Hulu Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Hulu Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 360 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Hulu CEO Randy Freer
Randy Freer
44 Ratings
  1. "Hulu"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Beijing, Beijing
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work & life balance in Hulu is wonderful

    Cons

    Some product managers lack experience

    Hulu2019-09-13
  2. "Time well spent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaign Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hulu full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and great people

    Cons

    As they grown under Disney they may lose their unique culture

    Hulu2019-07-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Promising Future Ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hulu has a lot of good going for it. Internally, employees are highly collaborative and willing to engage. Working with senior leaders has overall been a breeze, not something I've experienced at other jobs. From top level to individual contributor, most Hulugans want to see their peers succeed. Externally, I see a lot of opportunity on the horizon with Hulu and the business changes it has gone through recently.

    Cons

    There has been a lot of change, and change management could use a little tightening up. But when you're moving at the speed of innovation, this can happen.

    Hulu2019-07-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Best decision I ever made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything about Hulu is incredible. The culture is the best anywhere I have ever worked - it merges the best of three great industries; Entertainment, Technology and Creative and everyone is genuinely positive and happy.

    Cons

    The office isn’t super inspiring - but they’re not hiding behind fancy looking facilities

    Advice to Management

    Look to middle management more for some inspiring ideas.

    Hulu2019-06-01
  5. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Technical Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work in LA

    Cons

    More opportunities for lateral movement would be great

    Hulu2019-05-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Hulu's A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Campaign Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall Hulu has great benefits, culture and flexible work/life balance. They understand the value of their employees and want to ensure they are given visibility to how they are influencing the business. Hulu is also are aware that the industry is constantly changing, so are open to change - which is a huge win for me, personally. I admire Hulu's focus on having a one-team environment to allow collaboration among... employees and share knowledge.

    Show More

    Cons

    Just like any company, Hulu is not perfect. They're running at an extremely fast pace environment due to the massive scale Hulu is becoming as a business. They're trying their best to keep up the momentum as well as ensure they maintain positive core values/culture to all their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Hulu2019-05-24
  7. "Proud to be a Hulugan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, people, growth, product, innovation

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of.

    Hulu2019-05-07
  8. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and field of work

    Cons

    Work load can be high

    Advice to Management

    Nothing much to say here

    Hulu2019-05-06
  9. "growing company, startup feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Lead in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * friendly atmosphere and good relationships between teams * company-wide focus on TV * opportunities for technical and career growth

    Cons

    * upper management lacks alignment on priorities * process improvements sometimes favor upper management

    Advice to Management

    * align on a planning process that addresses real problems

    Hulu2019-05-05
  10. "Hulu - A great place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people, their dedication, their positive and don't-take-yourself-too-seriously attitudes are what make Hulu a great place to work. Everyone seems as passionate as I am for the streaming video space. We love content and we love crafting a great experience to watch through. When we're making hard decisions, trying to ship against a tight deadline, it's refreshing to be around folks that can de-stress, put into... perspective how our decisions will impact millions of viewers, and stay positive. In other companies, times like this turn into b**** sessions. Managers care about their team members and regularly discuss growth opportunities and career progression. We meet monthly as an organization and routinely touch on how the company is progressing on employee satisfaction initiatives - the transparency and focus is refreshing. This is not new behavior, but part of a pattern of high visibility and transparency between the various layers of management. The tech is cutting edge and we're always pushing to build an experience that differentiates us from the competition, yet still delights. We get to ship on so many different platforms, that it keeps us on our toes - the job continually refreshing.

    Show More

    Cons

    We've been growing very rapidly the last couple of years, so there are some growing pains in how we effectively communicate across much larger groups as our processes, originally intended for a smaller company, show stress fractures. The positive side is this is acknowledged and folks are rallying to shore up processes to resolve some of the friction points. The impact is sometimes we're not all running in sequence,... which makes shipping a very complicated experience and set of technologies challenging.

    Show More
    Hulu2019-05-01
Found 360 reviews
</>Embed