HubSpot Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

HubSpot Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 86 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
HubSpot CEO Brian Halligan
Brian Halligan
76 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are good problems to work on at every level and good people that help you grow.

    Cons

    The % of female software engineers could be higher

    HubSpot2019-10-11
  2. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really like the emphasis HubSpot has made on making an inclusive and belonging environment. Compared to everywhere else I've worked, the company seems so much more accepting of people with a variety of expressions, backgrounds, and experiences. Management also acknowledges that there is always room for improvement (and continues to take action to improve). There are many opportunities to get involved in DI&B... initiatives. There are a lot of perks like free food, dogs in the office, an onsite gym, working from home, and expensed team outings. I also view my coworkers as friends. My manager keeps my career growth in mind, and I receive clear and actionable feedback to work towards an eventual promotion. I also have a lot of independence to determine my own schedule/hours and the projects I would like to work on. Initially, I was skeptical of the Unlimited Vacation policy, but I have had no difficulty taking time off. My manager suggested taking off about 4 weeks per year + holidays which is more than what other companies I looked at offer for my role. I can also extend holidays by working remotely.

    Show More

    Cons

    As HubSpot has grown, the culture and hubspotlife has not fully scaled. For example, the new office expansions (1C and 10C) have substantially fewer amenities and a much less social atmosphere than the main buildings. It's also been harder to sign up for traditions like Mystery Dinner and company outings. For software engineers, the work-life balance and burden of being on call can very greatly depending on the... team. For example, some teams are almost never paged, while others are paged multiple times a day.

    Show More
    HubSpot2019-10-11

    HubSpot Response

    October 14, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks so much for the note, and for helping us build a product our customers love. I think you're largely right that sometimes as we scale perks and access to big company-wide events decreases, but I think we also have more programs to participate in and more programming as well. Either way, thanks so much for the feedback, for noting the pager component of our engineering accountability approach, and for calling out unlimited vacation and working remotely as great options we offer freely. Thanks again for the feedback, I really appreciate it. -Katie

    Show Less
  3. "Beefy technical infrastructure, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Most everyone I've worked with in here has been a pleasure - Development infrastructure and tooling is great - Small teams and plenty of responsibility/opportunities to learn

    Cons

    - The lingo/vocabulary/abbreviations can be a bit of a pain to learn on top of soaking up everything else - Hearing phrases like "our customers bleed orange" and the corny cheering at technical talks kills me inside

    HubSpot2019-10-10
  4. "Absolutely recommend!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for HubSpot is really amazing. We work in small team (around 3-5 engineers), and my manager recognizes everyone's work a lot. The technical challenges are very interesting, and I am learning a lot every day. But the people are really what makes working at HubSpot so unique. Everyone is really kind and willing to help. Flexibility and work life balanced are also very present: I am able to work from home ... whenever I want. Finally, there are a lot of events that makes working there very fun!

    Show More

    Cons

    I wish there were more opportunities to transfer offices for engineers (not only Cambridge and Dublin)

    HubSpot2019-10-06

    HubSpot Response

    October 8, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for being a Senior Software Engineer in HubSpot Dublin, and for making the time to write this review. Love that you work from home when you want, and that you called out the quality of our technical challenges and the kindness of your peers. Really appreciate all that you do to build a product our customers love, thanks for making the time to write this review, and for the note on transfers--will chat with our engineering leadership about what if anything is possible here. Sincerely, Katie

    Show Less
  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent culture, great perks, good pay for engineers, great work life balance

    Cons

    Can be a bit of an insiders club- a bit hard to break into

    HubSpot2019-09-26

    HubSpot Response

    September 30, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for sharing your feedback and the callout on work life balance. The insiders thing I haven't heard in awhile, but it's good to know that's still feeling like part of our culture-thanks for letting me know, I promise we'll keep an eye on it on our path toward a more inclusive culture as we grow better. Thanks again for your hard work building a product our customers love. -Katie

    Show Less
  6. "The engineering focused culture here is amazing. Great place to work if you want to learn from experienced engineers!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is great. Recently HubSpot has really opened up to allowing employees to work remotely full time as well which is a really nice option.

    Cons

    Because engineering is so fast moving and there are a lot of teams it can sometimes be hard to work with other teams.

    HubSpot2019-09-16

    HubSpot Response

    September 16, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for being a Senior SWE on our team, we are so glad you're here. And truly, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback--I agree with you that we move quickly, and I love that callout on remote. Thanks for helping us grow better and for all you do to help our engineering team and our customers! -Katie

    Show Less
  7. "Great internship opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Came in for a full-time 6 month internship as a front end developer and shipped code into production in my first week on the team. I constantly feel like I'm learning and growing - and not only in my coding abilities. The opportunities that they offer for their interns (tech talks, Q&As with upper leadership, bonding experiences, etc.) are extensive and incredible. I couldn't rave enough about the opportunities... for growth throughout the experience.

    Show More

    Cons

    As an intern, it's great to work at HubSpot. I don't have many complaints in that regard, but I can see how the obsessive and very intense culture might be a challenge as a full time engineer - although you can also see it for how much pride everyone takes in their work.

    HubSpot2019-08-30

    HubSpot Response

    August 30, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for your thoughtful review of our software engineering internship at HubSpot, and I love hearing that you shipped during your first week. I hope you'll consider coming back to join us full-time, we take great pride in the fact that so many wonder co-ops and interns rejoin us. Thanks for taking the time to write this, and for helping us build a product our customers love! -Katie

    Show Less
  8. "A challengingly fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing coworkers that will push you to grow better and learn a ton of new things - Office perks such as food, snacks etc - Hubtalks: A meeting where some industry leaders in the world come to interview with our CPO and you get insights on how they got to where they got and the amount effort, work they put into it. - Dogs around the office :) - Industry leading tech stack and support for it

    Cons

    - (not really a con) As HubSpot is growing we may need to go into new territory and there are no set procedures or strategic planning on how to get there. We have to work through new projects and figure it out as we go.

    HubSpot2019-08-28

    HubSpot Response

    August 30, 2019Chief People Officer

    Okay I have a new favorite word in "challengingly," so thank you for that. And thanks for being a senior SWE on our team--we are lucky to have such an incredible engineering org, thanks for being an important part of it. I love that you called out our tech stack and of course, our dog-friendly office, and that you noted the lack of playbooks for everything as both a good thing and a note to be mindful of. Thanks for all you do and for making the time to write this--I appreciate everything you do to build a product our customers love. Sincerely, Katie

    Show Less
  9. "Enjoyable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA

    I worked at HubSpot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun to work at Challenging problems

    Cons

    There can be some cliquey groups

    HubSpot2019-09-09

    HubSpot Response

    September 10, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for having been part of our engineering team and for taking the time to write this-we are glad to have you as an alumni, and hopefully our commitment to inclusion and belonging has improved the cliquey groups you saw, but it's something we will continue to keep an eye on. Sincerely, Katie

    Show Less
  10. "A good place for individuals with initiative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, autonomy, intrinsically motivated coworkers

    Cons

    Growing pains, over correction, lots of inexperience

    Advice to Management

    Provide more support to new leaders

    HubSpot2019-06-21

    HubSpot Response

    June 27, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks so much for your feedback, and for being a senior software engineer at HubSpot-we're grateful for what you build and do every day. Thanks for the push on support for new leaders-I'll connect with Eric, Whitney, and Brianna on the current plan and see if we can possibly do more here. Appreciate your callout on flexibility and autonomy, thanks for the feedback and for all you do for HubSpot! -Katie

    Show Less
Found 86 reviews