IKEA "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

IKEA Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated 11 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
IKEA President and CEO Jesper Brodin
Jesper Brodin
290 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "part time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Amazing place to work if you can handle the stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Forklift Operator in Richmond, Victoria
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at IKEA part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Diverse coworkers. People from all different backgrounds means there's lots of interesting people to meet. - Decent, nice coworkers - no homophobia, racism, sexism that I saw. - Will give people a chance - we had lots of people who had been retrenched from other industries, older people, people with intellectual disabilities, people recruited from those employment placement agencies for the vulnerable. - A more ethical company - extensive policies on materials sourcing and manufacturing with the aim of being sustainable and not using child labour etc. These policies are publicly available if you're interested. - Above award pay and good conditions. - Safety culture.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Focus on "lean retailing" means there's a consistent pressure for team leaders to staff as low as possible, making for a high stress job as not all tasks can be completed with the hours rostered. - Customer contact coworkers are expected to endure severe and frequent harassment. - Cliquey management culture. Managers required to put in a lot of time socialising outside of work hours in order to be promoted. -Managers expected to work a lot of unpaid overtime. - Claimed I wasn't owed long service leave when I left. This was corrected and I was paid out eventually but it took 3 months. - Deliberate policy of hiring many people on part time contracts and getting them to work almost full time hours, rather than hiring them as full time. Makes it hard to be financially secure and means people feel like they can't say no to a shift. -Culture of coming in when sick and spreading it around.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Need to balance costs of higher staffing ratios with staffing at adequate level to prevent burnout.

    IKEA2019-05-12
  2. "they dont practice what they preach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at IKEA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -decent pay over weekends -an excellent workplace at some other stores, depends on the management and culture

    Cons

    - Serious bullying complaints go unattended due to favouritism of managers. - Culture of managers making the workplace unbearable for part time staff who they no longer wish to keep (due to low contract hours/illness) until they get fed up and leave on their own accord. -Poor HR escalation process acts as a barrier so staff cant speak to hr directly

    IKEA2019-11-20
  3. "Unorganised due to lack of competence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at IKEA part-time

    Pros

    -The team is lovely to work with, everyone is friendly giving good vibes except certain people who don't contribute -Flexible -Can work a lot of hours even though you are given a part-time contract -Manager and team leaders work hard -Youthful team

    Cons

    -Certain coworkers get favoured -Uneven workload between departments create separation -Managers outside of logistics try to make decisions that impact this department without working with our team -Other departments look down on logistics - Workload doubles literally when a co-worker gets sick - A lot of coworkers have injuries due to being overworked

    Advice to Management

    - Listen to the logistic coworkers as we can all contribute to creating solutions and a great working environment. -Management should have a backbone and communicate what we can't do

    IKEA2018-08-06
  4. "Recovery co-worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IKEA

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Lack of hours as a part-time employee

    Advice to Management

    Give people more hours or pay more p/h

    IKEA2016-12-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Overall a great place to work but income strongly limited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at IKEA for more than 3 years

    Pros

    cheap food (sometimes even free), undercover parking, annual bonus, christmas gift ($100 Myer gift card) opportunities to work in different departments, work life balance, company events, good break system, great place to gather high volume retail experience, world renowned successful and profitable company with strong culture.

    Cons

    no overtime allowed, difficult to climb up the ladder, hardly any full time positions, 80% of staff is part time which means not enough income and constant battle for more hours. Management sometimes inflexible, lack of training to newbies, sometimes other not so newbies coach newbies wrongly, must work every second weekend (some positions excluded)

    IKEA2016-02-20
  6. "Pretty good actually"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Service Worker in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IKEA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits for part-time employees, employee discount, flexible schedule (Somewhat), and PTO for part-time employees as well.

    Cons

    Well, IKEA needs to hire more staff and put more resources into the food department (Bistro). That way, customers and employees will be happier.

    IKEA2020-01-04
  7. "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Coworker in Centennial, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at IKEA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of great coworkers. Benefits available for part-time coworkers (21-34 hours/week).

    Cons

    Compensation issues - pay methodology is not transparent and causes low morale. Company ideals of inclusiveness and zero tolerance for inappropriate behavior, (e.g., racism, harassment, intolerance) are not effectively enforced. Schedules are a nightmare.

    Advice to Management

    If you want feedback, be prepared to hear things you do not like. Don't shoot the messenger.

    IKEA2020-01-11
  8. "Fun part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 

    I have been working at IKEA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a fun part time job, salary is ok, the colleagues were great. We had a lot of fun at work

    Cons

    Management was not great, they had favorites but as a part time employee this didn't affect me much.

    IKEA2019-12-25
  9. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Manama
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at IKEA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great people, amazing environment, great pay for part-time

    Cons

    Late night shifts can get crowded sometimes

    Advice to Management

    nothing

    IKEA2019-12-14
  10. "Great as a Starting Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IKEA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Great company values -Benefits for all employees if you're full time or part time -Bonus every year if the company sales goals are met -Free stuff -Can move around in positions; vertically and upwards

    Cons

    -This can be subjective, but everyone will have different experiences based on who is in the position of management -No advancement if you're in the Pick up point aside from having to relocate your entire personal life or wait for a main store to open up -It's retail -Work/life balance could be better

    Advice to Management

    Must learn to listen to understand rather that listen to reply

    IKEA2019-12-11
Found 194 reviews
</>Embed