InterContinental Hotels Group Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

InterContinental Hotels Group Reviews

Updated 15 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1863 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
InterContinental Hotels Group CEO Keith Barr
Keith Barr
320 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes long hours and double shifts are required(in 41 reviews)

  • "Work life balance gets a bit lopsided, however after a long career I was pretty used to it(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Revenue manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time

    Pros

    Work from home, Flexible role

    Cons

    Lack of growth opportunities, sometimes clunky trying to get information in AU passed through US, UK and SNG head offices

    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-02-23
  2. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housekeeper in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good colleagues and flexibility of hours

    Cons

    No lift, made the work a lot more physical

    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-06-07
  3. "Good by not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Office in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The hotel gives you steady hours and the colleagues are very interesting and kind

    Cons

    The hotel was very mismanaged. There was a high turnover as a result and employees had a high degree of stress

    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-06-05
  4. "work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    People work with were friendly

    Cons

    no work life balance. Minimum support

    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-05-16
  5. "Front office, Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Agent/Front Office Supervisor in Melbourne
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great customer service philosophy Reasonable pay Good growth opportunities if you are interested in a career in hotels Opportunity to earn IHG rewards points Queer-friendly

    Cons

    Office culture was often negative, difficult to improve team attitude High staff turnover meant that often staff were often required to cover additional shifts Unreliable management Underwhelming options for staff meals

    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-03-23
  6. "Great company that fosters personal growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of room to grow, great employee benefits, fun and exciting industry.

    Cons

    Slow to make changes sometimes, lower budgets and salaries than other industries.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing fast and keeping all employees engaged. Great job!

    InterContinental Hotels Group2018-10-19
  7. "Reservations sales agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group part-time

    Pros

    Good employee rates at othef IHG Hotels (when available)

    Cons

    Added responsibilities at no additional pay. Hospitality wage (terrible) for what is basically a sales job

    InterContinental Hotels Group2018-08-04

    InterContinental Hotels Group Response

    August 10, 2018Employer Brand Coordinator

    Hello Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm happy to read that you took advantage of our Employee Rate discount - it's a fantastic perk for those that love to travel. We regularly benchmark our benefits and pay, to make sure that we're competitive within local ...

    Show More
  8. "Terrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group part-time

    Pros

    Free meals for lunch break

    Cons

    The lunch is a heated frozen dinner.

    InterContinental Hotels Group2018-08-20
  9. "Working at IHG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time

    Pros

    Opportunities for career development and learning

    Cons

    Work life balance is not too great

    InterContinental Hotels Group2018-04-25
  10. "Created my loyalty to the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Attendant in Newcastle
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff benefits Understanding and easily to connect with management team Management really allowed staff talents and interests to shine and be share in the hotel. Great avenues for career advancing

    Cons

    Limited hep during overnight shifts at the hotel I worked at.

    Advice to Management

    I would suggest making it a standard that hotels employ and overnight chef, although I am sure large hotels would the property I worked at didn't and I believe it would be a positive investment to do so to assist in guest experience and help staff who do overnights. Having assistance and even company helps in considerable ways over various aspects of operations and staff relations with the hotel.

    InterContinental Hotels Group2018-01-18
Found 1863 reviews