Illumina Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Illumina Reviews

Updated 22 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 891 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Illumina CEO Francis deSouza
Francis deSouza
398 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is an exciting, fast paced company where things are always evolving(in 77 reviews)

  • "care to employees welfare; work-life balance(in 56 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance, growing faster than our resources(in 63 reviews)

  • "No real cons but it is a fast paced, changing environment which might not be for everyone(in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Care about employees Cutting edge technology, progressive and innovative

    Cons

    Expanded very quickly over a few years, internal processes still catching up

    Illumina2019-04-23
  2. "Working in Illumina"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Illumina is a great company to work for. The staff are friendly, open and collaborative. We share a common goal of improving human health by unlocking the power of the human genome and are very passionate about working towards that goal.

    Cons

    Working in Illumina is very fast-paced and working with colleagues across the globe is challenging. Having said that, if you enjoy those sorts of challenges (which I do), then the disadvantages are not disadvantages at all. Working remotely can also be challenging for those people who are not used to that type of work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Continue being open with personnel and provide the necessary support for us to go our jobs well. Don't forget to support remote employees to help them maintain their connectedness to the company.

    Illumina2019-04-23
  3. "One of the better place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great focus on new outcomes and pushing boundaries A drive to improve Human Health A company focused on giving back to the community

    Cons

    Balance of changing demands/focuses High role change over company, due to rapid growth, means constant reinvention of strategy

    Advice to Management

    Don’t lose sight of the core philosophies

    Illumina2019-02-07
  4. "So much potential yet to be realized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    NGS technology is cutting edge and 80% market share Starting to implement nice employee programs, but still very US centric

    Cons

    Talk about international opportunities but woeful relocation help or benefits Struggling to become a clinical company because mindset is still RUO in many areas Business processes and systems are very inefficient and restrictive

    Illumina2017-09-29
  5. Helpful (12)

    "No Accountability and No Loyalty to Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Illumina's overall mission is great, to unlock the power of the genome. The applications are wide and the impact is huge. Estimated 90% of all genomic data has been sequenced by an Illumina instrument. Base pay is average, but total compensation is competitive. Restricted Stock/Bonuses make up the difference to make total compensation. Benefits are competitive and company culture is pretty fun. Plenty of extracurricular...

    Show More

    Cons

    The company stock recently dropped almost 20% due to lowering guidance. This is actually the second time in 4 years this has occurred due to failures within the commercial organization to project and execute sales. The first time this occurred caused the entire company to be denied their bonuses that year and led to some layoffs. After the stock plunge our CEO announced that there would not be any company wide layoffs....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hold poor performing organizations accountable for failures that impact the entire organization, does't even need to be real, just a perception of accountability will do. Promote a safe culture for the employees, don't just let it be legal jargon on a piece of paper. Push for more diversity in hiring and leadership, particularly minorities/women.

    Illumina2019-08-21
  6. "Culture at Illumina"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist I in Foster City, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Collaborative environment with a great purpose

    Cons

    Large company and sometimes difficult to navigate and find information

    Illumina2019-08-17
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Illumina full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work with laid-back company culture

    Cons

    Launch dates aren't really set in stone and had to come in to work weekends as a result of that

    Illumina2019-08-13
  8. "Incredible experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina for less than a year

    Pros

    This internship has taught me SO much and allowed me to get hands-on experience. I was able to take projects from ideation to implementation on multiple occasions throughout my internship. Outside of my specific intern projects, I also worked on an intern group project and a poster presentation. The interview process was long, but 100% worth it. Overall INCREDIBLE experience! Apply if you're at all interested!

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons!

    Illumina2019-08-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Working at Illumina"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits Opportunity to learn Great domain with tremendous growth potential

    Cons

    Over burdened by process Too many meetings

    Illumina2019-08-23
  10. "Unstructured and lack directions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are smart and work is interesting. Great campus. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Unstructured and lack directions. Hard working is not valued. The goal is not to make great product but to fight for credits (even for things you didn't do). Not many innovations/research going on. Gender/racial diversity if not good and no one really cares (at least from what I saw).

    Advice to Management

    Hire more real researchers/engineers than politicians.

    Illumina2019-08-22
Found 891 reviews