HubSpot Business Development Representative Reviews

Updated 16 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.9
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
HubSpot CEO & Founder Brian Halligan
Brian Halligan
23 Ratings
  1. "Clear career progression and utmost transparency"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Business Development Representative in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - HubSpot is one of the most transparent companies I have ever worked for and I've never seen that reflect in a negative light - Metrics for promotion and progression are performance-based to eliminate any kind of uncertainty - Everyone is friendly, welcoming and always willing to help a fellow HubSpotter!

    Cons

    - none that I can really think of at this time!

    HubSpot2019-10-23
  2. "Great culture, great people, great product and heaps of opportunity for growth!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Growing like crazy, heaps of career opportunities - Awesome people - Our brand and product is loved in the market - Flexible working options

    Cons

    - Growing pains around internal systems - Some middle managers relatively inexperienced

    HubSpot2019-08-22

    HubSpot Response

    August 25, 2019Chief People Officer

    "Heaps of career opportunities" may need to be our new internal mobility slogan! Thanks for all the hard work and your impact on SydSpot, and your callout on systems and managers--we are working hard to support both of those things! Sincerely, Katie

  3. "10/10"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture code is very transparent and open. Team members could not be more helpful

    Cons

    None that can be seen.

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2020-05-16
  4. "Good place to be a BDR"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    - Solid product to sell, can sell everything not just a specific product - Shortest BDR Tenure I could find - Promotion based on metrics

    Cons

    None that I could think of

    HubSpot2020-05-01
  5. "The best workplace so far!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I joined HubSpot a few months ago from a larger competitor and I couldn't be more happy with that choice! *Great work environment (and office) *High level of autonomy *Dynamic and fast-paced *Structured and a clear career path *The company culture is great! *High level of engagement from your manager - they really take time to help you to progress professionally. This even applies to managers from other teams - it's easy to reach out and get advice. * The people working at HubSpot is amazing and I look forward going to work everyday.

    Cons

    * The starting salary can be a bit low compared to the competitors, but as soon as you progress this evens out quickly. * As HubSpot is growing massively it's important to adjust to the changes and keep up to date with everything that going on! This is not necessarily a con, but I guess it can be for some people.

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2019-09-23

    HubSpot Response

    October 8, 2019Chief People Officer

    I can't tell you how much I appreciate you calling out that your manager really helps you and that other managers are willing to help you out too-that makes me prouder than I can even say, so thank you so much for sharing it. Also appreciate the callout on sales enablement, I'll flag for Channing and team to ensure they see it and know more about it. Thanks for everything you do, and for the thoughtful review! Sincerely, Katie

  6. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interactive community - everyone is always willing to help. The atmosphere is positive, I walk in whistling and walk out whistling! The training HubSpot provides throughout your career in Sales in unmatched. They are constantly evolving while keeping everyone in the loop. Big open floor so everyone is always able to help and provide advice, etc. Overall an awesome place to work!

    Cons

    Base pay at first is rough - every promotion from the ‘base BDR’ pay however is great!

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2019-09-18

    HubSpot Response

    September 23, 2019Chief People Officer

    "Walk in and walk out whistling" is one of the highest possible endorsements we could hope for, this made me smile, thank you for writing it! Thanks for calling out that the promotions from BDR are meaningful, and for all you do to help our prospects grow with HubSpot! Sincerely, Katie

  7. "I love HubSpot!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All of HubSpot leaders give you the autonomy to work despite your position. This creates a very supportive culture and makes you feel safe to make mistakes and quickly learn on the job. The company also invests a ton in the culture, making sure everybody feels welcome and creating a sense of belonging regardless of your culture, race, gender, backgrounds, etc.

    Cons

    There's not enough time during the day to attend all events and seminars!

    HubSpot2019-08-21

    HubSpot Response

    August 22, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you so much for sharing your perspective, for calling out our commitment to diversity, inclusion, and belonging, and for noting that it's hard to keep up with all the good stuff happening, I feel the same way! Thanks for helping our prospects grow! -Katie

  8. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture. Everyone there wants you to succeed

    Cons

    A lot of work, none besides that

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2019-06-21

    HubSpot Response

    June 27, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for being a Business Development Rep at HubSpot, for your nice advice, and for helping our prospects make informed decisions on growing better. Sincerely, Katie

  9. "Great place to work/but not perfect"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, benefits, allows an easy work/life balance. They generally try to make it a fun place to work and I can't tell you the number of restaurants I wouldn't have spent the money to try if it wasn't for HubSpot the amount they spend on their employees.

    Cons

    Below average market salary, only outbound position in an increasingly inbound organization, success can be a product of territory and management and doesn't necessarily translate to skill and effort.

    HubSpot2018-12-29

    HubSpot Response

    January 7, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for the feedback-I would agree that we are not perfect, but hopefully we are always growing and improving as we evolve as an organization globally. I'll ensure that the BDR team sees this feedback and partner with them to ensure it's heard, thanks for sharing and for helping HubSpot grow. -Katie

  10. "Great Sales Experience!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, great product, fabulous employees, great managers, good training's

    Cons

    When there are no puppies in the office.

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2018-07-12

    HubSpot Response

    July 12, 2018Chief People Officer

    I cracked up at your con! Thank you for being a part of our sales team and for helping our prospects grow. I appreciate your review so much--I promise we'll continue to be transparent and listen to our employee feedback, thanks for all of your hard work! -Katie

Found 27 reviews