        Hoyts Cinemas2019-01-09
      • "Great Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Hoyts Cinemas part-time

          Pros

          Good Culture and make lots of friends

          Cons

          Busy environment during peak periods

          Hoyts Cinemas2018-12-19
        • "Good"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Hoyts Cinemas part-time

          Pros

          nice atmosphere, good managers, amazing team members

          Cons

          bad pay, hard to get time off,

          Hoyts Cinemas2018-12-09
        • "Duty manager"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at Hoyts Cinemas part-time

            Pros

            Learn good skills and fun crew

            Cons

            Pay is sub-par, Can be treated poorly depending on manager

            Advice to Management

            I am manager

            Hoyts Cinemas2018-12-23
          Found 121 reviews