HubSpot "unlimited vacation" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

HubSpot Employee Reviews about "unlimited vacation"

Updated 19 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
97%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
HubSpot CEO Brian Halligan
Brian Halligan
856 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Tough to strike a work life balance sometimes(in 55 reviews)

  • "Fast growth creates some growing pains -- like needing to develop new managers/leaders(in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "unlimited vacation"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A job that I am truly happy to come into work for everyday"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Sales Executive in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company has a very clear mission of helping millions of businesses grow better, and from the top, all the way down there is a true sense of actually caring for the customers, which makes working here very fulfilling. Especially when our greatest lead source is referrals because people have such great experiences of working with our team. The work/life balance is incredible, and although Sales can be very... stressful in any position, HubSpot does everything it possibly can to prevent burn out. Unlimited vacation time, benefits for exercise, free snacks and drinks, loads of team events, it makes it truly fun to work here. Not to mention, HubSpot is still a rocket ship, even years after going public, and there is no sign of slowing down. It is clear that with the number of promotions that building a career in the Sydney office has a very true path to personal career growth. One of the greatest parts of the office is how international it is, with the leadership team really focussing hiring the best talent possible.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes ANZ does feel like a true satellite office with other departments that we work with being located in either our EMEA or USA offices. It would be great if we had members of specific teams that we need to engage with located closer to Australia.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in growing the Sydney office, ANZ looks very promising!

    HubSpot2019-10-14
  2. "HEART and Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Ongoing training and coaching providing everyone an opportunity to master their roles - Autonomy to experiment programs and take control of your own book of business - Flexible working with work from home and work remote options - Great perks including unlimited vacation & tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    HubSpot can feel like a start-up, yet some decisions can take a while to make owing to the fact that the company is publicly listed, with several thousand employees.

    Advice to Management

    It would be great if we could bring over some business-critical roles like onboarding to Sydney

    HubSpot2019-08-29

    HubSpot Response

    October 8, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for helping our customers and prospects grow in Sydney, and for being a critical part of our growth in ANZ. Can't wait to visit with you all in November, and thanks for the feedback on onboarding--will connect more with services around how they are thinking about growth. Sincerely, Katie

    Show Less
  3. Helpful (1)

    "HubSpot has changed my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    HubSpot has changed my life... and that is not hyperbole. When people ask me why I continue to work at HubSpot, this is how I answer: (1) I'm in love with our mission. We really help businesses grow and that's a powerful force. (2) The people. HubSpot has a rare breed of people that are insanely smart and helpful. That is a rare combination. (3) We're winning. We continue to grow quickly and that means there is a... lot of opportunities. Plus, it just feels great to be on a winning team and in a winning culture. So when I say HubSpot has changed my life it's been about amazing experiences to learn with wonderful people around me going after an amazing mission to help millions of businesses grow better. And yes, my career and earnings have exceeded all my dreams. HubSpot has changed my life.

    Show More

    Cons

    HubSpot isn't for everyone. If you can't work hard enough, HubSpot isn't for you. You'll fall in love with HubSpot and our people, but you won't enjoy it fully. We have amazing training and managers to help you, and we have amazing perks like work from home, unlimited vacation, and flexible working hours, but these are perks are tough to use when you don't have the engine to perform. We are a performance driven... company and some people just aren't cut out for that.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Continue to be brave about the direction of HubSpot and pragmatic in your approach.

    HubSpot2018-10-05

    HubSpot Response

    October 9, 2018Chief People Officer

    I love that you love to win (spoiler alert: I do too), but I love even more than HubSpot has had a meaningfully positive impact on your life--your review made me tear up, so thank you for sharing. I promise we'll continue to be brave in our commitment to HubSpot's long-term success, so thanks for all you do and for taking the time to share this with the world! -Katie

    Show Less
  4. Helpful (1)

    "The Culture Isn't Just a PR Play"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Before I joined I was skeptical about the culture and perks being a ploy to mask a less-than-ideal place to work (as is the case with lots of companies) but HubSpot really delivers on its promise of a fantastic culture. What most people are most attracted to (unlimited vacation etc.) is actually not what keeps me in my job. I get to work with the best group of people, both here in Sydney and all over the world... in our other offices. I have a fantastic manager who pushes me to achieve things I never thought I could (or rather that I never *think* I can, until I look back and see how far I've come). The Sydney office has a particularly special thing going on. Amazing people, tons of fun, but serious about the goals we have and all the hard work it's going to take us to get there.

