Investigo Consultant Reviews

Updated 9 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Investigo CEO Nick Baxter (no image)
Nick Baxter
49 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad for an agency"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good commission scheme for high billers, fairly well developed culture and more grown up than a lot of other agencies. Some great people that work there

    Cons

    Unfortunately very much a boys club that is run by a small clique of men where nepotism and favouritism will guide your success with the organisation Diversity is championed by the organisation, but feels very superficial - particularly when you have a CEO who won't even back international women's day. Chronic problems in people management across the organisation, training and development is a huge area of concern as the business in the main has no idea how to manage and develop junior people and work with smart, switched on individuals. At the end of the day they are a sales business, so can be pretty brutal with individuals.

    Continue reading

    Investigo Response

    June 11, 2020Senior Marketing Executive

    Thank you for your comments and I’m really sorry you feel like this. It’s disappointing that after 5 years of working at Investigo, and what I would assume to be so many positive moments, you have decided to share your views on Glassdoor and not raise these concerns internally for us to work through together. Especially during such a tough period, where the management team are doing everything they can to protect the business and our people’s welfare. I can guarantee you that we want Investigo to be a fair and inclusive environment and while we’re not perfect, we know the business is run with a strong moral compass and on a firm and fair belief system. There’s no way we’d ever want to create the impression of a ‘boys’ club’ at the top which promotes according to bias and only superficially adheres to our policies on diversity. We have these policies in place because we believe different people bring different views, skills and perspectives to the table. You’ll know we have a number of very senior women at the company who are crucial in defining these policies. When I became CEO in 2017, we immediately changed our core values to include Inclusivity, which is a value we take very seriously and are extremely passionate about. We also created a number of working groups across a number of different topics, including D&I, who meet regularly to make sure everyone in our business had a platform for feedback and had an opportunity to engage with our leadership team. It’s true, the majority of people Investigo hire are experienced but we also have a track record of taking people from AC to Board level in the last 10 years. We have an excellent People & Change team who support the wider business and we have an ambitious and talented management team, who understand the importance of training and developing all of our staff. I don’t believe we have a track record of making brutal decisions but as an ambitious, fast-changing business we don’t shy away from tough ones, whist ensuring they’re always fair and just. We care deeply about our people and while we appreciate we’re not perfect, the majority of feedback we receive suggests your views are not shared among your colleagues. My door is always open and I would love to discuss your feedback in more detail, with the ambition to make Investigo a better place to work

  2. "Excellent company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent culture, amazing commission structure, no micromanagement (full autonomy), have made a great name - easy to do business, flexible working, excellent support.

    Cons

    Nothing that stands out at all.

    Investigo Response

    June 11, 2020Senior Marketing Executive

    Absolutely delighted to be a five star experience for you! I hope we continue to be excellent for you . Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review

  3. "Exceptional People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At the end of the day what makes a good place to work - people. Investigo has them in abundance. Hard working, high performing and down to earth. Investigo is flying as a company with their highest turnover to date, over 250 people now across London, Regions and US and Europe this year. The investment in people is huge - training, personal development for both your career but also you mentally. Great incentives - outside easily the best/most lucrative bonus structure in recruitment we go on all-expenses paid quarterly trips abroad. Have massive Christmas & Summer do's, monthly lunch clubs, weekly team outings and a range of internal charitable/non-charitable clubs. We're about to move to a PHENOMENAL new building shortly in Liverpool St. I cannot recommend more highly having a chat to the people here to see for yourself

    Cons

    There are only cons for those who really aren't that hard working or simply want an easy ride - but that would be the same for those people anywhere.

    Continue reading

    Investigo Response

    March 16, 2020Senior Marketing Executive

    It is great to see a review titled 'Exceptional People' as that really is the key differentiator at Investigo. Our fantastic culture centres around the people we can proudly call our colleagues and to see this outlined in the above review is brilliant. We hope to continue to retain and attract the same hard working, high achieving and down to earth professionals to join the Investigo family. Thank you for taking the time to leave us review, we appreciate the time and effort this takes. You're feedback will be relayed back into the business.

