HubSpot Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

HubSpot Reviews

Updated 20 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
96%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
HubSpot CEO Brian Halligan
Brian Halligan
894 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to progress your sales career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Completely results driven promotion structure - if you perform you get promoted period. Typically use to the politics behind in-line promotions from other sales organizations so it's a breath of fresh air to know if you bring value to the company, are a high-producer and a good person to work with you will be rewarded. I really love the people I work with.. we higher on culture really well and i've seen... fantastic sales people not hired as they weren't seen as culture fits. Unlimited leave and solid balance on work/life balance Very flat structure - exposure and access to Execs is very easy One of the most transparent organizations ever, the humility of the C-suite, the regular candid posts and communications on both wins/losses is just amazing considering the size of our org Top class inside-sales training, you spend a lot of time overseas in product training and have regular training after you come back as well. Once you return you have a senior sales rep to shadow and you are also put on a lengthy "ramp" to get you ready for a full quota. Regular sales competitions with equity, cash, travel prizes The product/vision is something you can really get behind if you are passionate about helping businesses grow

    Show More

    Cons

    HubSpot has traditionally hired a certain type that really want to over-perform - but this has resulted at times in a sales org that doesn't take as many breaks as necessary. We have unlimited leave (completely paid for) but not as many people feel OK to take it . Very sales driven org and have seen examples of a top sales rep get away with a lot more discrepancies then typically would be allowed. Really reminded... me that results can matter more then doing the right thing but this was the only time I have been disappointed by management. You have to be either really talented or work very hard when you first begin to do well- a lot of our sales managers are either new or promoted from top senior reps which means they can't teach to sell the solution yet or they are only just learning how to manage people. Expect to pick things up quickly or rely on senior sales reps.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep the heart of HubSpot Sydney there People want to be inspired or aspire to be like their execs, as such management needs to always be held to a greater standard and contribute to growth of the employees. You want to look at management and see examples of people to aspire and look up too.

    HubSpot2018-04-23
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Life in Sales @ HubSpot Sydney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Sydney
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to work for, great benefits and recently fixed pay so you can expect to be happy from a compensation perspective. If you’re a high achiever, expect good stock incentives, commission and international travel perks, some of the best I have seen. You can expect some fairly good flexibility when it comes to taking extended holidays, time off and working away, depending on the manager. Really good senior... leadership outside of ANZ, although you don’t get to meet a lot of them, expect to still be guided by smart people. When leaders do respect you, they do everything they can to help your career at HubSpot. It’s a great atmosphere in that sense. You will have a crazy amount of people who want to talk to you and love HubSpot. In order to win here, expect to work hard and smart, be a great at telling stories and have a consultive sales approach.

    Show More

    Cons

    Hubspot ANZ focuses too much on internal hiring, which naturally results in the wrong people for the job. HubSpot does a really bad job at sourcing for managers externally, some of the worst I have come across. Expect your manager to be incredibly green / new and rely on good reps to mentor you. If you expect the manager to guide you, you will fail in this setting as you will feel like you’re teaching them how to... manage people. This could change in the future, however is a current pain in the office. Managers come in with no training, so in a way you can’t blame them, but just be mindful of this. Working flexibility arrangements aren’t the same in ANZ, so be careful about reading the culture code and expecting the same in our office, because it won’t be. This is the same for reps at 70% of target or 150% of target, so don’t expect to be a high achiever and have more flexibility. It’s a very young office, so you will need to be okay with heaps of banter, silly chats and young people. I don’t mind this but you will need to be aware of this culture. Average age is probably 24-26. You might complain about culture, or fill out our quarterly ENPS to give feedback. Expect nothing to be actioned, but constantly here “we’re working on how we can improve this”. My 2 cents is that because everyone is so green, they don’t know where to start.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We have a great educational fund that can be used to up-skill, yet 4 new managers and no one has used it? To me, this makes no sense. It almost defeats the purpose of having this incentive. We need to relax on culture and focus more on productivity, rep development and sales. We are in sales, not PR. I don’t care if we have free drinks and boat parties if we miss target and have to have stupid conversations about... it all the time. We live in a weird world where reps get upset if you micro management them on activity, but we’re in sales? If you don’t like people asking you every week about your number or activity done, do us a favour and move to a non sales role. You will sleep better at night as well. Focus on hiring older, more mature people. Ironic coming from someone young however it’s important to have people that understand sales, are experienced and can offer a different perspective. Make BDR promo pathway harder. It’s ridiculous 21 year olds feel entitled to be an AE after 12 months, with little sales experience and we wonder why they don’t do well. This is particularly important this year due to the bad start we have had. One again, hire the best talent, stop worrying about internal promotions.

    Show More
    HubSpot2018-04-01
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Inside Sales Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    - Good Culture - Fast Paced - Good benefits / perks

    Cons

    The company has become essentially a frat house. No diversity when it comes to age groups, they simply want to hire the youngest people they can exploit. Unfortunately, the interview process when you eventually get through is a nightmare. They have the most drawn out interview process in the world, and make you jump through so many hoops only to earn a below market salary. They can do this because they make up for... it with the culture, but compensation is poor in comparison to what they expect at the interview stage. This shows there is some delusion from the hiring team in thinking this is actually acceptable behavior.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Streamline your interview process to respect peoples time, and pay your staff above market rates. Culture only goes so far when you're working in a frat house.

