HubSpot Business Development Representative Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Find jobs for Business Development Representative

HubSpot Business Development Representative Reviews

Updated 20 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
HubSpot CEO Brian Halligan
Brian Halligan
16 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture. Everyone there wants you to succeed

    Cons

    A lot of work, none besides that

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2019-06-21

    HubSpot Response

    June 27, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for being a Business Development Rep at HubSpot, for your nice advice, and for helping our prospects make informed decisions on growing better. Sincerely, Katie

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work/but not perfect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, benefits, allows an easy work/life balance. They generally try to make it a fun place to work and I can't tell you the number of restaurants I wouldn't have spent the money to try if it wasn't for HubSpot the amount they spend on their employees.

    Cons

    Below average market salary, only outbound position in an increasingly inbound organization, success can be a product of territory and management and doesn't necessarily translate to skill and effort.

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2018-12-29

    HubSpot Response

    January 7, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for the feedback-I would agree that we are not perfect, but hopefully we are always growing and improving as we evolve as an organization globally. I'll ensure that the BDR team sees this feedback and partner with them to ensure it's heard, thanks for sharing and for helping HubSpot grow. -Katie

    Continue reading
  3. "Great Sales Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, great product, fabulous employees, great managers, good training's

    Cons

    When there are no puppies in the office.

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2018-07-12

    HubSpot Response

    July 12, 2018Chief People Officer

    I cracked up at your con! Thank you for being a part of our sales team and for helping our prospects grow. I appreciate your review so much--I promise we'll continue to be transparent and listen to our employee feedback, thanks for all of your hard work! -Katie

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Positions Should be Called "Creative Outreach Rep""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative 

    I worked at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Dogs in the office, food, beer, lots of young employees (feels like college)

    Cons

    The Business Development role and Inbound Growth Specialist role are more so a "creative outreach role." Almost all training revolves around just getting someone on the phone. The best performing BDR's were promised a promotion in 10 months but it really ends up being at least 13. I don't think the product was that good and Corporate Sales is a failing segment. DO NOT work in the corporate segment at HubSpot.

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2018-04-23

    HubSpot Response

    April 23, 2018Chief People Officer

    Sorry to hear that your time at HubSpot was less stellar than you expected--you're right that for many folks it ends up being 12 months to a promotion, so we've worked to set better expectations there up front in the recruitment process. With that said, our BDR program has a ton of learning and coaching opportunities that we believe really help serve as a catalyst for a career in sales at HubSpot and beyond, so I would push back a bit that our BDR program is simply around outreach. Nonetheless, I appreciate the feedback-we'll use it as we always do to improve and grow our experience and expectation-setting for BDRs coming in. Sincerely, Katie

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Running out of orange kookade"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Usual IT perks- free food, free sweets, free beer. Educational allowance. Laid back attitude when performing well from most managers.

    Cons

    The lack of proper planning is glaring at times - the let's see how things go and then react attitude may work for management in terms of staying flexible but it affects the sales floor morale, stress levels and promotion path. US centric thinking, the company hasn't mastered the art of localisation. There's a real sense of the have and have nots.

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2017-03-04

    HubSpot Response

    March 5, 2017VP, Culture and Experience

    Sorry to hear your sentiment about both lack of forward-thinking planning and a truly global approach-that's certainly the exact opposite of what we strive for on both counts. I'm sure you've heard that we are planning the company meeting at the end of the month in Dublin specifically to highlight our EMEA customers, partners, and employees, so I'm hoping I have the chance to catch up with you in person there to hear more about how we can improve. Always feel free to email me directly if there are specific actions that can move the needle here; in the meantime, appreciate you sharing your sentiments with our team to help us get better. -Katie

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Life as a BDR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    AMAZING. COLLEAGUES. They are some of the smartest people I've ever met, and the most friendly and easy-going. Definitely the kind of people that you'd like to stay in touch and stay friends even after if and when leaving HubSpot. Good job recruiting the brightest people out there!

    Cons

    A LOT depends on your manager, which can be good and bad. Every manager manages their team differently, and that reflects on the flexibility of where/when/how you work sometimes regardless of how much you deliver. Also, not much of a con depending on some people, but there is a lack of teamwork in a day-to-day. Of course there are plenty of times when we reach out to others for help/guidance or confirming something, but most of the job is done alone.

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2017-02-21

    HubSpot Response

    February 21, 2017VP, Culture and Experience

    Thank you for the review and for helping our customers in Japan grow as we scale. I would agree with your push on ensuring we think global first--the objective for our growth is to create a really strong global culture but also to empower local traditions that help us give employees autonomy in each market to solve for our customers and prospects. We'll continue to innovate on the ground in Japan and look forward to working with you to make that happen and to visiting the team again in the near future--such a wonderful group of HubSpotters and the photos of your new space look wonderful! -Katie

    Continue reading
  7. "Why Work at HubSpot?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot

    Pros

    Where to begin! Stock options, dental care, health care, free breakfast and lunch, continual education and training, openness of direct and upper management. HubSpot is exponentially good for benefit. The promotion path for sales is also very clear and achievable once you put the work in.

    Cons

    The workload is heavy, but manageable. You can expect to work 10 hour days as opposed to the traditional 9-5, especially when you're starting out and trying to develop a pipeline. That said, the days go quickly as you are so busy.

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2017-01-30
  8. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing co-workers, vibrant and innovative culture, career growth opportunities and management invested in growth

    Cons

    Work life balance turns into more of a work life blend.

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2017-02-13

    HubSpot Response

    February 13, 2017VP, Culture and Experience

    Thanks for the review and for helping our prospects grow. Totally fair push on being in touch with what's happening on the floor-that came through in the ENPS feedback too so I'll be sure to follow up with sales leadership to ensure your feedback is heard on that particularly axis. Appreciate the feedback, thanks for taking the time to share it! -Katie

    Continue reading
  9. "An impressive company with a strong future."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Intelligent employees, brand recognition helps in sales, fun environment and a great launching pad for a software career. Fun environment and definitely easier to appreciate for younger members of the work force.

    Cons

    Don't quite drink their own cool-aid as much as they say regarding marketing and sales processes. Training has become a bit outdated for their product and market. Clearly I'm really picking to find cons.

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2016-12-12

    HubSpot Response

    December 13, 2016VP, Culture and Experience

    Thanks for your review and for helping companies grow with HubSpot on our sales team. We will definitely not lose our dedication to transparency (hopefully you feel the work we've put into Spotlights and company meetings of late) and will take your feedback on training into account as we grow and expand for next year--thank you for your input! -Katie

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Business Development Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with awesome people Clear path to promotion Everyone willing to help if you work hard

    Cons

    High expectations - starting pay is low

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2016-06-14

    HubSpot Response

    June 19, 2016VP, Culture and Experience

    Thank you so much for the review and for helping our customers grow--we're lucky to have you as part of our organization and appreciate you sharing your insight! -Katie

    Continue reading
Found 20 reviews