  4. "Great Company, supportive, well paid, fun"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive management Great commission & incentive scheme Fun place to work Great CSR Easy to grow and open about career path Flexible working

    Cons

    I'm enjoying it, so can't think of any...

    Continue reading

    Investigo Response

    June 15, 2020Senior Marketing Executive

    Always a thrill to see a five star review and even better to see one backed up with a list of 'Pros' to be proud of. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we hope to remain five stars well into your future with Investigo

  5. "Good to work for"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 

    I worked at Investigo full-time

    Pros

    Salary was pretty decent for its size

    Cons

    Not great work life balance

    Investigo Response

    November 20, 2019Senior Marketing Executive

    Thank you for your feedback. We know it takes time and effort to leave a review, no matter how brief, and wanted to say it is appreciated and your comments will be fed back to the business.

  6. "Excellent people - great opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Investigo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - hiring policy is excellent - so you'll work with down to earth people who don't have egos - lots of opportunity to work independently - they don't micromanage anyone - great board who care about the culture of the business and are very positive about where the business is going - the company has a lot of integrity - in the way they treat clients, candidates and staff - Trusted as an agency

    Cons

    Difficult to share any - I loved working here It was tough when I left and I'd still be working here, if I hadn't moved so far away from London

    Continue reading

    Investigo Response

    November 20, 2019Senior Marketing Executive

    Thank you so much for leaving us a review. You can't beat a 'Cons list that starts with 'Difficult to share any- I loved working here' ! Given your reasons for leaving us seem to be geographical we are so pleased that your considerable time with us had such a positive impact and you leave us feeling proud of being part of the Investigo journey. Best of luck for the future and we appreciate you leaving us your thoughts and experiences of your time at Investigo

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Annual Summer Conference"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - The Investigo diary is full on great events from Charity days, through to family days and many more, but The Grove is definitely one of the highlights throughout the year! - The day time was very fun with sports day style games including sumo wrestling suits which provided lots of laughs - Great to get involved with the regions and meet other people in the business by having them on your team - We had the pool area booked out with a DJ playing for the rest of the afternoon making it feel like an Ibiza style event - We are generally very lucky to be able to stay overnight at a venue like The Grove and make full use of the spa the next day for free!

    Cons

    - Often the excitement throughout the day means that people don't stay on their table for the 3 course dinner, so it might be nice to have a more relaxed dinner scenario No Cons though - this is a fantastic day and night

    Investigo Response

    November 20, 2019Senior Marketing Executive

    Thank you for leaving us a (5 Star!) review on our Summer conference we are thrilled you enjoyed it. It's even more appreciated given your tenure with us, you must have seen a fair few Investigo dos and it's great to know we've got it right. The pool party was a fabulous addition to this years line up and how lucky were we with the weather. Thank you for the feedback on the evening arrangements. Whilst we did adopt a more relaxed 'summer smooth' vibe this year, rather than previous black tie set up you can't blame people for wanting to get out into the rare warm evening air. Perhaps a BBQ would work better, we're open to suggestions!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "My thoughts so far"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategy Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have spent the last 3 years in recruitment, working for a classic "boiler room" rec firm and I was internally referred by an ex colleague. What attracted me to Investigo firstly was the interview process. The questioning was professional and really tailored around my motivations and career goals. We worked out together how Investigo would be able to develop me as a recruiter and so far the support they've given me is excellent. I met with 3 senior members initially, which was then followed by a social to meet the wider group and a tour of the sales floor. For me this was a great initial indication of their commitment to hiring the best consultants. Also no other company I interviewed with did this, it's a nice touch. It is a totally grown up environment, you are treated like business owners just guided and advised rather than micromanaged. I've been invited to 5 training classes along with 3 team events all within the initial 4 weeks. The Directors and managers I work with are complete experts in their field. In the first week I learnt more from my manager than I did in 3 years at my old firm. So far it's the best career move I've ever made.

