Illumina Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Illumina Reviews

Updated 14 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 741 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Illumina CEO Francis deSouza
Francis deSouza
335 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is an exciting, fast paced company where things are always evolving(in 77 reviews)

  • "care to employees welfare; work-life balance(in 52 reviews)

Cons
  • "So much going on - you need to be very good at setting boundaries or it will be easy to get sucked into poor work-life balance(in 61 reviews)

  • "Working in Illumina is very fast-paced and working with colleagues across the globe is challenging(in 51 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Care about employees Cutting edge technology, progressive and innovative

    Cons

    Expanded very quickly over a few years, internal processes still catching up

    Illumina2019-04-23
  2. "Working in Illumina"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Illumina is a great company to work for. The staff are friendly, open and collaborative. We share a common goal of improving human health by unlocking the power of the human genome and are very passionate about working towards that goal.

    Cons

    Working in Illumina is very fast-paced and working with colleagues across the globe is challenging. Having said that, if you enjoy those sorts of challenges (which I do), then the disadvantages are not disadvantages at all. Working remotely can also be challenging for those people who are not used to that type of work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Continue being open with personnel and provide the necessary support for us to go our jobs well. Don't forget to support remote employees to help them maintain their connectedness to the company.

    Illumina2019-04-23
  3. "One of the better place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great focus on new outcomes and pushing boundaries A drive to improve Human Health A company focused on giving back to the community

    Cons

    Balance of changing demands/focuses High role change over company, due to rapid growth, means constant reinvention of strategy

    Advice to Management

    Don’t lose sight of the core philosophies

    Illumina2019-02-07
  4. "So much potential yet to be realized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    NGS technology is cutting edge and 80% market share Starting to implement nice employee programs, but still very US centric

    Cons

    Talk about international opportunities but woeful relocation help or benefits Struggling to become a clinical company because mindset is still RUO in many areas Business processes and systems are very inefficient and restrictive

    Illumina2017-09-29
  5. "Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Applications Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Engaging work supporting products that I believe in. Great support internally for field employees. Senior leadership truly listens to the feedback from the field and addresses pain points as best as possible. Great work life balance.

    Cons

    401k match could be a little higher, but all other aspects of compensation are great.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in innovation and keep listening to us.

    Illumina2019-06-14
  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - QC Associate 

      I have been working at Illumina full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Really nice people at this company

      Cons

      Very fast paced work environment

      Illumina2019-06-12
    • "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Illumina full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Great in every way as I know

      Cons

      I did not find any

      Illumina2019-06-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Brilliant company to work for who truly care about their employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior AP/AR Specialist in Cambridge, East of England, England
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Illumina full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      - Fantastic work-life balance - Outstanding benefits - Nice atmosphere - Wonderful new offices

      Cons

      I have only been employed by Illumina for 2 and a half months but haven't found any cons yet.

      Illumina2019-05-31
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great Job, Poor Career Advancement"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Everything always falls down to the business needs. Your Career could be headed in one direction and changed instantly based on company needs.

      Cons

      Promotions are based on Friendships

      Illumina2019-06-14
    • "Working Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assembler II in Woodlands New Town, North
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Illumina full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Good benefits, high salary and friendly colleagues.

      Cons

      Tough work. Less people to help each other. Need more male colleagues to handle heavy tanks.

      Advice to Management

      Hire more people to help each other

      Illumina2019-06-14
    Found 741 reviews