Illumina Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,224 of over 1,413 reviews

4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Illumina President & CEO Francis deSouza
Francis deSouza
630 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work is fast paced and always changing depending on evolving needs(in 89 reviews)

  • "The company encourages a healthy work life balance(in 88 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-life balance could be better(in 74 reviews)

  • "It is fast paced and can be crazy(in 67 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great company

      Apr 23, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Care about employees Cutting edge technology, progressive and innovative

      Cons

      Expanded very quickly over a few years, internal processes still catching up

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great benefits

      Mar 28, 2021 - Quality Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits for all employees

      Cons

      Slow career growth, big organization

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Room for Improvement

      Oct 25, 2020 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity to build significant business networks. Technology market leader for NGS Huge unrealised potential

      Cons

      Arrogant and not customer focused Atrocious internal management and zero career opportunities - a prime example of promoting a few from within regardless of competence. This was by far the most disappointing let down and life lesson for me. Too much internal politics Very US focused - other regions don’t count as much.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      It's OK

      Jun 2, 2020 - Commercial 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Industry leader in genomics sequencing

      Cons

      Lack innovation. Product pipeline has stagnant.

      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Working in Illumina

      Apr 23, 2019 - Associate Director in Perth, Western Australia, Western Australia
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Illumina is a great company to work for. The staff are friendly, open and collaborative. We share a common goal of improving human health by unlocking the power of the human genome and are very passionate about working towards that goal.

      Cons

      Working in Illumina is very fast-paced and working with colleagues across the globe is challenging. Having said that, if you enjoy those sorts of challenges (which I do), then the disadvantages are not disadvantages at all. Working remotely can also be challenging for those people who are not used to that type of work environment.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      One of the better place to be

      Feb 7, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great focus on new outcomes and pushing boundaries A drive to improve Human Health A company focused on giving back to the community

      Cons

      Balance of changing demands/focuses High role change over company, due to rapid growth, means constant reinvention of strategy

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      So much potential yet to be realized

      Sep 29, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      NGS technology is cutting edge and 80% market share Starting to implement nice employee programs, but still very US centric

      Cons

      Talk about international opportunities but woeful relocation help or benefits Struggling to become a clinical company because mindset is still RUO in many areas Business processes and systems are very inefficient and restrictive

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A People Focused Company Focused on Innovation and Culture

      Jul 26, 2021 - Talent Acquisition Specialist in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been working at Illumina for a little over two months and it has been everything promised and so much more. The mission statement of unlocking the power of the Genome is the true lifeblood of the company as every single employees knows the differences they are making in the world. Being in Talent Acquisition, I know I have a direct affect on our Innovation as I could be helping find the next great inventor to help drive early cancer detection through our research. Ultimately, the culture is amazing and I could not be happier that I found my dream company to work for!

      Cons

      There isn't much that I dislike at Illumina, but, I can't wait to be able to get back to campus and work alongside my fellow colleagues. The campus is gorgeous, but, due to Covid, we are still working in a remote capacity.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great culture, but Poor compensation for technical talent

      Jul 25, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The campus is beautiful - Great teammates, great managers who care about their teams - Lots of smart people - It seems easy to move up in this company provided you show potential and demonstrate your worth

      Cons

      - Employees work too much - poor work-life balance - Illumina seriously underpays its technical employees, especially in Software Engineering. If you look at any salary website such as Glassdoor or levels.fyi, you will immediately see that Illumina pays often about 50% of what other companies are offering in the same geographic location. It is difficult to negotiate a better compensation package to match the market. The stock grants are much smaller than you can get anywhere else - seriously, my other offers gave 15-20x the amount of stock I received in my Illumina offer. I'm sure that the below-market compensation is the reason why during company meetings employees always point out how large numbers of people are leaving the company and joining competitors for better compensation. Illumina offers bottom-of-the-barrel compensation yet expects to recruit and retain top-level talent.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work

      Jul 26, 2021 - Engineer II in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits- inexpensive healthcare, 401k matching, ESPP, yearly equity grant, health and wellness stipend, onsite gym, great work life balance, great company culture, intramural leagues, open minded environment Chance to work on incredible products that actually help people in a market that's only set to grow

      Cons

      Can still feel like a start up sometimes Constant "reorganizing" which can disrupt workflows and disband established teams

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,224 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Illumina Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Illumina? Share Your Experiences

    Illumina logo
    or