    Show More

    Cons

    HubSpot is full of super talented, ambitious people and it can be easy to feel like you're not good enough (imposter syndrome is at an all-time high working here!) I find my work-life balance has ups and downs. Sometimes I'm flat out and all I think about is work, but on the flipside, I never get downtrodden by it as I have the best team and we're all in it together. The fact I'm able to manage my own schedule... (when I work, and where I work) with no questions asked really helps too, as even when things are crazy, I can still fit my job around the rest of my life.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep the bar for talent exceptionally high as we grow -- it's what makes HubSpot such a valuable learning experience for anyone working here.

    HubSpot2017-10-15
  5. "A diverse place of smart and inclusive people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    Excellent benefits - (true) unlimited vacation, medical insurance, and generally good work life balance, tuition reimbursement (allows you to pick up a new skill), free books program. People of various backgrounds and nationality bring unique expertise for work and also vibrancy to the culture. The benefits also form a part of the culture for example, weekly meals and wellness weeks are often celebrated by the... company. People are genuinely helpful, you can grow as much as you set yourself to.

    Show More

    Cons

    Depending on the department you are in, it could lead to different experiences of team culture and management style. Some management styles do not suit certain individuals. However, this is something you can learn more of during the hiring process before making a decision (e.g knowing the direct manager you are working with, speaking to someone from HubSpot on the same role you are interested in). The manager you... work under most directly influence your experience at HubSpot on a daily basis.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do not shy away from internal friction or close an eye to feedback, employees will always appreciate the management trying to resolve issues and acknowledging them, as much as there may be no solution at that point in time. We are doing well in many areas, but not getting complacent and continuously seek improvement will further enhance work culture for everyone to thrive in.

    HubSpot2019-10-18
  6. "Absolutely Incredible - I'm never leaving!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Designer in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility (work from home, remote work, unlimited vacation) intelligent/positive/understanding people, motivated and proactive workforce, leadership is genuine and practices what they preach.

    Cons

    It's such a flexible work environment that it may be a huge shock to someone coming from the outside or from a very structured and disciplined background. This does not mean there is no structure or discipline, on the contrary, there's structure with purpose.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! Thank you for being so open and transparent. The culture is second to none.

    HubSpot2019-10-15
  7. "Best Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hubspot is the absolute best place to work for so many reasons. More than anything else, HubSpot puts their people first. Everything from working from home, flexible hours, unlimited vacation, parental leave.. (the list goes on) is such a powerful testament to how much HubSpot truly cares about their people. Being a relatively new HubSpotter that works from home - I feely truly valued and included, everyone does... such a great job of making you feel like part of a big family! I feel like I have all the resources I need to do my job well and truly appreciate all the amazing people I work with.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are none.

    Advice to Management

    You guys do such a great job at making everyone feel like they belong and supported in their career and personal growth. Keep up the great work!

    HubSpot2019-10-11
  8. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really like the emphasis HubSpot has made on making an inclusive and belonging environment. Compared to everywhere else I've worked, the company seems so much more accepting of people with a variety of expressions, backgrounds, and experiences. Management also acknowledges that there is always room for improvement (and continues to take action to improve). There are many opportunities to get involved in DI&B... initiatives. There are a lot of perks like free food, dogs in the office, an onsite gym, working from home, and expensed team outings. I also view my coworkers as friends. My manager keeps my career growth in mind, and I receive clear and actionable feedback to work towards an eventual promotion. I also have a lot of independence to determine my own schedule/hours and the projects I would like to work on. Initially, I was skeptical of the Unlimited Vacation policy, but I have had no difficulty taking time off. My manager suggested taking off about 4 weeks per year + holidays which is more than what other companies I looked at offer for my role. I can also extend holidays by working remotely.

