InterContinental Hotels Group Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

InterContinental Hotels Group Reviews

Updated 15 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1920 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
InterContinental Hotels Group CEO Keith Barr
Keith Barr
348 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes long hours and double shifts are required(in 41 reviews)

  • "long working hour and not able to work life balance(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Working at IHG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food and Beverage Attendant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues , good discounts

    Cons

    Inconsistent hours but that's the reality of the hospitality industry.

    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-07-23
  2. "Revenue leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Revenue in Gold Coast
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Career development and colleagues who work hard.

    Cons

    Always saving without a long term goal.

    Advice to Management

    Review the top leaders in each hotel.

    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-07-02
  3. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housekeeper in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good colleagues and flexibility of hours

    Cons

    No lift, made the work a lot more physical

    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-06-07
  4. "Good by not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Office in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The hotel gives you steady hours and the colleagues are very interesting and kind

    Cons

    The hotel was very mismanaged. There was a high turnover as a result and employees had a high degree of stress

    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-06-05
  5. "work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People work with were friendly

    Cons

    no work life balance. Minimum support

    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-05-16
  6. "Front office, Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Agent/Front Office Supervisor in Melbourne
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great customer service philosophy Reasonable pay Good growth opportunities if you are interested in a career in hotels Opportunity to earn IHG rewards points Queer-friendly

    Cons

    Office culture was often negative, difficult to improve team attitude High staff turnover meant that often staff were often required to cover additional shifts Unreliable management Underwhelming options for staff meals

    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-03-23
  7. "Revenue manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time

    Pros

    Work from home, Flexible role

    Cons

    Lack of growth opportunities, sometimes clunky trying to get information in AU passed through US, UK and SNG head offices

    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-02-23
  8. "Great company that fosters personal growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of room to grow, great employee benefits, fun and exciting industry.

    Cons

    Slow to make changes sometimes, lower budgets and salaries than other industries.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing fast and keeping all employees engaged. Great job!

    InterContinental Hotels Group2018-10-19
  9. "Reservations sales agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group part-time

    Pros

    Good employee rates at othef IHG Hotels (when available)

    Cons

    Added responsibilities at no additional pay. Hospitality wage (terrible) for what is basically a sales job

    InterContinental Hotels Group2018-08-04

    InterContinental Hotels Group Response

    August 10, 2018Employer Brand Coordinator

    Hello Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm happy to read that you took advantage of our Employee Rate discount - it's a fantastic perk for those that love to travel. We regularly benchmark our benefits and pay, to make sure that we're competitive within local ...

    Show More
  10. "Terrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group part-time

    Pros

    Free meals for lunch break

    Cons

    The lunch is a heated frozen dinner.

    InterContinental Hotels Group2018-08-20
Found 1920 reviews