Hulu Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Hulu Reviews

Updated 12 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Hulu CEO Randy Freer
Randy Freer
49 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Still working through some start up -> small company -> large company growing pains, but generally heading in a direction I like(in 22 reviews)

  • "work life balance only for leadership(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vxa in San Antonio, TX

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, stocked kitchen, wellness stipend, great benefits.

    Cons

    Uncertainty post being acquired by Disney

    Hulu2019-11-12
  2. "Overall great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Success Advocate in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits and Awesome investment in culture. Free TV without ads is a nice perk too.

    Cons

    - Customer Success department was separate from HQ - Poor management

    Hulu2019-11-06
  3. "Customer Service Rep."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hulu full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great place to work

    Cons

    none at all as of today

    Advice to Management

    Nothing at all as of today

    Hulu2019-10-29
  4. "Great company to grow and get challenged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Campaign Lead in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pretty challenging and inspiring

    Cons

    It's somewhat segmented and grouped in.

    Hulu2019-10-24
  5. "Great company, but not meant for people who enjoy consistency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Viewer Experience Advocate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation, benefits, culture, and work environment are all healthy, respected and fun to partake in

    Cons

    Constant growing pains at Hulu sometimes make it seem like the changing standards are not reflecting the reality of what's happening on the floor.

    Hulu2019-10-12
  6. "Greatest summer ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) 

    I worked at Hulu full-time

    Pros

    Nice working environment / communication environment. Supportive mentoring.

    Cons

    Not much in mind for now.

    Hulu2019-10-09
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaign Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hulu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good product and growing company with lots of promise and opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Lots of levels of unnecessary management. Culture is very party focused.

    Hulu2019-10-23
  8. "Absolutely loved working at Hulu"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hulu full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people - I had the most amazing team while I was at Hulu... fun, collaborative, inclusive, and diverse. The product - almost everyone knows what Hulu is and it's so much fun to work on tv! The culture on the engineering team - we try to move quickly and realize that sometimes we make mistakes, but we iterate and fix them... there is no fear of failing. I learned SO much at Hulu and was allowed to... experiment, fail (if I fixed it), and grow with my team.

    Show More

    Cons

    With all the shifting high-level management and ownership of Hulu, the future is a bit ambiguous. I hope the culture and people are allowed to stay as is!!! There has been churn in employees as a result of all this change. Hulu's HQ in Santa Monica is amazing, but when I left it was up in the air if it would move somewhere else in LA... so that's a little risky too (there might be more churn in employees if... people have to commute somewhere else...).

    Show More
    Hulu2019-10-04
  9. Helpful (2)

    "No room for professional growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hulu full-time

    Pros

    - cool screenings and some celeb sightings in the office - snacks, beer/wine on tap - unlimited PTO (take good advantage of this because you'll need it...)

    Cons

    your manager dictates your career path. my manager micro managed me and told me to stay in my lane when i wanted room for growth. criteria for promotions were very vague and based off of favoritism and rewarding the loudest person in the room who was good at sucking up. no shortage of favoritism, politics and a lot of egos. this is a stuffy entertainment company not a tech company. lots of gossip, cliques and... unapproachable leadership. compensation was not competitive with the market.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    transparency.

    Hulu2019-10-12
  10. "it was great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    its nice work culture for youth

    Cons

    timings are not good and work load is heavy

    Advice to Management

    nil

    Hulu2019-09-29
Found 372 reviews
</>Embed