    Show More

    Cons

    As HubSpot has grown, the culture and hubspotlife has not fully scaled. For example, the new office expansions (1C and 10C) have substantially fewer amenities and a much less social atmosphere than the main buildings. It's also been harder to sign up for traditions like Mystery Dinner and company outings. For software engineers, the work-life balance and burden of being on call can very greatly depending on the... team. For example, some teams are almost never paged, while others are paged multiple times a day.

    Show More
    HubSpot2019-10-11

    HubSpot Response

    October 14, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks so much for the note, and for helping us build a product our customers love. I think you're largely right that sometimes as we scale perks and access to big company-wide events decreases, but I think we also have more programs to participate in and more programming as well. Either way, thanks so much for the feedback, for noting the pager component of our engineering accountability approach, and for calling out unlimited vacation and working remotely as great options we offer freely. Thanks again for the feedback, I really appreciate it. -Katie

    Show Less
  9. "The only job I've ever had where a couple of years in I still like to get up and go to work--every day."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Professional in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart people with great ideas. It's the only company I've worked for that has a surprising lack of jerks--that has to do with a carefully cultivated culture and the way that the founders/executive team think and the company is structured. The benefits are significant, but the most important, in my mind, is the unlimited vacation, flexible work possibilities, free books, great medical, and the perk of being able to... use the software for personal use--which is super powerful if you have a side hustle. And that side hustle? It's supported and encouraged. Having happy, fulfilled employees make for better employees, and they get that. Oh, and it's a phenomenal tech company for women with over 50% of their workforce identifies as female.

    Show More

    Cons

    Salaries trend lower than at other tech companies. This has happened because most employees are hired at a young age and work their way up through the company so they don't need to be as competitive. In particular, salaries may be difficult to swallow for older Boston high tech workers (and it may be harder to compete with younger candidates for jobs for that reason--most of the managers are not that long in their... careers), but it's worth a shot, because the cool work, great managers/colleagues and the benefits DEFINITELY may offset that con for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work, the transparency, and the innovation. I love big changes I've seen in the couple of years I've been at the company, particularly in the area of racial and gender diversity.

    HubSpot2019-10-11

    HubSpot Response

    October 11, 2019Chief People Officer

    I loved this title, thank you so much for sharing your review, and for calling out that we've made progress on gender and racial diversity in the last few years--we still have a lot more work to do, but I'm delighted to hear you see and feel the progress so far. Thanks for the feedback on compensation and for coming into work every day with such joy, it's infectious! -Katie

    Show Less
  10. "The most Caring, Flexible and Supportive Company I Have Ever Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior HelpDesk Technician in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    HubSpot is hands down the best company I have ever worked for. Walking in the door in 2016, I immediately felt comfortable and at home with my team. I was able to ask questions, be myself and learn everything I needed to learn how to GSD at my role. I was tossed into a fast pace environment and able to give input on how things could be better. My voice was not only heard, but valued. I was able to move up... in my role within my first year, have been given accolades for work well done. Now, almost four years later, I am still feeling fulfilled, challenged and happy to get up and work for this company everyday. I have been able to move my working site to remote in order to better address my mental health and to better figure out my life plans. And I, again, was supported in every step of that process. As a remote worker, I am given opportunities to spend time with a whole new community of people. I have the support of a remote program manager who makes sure that we are included in events and opportunities that all the other sites get. And I am able to do the things I need to do to gain a good work/ life balance. So, if you like a job that allows you to get up, live out your morning routine the way you would like, work on projects that are fast paced and exciting, and supports anytime you need... you will probably like it here. (oh, and the unlimited vacation time isn't the worst, either)

    Show More

    Cons

    The only even remotely small con I have to list would be around definition of roles. But, even then, I feel like if I want to learn something, I can just ask. If I want to try to tackle a new opportunity, I just ask. I have learned that titles do not define the human, the work and the compassion and all that other human stuff does. And I know from a clarity side, this is being worked on and will continue to... be worked on as we grow.

    Show More
    HubSpot2019-10-11
Found 1022 reviews