Illumina Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Illumina Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Illumina CEO Francis deSouza
Francis deSouza
376 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is an exciting, fast paced company where things are always evolving(in 81 reviews)

  • "care to employees welfare; work-life balance(in 67 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some teams have much better work/life balance while other are perpetually stressed out(in 66 reviews)

  • "Work is fast-paced and you can get lost in it(in 59 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Care about employees Cutting edge technology, progressive and innovative

    Cons

    Expanded very quickly over a few years, internal processes still catching up

    Illumina2019-04-23
  2. "Working in Illumina"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Illumina is a great company to work for. The staff are friendly, open and collaborative. We share a common goal of improving human health by unlocking the power of the human genome and are very passionate about working towards that goal.

    Cons

    Working in Illumina is very fast-paced and working with colleagues across the globe is challenging. Having said that, if you enjoy those sorts of challenges (which I do), then the disadvantages are not disadvantages at all. Working remotely can also be challenging for those people who are not used to that type of work environment.

    Continue reading
    Illumina2019-04-23
  3. "One of the better place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great focus on new outcomes and pushing boundaries A drive to improve Human Health A company focused on giving back to the community

    Cons

    Balance of changing demands/focuses High role change over company, due to rapid growth, means constant reinvention of strategy

    Continue reading
    Illumina2019-02-07
  4. "So much potential yet to be realized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    NGS technology is cutting edge and 80% market share Starting to implement nice employee programs, but still very US centric

    Cons

    Talk about international opportunities but woeful relocation help or benefits Struggling to become a clinical company because mindset is still RUO in many areas Business processes and systems are very inefficient and restrictive

    Illumina2017-09-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work, depending on your personality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very innovative work that has a clear positive impact on human health. - Colleagues are intelligent, driven, and hardworking. Almost everyone has great pride in working here and believes in the mission. - Career development opportunities are available (if you loudly fight for them). - Senior management appears to be doing a good job of prioritizing the promising projects. We always seem to come up with something that makes the company keep growing. - Decent compensation for San Diego (when we hit our revenue targets). - Fast paced.

    Cons

    - Compensation is highly variable. Low base salary. Benefits and 401k match are sub-par. - Some managers are extremely stingy with promotions. - Some teams have much better work/life balance while other are perpetually stressed out. - You have to be assertive and drive your own career, or people will take advantage of you. - Fast paced. Summary: If you are driven, self-motivated, assertive, and enjoy fast pace and constant learning, you will love it here. If you are not these things, or you have a bad manager, or you want a tech-company salary, you will probably be unhappy.

    Continue reading
    Illumina2019-11-09
  6. "Awesome addition to my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent managers, high pace, high pressure, results driven environment. Community respect. Closely partnered with key accounts

    Cons

    Heavy workload, high demands for your time.

    Continue reading
    Illumina2019-11-10
  7. "Chaos at Lightening Speed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Training Specialist in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, flexible, a handful of great managers

    Cons

    This is a company that grew way too fast and quickly started building the popcycle stick and duct tape its infrastructure you see today. Incredible lack of direction and support for management. Just punishments.

    Illumina2019-11-18
  8. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pmt in San Diego, CA

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good job with work/life balance

    Cons

    Slow advancement, growth, and raises. Some micromanaging. Could be better with training on equipment. Could be better with starting pay

    Continue reading
    Illumina2019-11-15
  9. "Great environment. Competitive salaries."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    HQ campus is beautiful. Free charging for EVs. RSUs, bonuses, stock discount program, 401K matching. Subsidized gymn and trainers.

    Cons

    No accrued PTO. Too many work distractions with Facebook-based portals. Slightly too many meetings.

    Illumina2019-10-19
  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist II in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture Great people Wonderful building in Cambridge

    Cons

    I like everything about it

    Illumina2019-10-19
Found 795 reviews