    HubSpot2018-03-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "The Culture Isn't Just a PR Play"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Before I joined I was skeptical about the culture and perks being a ploy to mask a less-than-ideal place to work (as is the case with lots of companies) but HubSpot really delivers on its promise of a fantastic culture. What most people are most attracted to (unlimited vacation etc.) is actually not what keeps me in my job. I get to work with the best group of people, both here in Sydney and all over the world... in our other offices. I have a fantastic manager who pushes me to achieve things I never thought I could (or rather that I never *think* I can, until I look back and see how far I've come). The Sydney office has a particularly special thing going on. Amazing people, tons of fun, but serious about the goals we have and all the hard work it's going to take us to get there.

    Show More

    Cons

    HubSpot is full of super talented, ambitious people and it can be easy to feel like you're not good enough (imposter syndrome is at an all-time high working here!) I find my work-life balance has ups and downs. Sometimes I'm flat out and all I think about is work, but on the flipside, I never get downtrodden by it as I have the best team and we're all in it together. The fact I'm able to manage my own schedule... (when I work, and where I work) with no questions asked really helps too, as even when things are crazy, I can still fit my job around the rest of my life.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep the bar for talent exceptionally high as we grow -- it's what makes HubSpot such a valuable learning experience for anyone working here.

    HubSpot2017-10-15
  5. "Great Company That Practices What They Preach!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hubspot uses the product they sell. That says a lot Amazing individuals work here - they're all very hard-working, supportive and fun Huge opportunities for growth and promotions - Everything is very transparent

    Cons

    It's a fast-paced culture, so the on boarding can feel overwhelming. But that's really the same with any job, right?

    Advice to Management

    Continue fostering the high-paced, motivated atmosphere that Hubspot rewards but continue making it feel like a safe space to work, a place where failure is accepted and human weakness/errors aren't causes for embarrassment or shame.

    HubSpot2017-09-08
  6. "The BEST place ever to start your sales career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    HubSpot has done an amazing job at balancing what's important. There's so much autonomy within the organisation, paired with carefully thought-out and rolled-out processes. I started as an Inbound Sales Coordinator and am now in a Principal BDR role. The promotion path in sales is incredibly transparent, and hard work is both recognised and rewarded. My managers have challenged me and been incredibly supportive... since day 1. The people at HubSpot are some of the best you'll ever meet, both incredibly helpful and hard-working. The culture code isn't a PR front to get people in the door — sure, it's a little cheesy, but it really is embedded within the entire org which is so wonderful to be a part of. It's hard not to love your job when you work at HubSpot.

    Show More

    Cons

    There isn't a tonne of opportunity for frequent international travel as a BDR/sales rep here. Only a con if you want to travel for work!

    HubSpot2017-08-09
  7. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    Growing business providing useful tools to small and medium businesses

    Cons

    Lost management with no real direction at this point. Expanding without a plan

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees better

    HubSpot2017-05-09
  8. "Fantastic please to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Channel Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    Smart people, great product and great benefits

    Cons

    Communication can be better to offices outside HQ

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    HubSpot2017-03-31
  9. Helpful (2)

    "This company gets it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hubspot is a company that really thinks about how modern people work, how to get the best out of them and how to ensure they feel fulfilled in their role. Read the Culture code to get a feel for what Hubspot is about. I've now been an employee for a year and I can tell you that they really do stick to their culture code and when they don't, they admit it and work to correct it. So many pros! -... Recognition for work - Smart, kind and caring people, no matter which department - Challenging work - Have not seen workplace politics - Amazing offices, in great cities - Many external speakers are invited in, to share their insights - Learning is strongly encouraged - Opportunities to grow, if you want it - Flexible work hours for most roles - Clear goals and transparency from the top down - Regular office events - International footprint - Hubspot is growing like crazy which is a great time to work for any company - Ping Pong! Free Beer! Candy walls! Waffle Wednesdays! EOM Pizza! I hope you have strong willpower

    Show More

    Cons

    None that I have experienced so far. If you have a problem, you have many avenues to voice your opinion. Quarterly employee NPS, weekly feedback apps or you could just talk to your manager, who is always willing to listen and help.

    Advice to Management

    Stay transparent, Stay ahead of the curve with innovation and continue to invest in culture

    HubSpot2016-12-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "One Of The Best Account Management/Consulting Jobs In ANZ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing culture - Made me a better professional from day 1 - Best perks (Unlimited holidays, flexability to work from home as long as you get the work done etc) - HubSpot's culture is well known but Sydney's culture is something different all together. Amazing - The thorough recruitment process means everyone in the office is on the same page and working towards the same goal

    Cons

    - It's not a 9-5 job, you're constantly plugged in - You have to bring you A game every day as everyone is extremely talented (not necessarily a con if you have what it takes!) - Daily pressure from multiple accounts

    Advice to Management

    Advice to management would be to listen to the changing needs of a growing office. 30 people is very different to 60.

    HubSpot2016-10-20
Found 1048 reviews