HubSpot Senior Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

HubSpot Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
HubSpot CEO Brian Halligan
Brian Halligan
29 Ratings
  1. "Beefy technical infrastructure, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Most everyone I've worked with in here has been a pleasure - Development infrastructure and tooling is great - Small teams and plenty of responsibility/opportunities to learn

    Cons

    - The lingo/vocabulary/abbreviations can be a bit of a pain to learn on top of soaking up everything else - Hearing phrases like "our customers bleed orange" and the corny cheering at technical talks kills me inside

    HubSpot2019-10-10
  2. "Absolutely recommend!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for HubSpot is really amazing. We work in small team (around 3-5 engineers), and my manager recognizes everyone's work a lot. The technical challenges are very interesting, and I am learning a lot every day. But the people are really what makes working at HubSpot so unique. Everyone is really kind and willing to help. Flexibility and work life balanced are also very present: I am able to work from home ... whenever I want. Finally, there are a lot of events that makes working there very fun!

    Show More

    Cons

    I wish there were more opportunities to transfer offices for engineers (not only Cambridge and Dublin)

    HubSpot2019-10-06

    HubSpot Response

    October 8, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for being a Senior Software Engineer in HubSpot Dublin, and for making the time to write this review. Love that you work from home when you want, and that you called out the quality of our technical challenges and the kindness of your peers. Really appreciate all that you do to build a product our customers love, thanks for making the time to write this review, and for the note on transfers--will chat with our engineering leadership about what if anything is possible here. Sincerely, Katie

    Show Less
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent culture, great perks, good pay for engineers, great work life balance

    Cons

    Can be a bit of an insiders club- a bit hard to break into

    HubSpot2019-09-26

    HubSpot Response

    September 30, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for sharing your feedback and the callout on work life balance. The insiders thing I haven't heard in awhile, but it's good to know that's still feeling like part of our culture-thanks for letting me know, I promise we'll keep an eye on it on our path toward a more inclusive culture as we grow better. Thanks again for your hard work building a product our customers love. -Katie

    Show Less
  4. "The engineering focused culture here is amazing. Great place to work if you want to learn from experienced engineers!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is great. Recently HubSpot has really opened up to allowing employees to work remotely full time as well which is a really nice option.

    Cons

    Because engineering is so fast moving and there are a lot of teams it can sometimes be hard to work with other teams.

    HubSpot2019-09-16

    HubSpot Response

    September 16, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for being a Senior SWE on our team, we are so glad you're here. And truly, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback--I agree with you that we move quickly, and I love that callout on remote. Thanks for helping us grow better and for all you do to help our engineering team and our customers! -Katie

    Show Less
  5. "A challengingly fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing coworkers that will push you to grow better and learn a ton of new things - Office perks such as food, snacks etc - Hubtalks: A meeting where some industry leaders in the world come to interview with our CPO and you get insights on how they got to where they got and the amount effort, work they put into it. - Dogs around the office :) - Industry leading tech stack and support for it

    Cons

    - (not really a con) As HubSpot is growing we may need to go into new territory and there are no set procedures or strategic planning on how to get there. We have to work through new projects and figure it out as we go.

    HubSpot2019-08-28

    HubSpot Response

    August 30, 2019Chief People Officer

    Okay I have a new favorite word in "challengingly," so thank you for that. And thanks for being a senior SWE on our team--we are lucky to have such an incredible engineering org, thanks for being an important part of it. I love that you called out our tech stack and of course, our dog-friendly office, and that you noted the lack of playbooks for everything as both a good thing and a note to be mindful of. Thanks for all you do and for making the time to write this--I appreciate everything you do to build a product our customers love. Sincerely, Katie

    Show Less
  6. "Enjoyable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA

    I worked at HubSpot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun to work at Challenging problems

    Cons

    There can be some cliquey groups

    HubSpot2019-09-09

    HubSpot Response

    September 10, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for having been part of our engineering team and for taking the time to write this-we are glad to have you as an alumni, and hopefully our commitment to inclusion and belonging has improved the cliquey groups you saw, but it's something we will continue to keep an eye on. Sincerely, Katie

    Show Less
  7. "A good place for individuals with initiative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, autonomy, intrinsically motivated coworkers

    Cons

    Growing pains, over correction, lots of inexperience

    Advice to Management

    Provide more support to new leaders

    HubSpot2019-06-21

    HubSpot Response

    June 27, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks so much for your feedback, and for being a senior software engineer at HubSpot-we're grateful for what you build and do every day. Thanks for the push on support for new leaders-I'll connect with Eric, Whitney, and Brianna on the current plan and see if we can possibly do more here. Appreciate your callout on flexibility and autonomy, thanks for the feedback and for all you do for HubSpot! -Katie

    Show Less
  8. "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome engineers to learn from Interesting technical problems Fun environment to work in

    Cons

    Product isn't super appealing to everyone

    HubSpot2019-06-19

    HubSpot Response

    June 27, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, and I would echo that our engineering team has interesting problems to solve and great colleagues to learn with and from. Appreciate your work and your review, thanks for sharing! -Katie

  9. "Solid technical stack. Unparalleled culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Insane focus on culture, in the best way possible - Standard front end tech stack with huge focus on internal tooling - Small autonomous teams yet lots of cross team collaboration and core internal teams that allow for sharing of key functionality - Great compensation and focus on career growth - Amazing leadership that actually cares - Cool product with lots of opportunities for career making projects -... Chance to travel abroad for work

    Show More

    Cons

    - Weak 401k match - May sometimes be placed in isolated buildings away from the rest of the department

    Advice to Management

    Bring back the berries! No, seriously, it's going great, keep up the good work.

    HubSpot2019-04-12

    HubSpot Response

    May 1, 2019Chief People Officer

    LOL to the bring back the berries comment--you clearly have a great sense of humor to accompany your engineering talent. Thanks for writing up your review, for all you do to build a great product, and for your thoughtful write-up on what makes HubSpot remarkable. We do indeed care, and I think your push on both the 401k and the building locations are fair. Thanks for your feedback and for all you do for HubSpot, I feel lucky that we have an engineering team that is so talented (and so funny). Sincerely, Katie

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic place to work that respects work life balance

    Cons

    Still has work to do to improve diversity & inclusion.

    HubSpot2019-02-18

    HubSpot Response

    March 16, 2019Chief People Officer

    I agree we still have room to improve on DI&B, hopefully our new dedicated team will have a big impact there. Thanks for your review and for being a Senior SWE on our team-building a product our customers love is critical to our mission, so thanks for all of your hard work! -Katie

Found 34 reviews