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of one.

    Continue reading

    Investigo Response

    June 3, 2019Senior Marketing Executive

    Fantastic to hear that your move to Investigo has been successful. It sounds a lot like you have found a place from which to grow and develop your career and we hope you do so with us. Always great to get an insight into the interview process from an interviewees point of view and even better to hear we got it spot on for you. We do pride ourselves on our individual based rather than a one size fits all approach both throughout the interview process and your career. We hope you continue to learn and be inspired at Investigo

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time

    Pros

    Great people & very collegiate environment

    Cons

    Still feel that there's too much favouritism & the business is a bit cliquey at time. Investigo is also becoming too LTIP focussed - I feel like people are now pawns in an LTIP game. Nobody has sat down with me to discuss my path in the business & what my personal development plan is.

    Continue reading

    Investigo Response

    May 3, 2019Senior Marketing Executive

    As always we appreciate you taking the opportunity to use Glassdoor to provide us with your candid feedback, thank you for doing so. You’ve been kind enough to give us four stars as a business so we are delighted to see we are still getting it mostly right for you. I did want to address some of your concerns and see if we can find a way in which to remedy them going forward. We are lucky enough to have great people like yourself here and absolutely want to foster a collegiate environment. This sort of culture naturally creates friendships and bonds, we even run programmes internally to encourage these bonds such as the buddy scheme for new starters, InvestiGay and the Future Leaders Forum. That said inclusivity is paramount and Investigo works continually to ensure we remain a meritocracy and not one based on favouritism. If we are failing in this we want to address it immediately. You refer a couple of times to a feeling of lack of support in your career and personal development and this is concern. As a Senior Consultant you will be invited to the quarterly Future Leaders Forum. This is designed specifically to provide our Senior Consultants with not only the tools and training that will allow them to progress but also an avenue for open and frank discussions regarding progression and business plans with their peer group, if you haven’t been yet it is well worth your time. Alongside this our L&D team hold regular one to one sessions to facilitate and advise on the next steps for development and all of this should be alongside support and guidance of your line manager. As with all support offered it is a two way street, but if you feel you are unable to approach the established channels for this we want to offer you an alternative. All these reviews are completely anonymous, we cannot specifically identify you to work on the areas you highlight but we want to offer some tangible solutions. Firstly I can assure you all review feedback is taken extremely seriously and measures will be taken to address concerns, especially those repeatedly cited. Secondly we would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you personally, if you feel comfortable in doing that please contact Lisa Holberton for a confidential conversation.

  10. Helpful (8)

    "Culture needs to change"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent commission structure if you're a TOP biller (if you're not then the thresh hold makes earning commission a hard slog) Fantastic marketing team The work put in to fundraising for the selected charity each year is amazing

    Cons

    High turn over of staff due to the increasingly toxic culture No longer recruit based on talent / skill but more to reach headcount targets Internal politics are very time consuming - shouldn't have to worry about colleagues poaching your jobs and clients As headcount has grown and more managers and directors are brought in from external sources, it has turned into a KPI managed business

    Continue reading

    Investigo Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Marketing Executive

    Thank you for taking to time to leave us a review, we appreciate your insights and most importantly want to look at how we can improve your experience. From the details above I can see you have been with us for over 3 years and will no doubt be an established part of the Investigo team. It is vital for us to gain an understanding as to what has changed for you and what we can work on going forward. You can be rest assured we never want to see our culture referred to as ‘increasingly toxic’, as our culture is usually a welcome fixture in the ‘Pros’ list and something we are incredible proud of. We can see from your review that it is not all ‘Cons’ and thank you for the positive comments. If we could take this opportunity to address some of the less positive feedback. We are a growing business, at our largest headcount to date, developing new markets and diversifying our offerings. Evolving will always create a degree of change which can be challenging for a time. Whilst we all settle into the new opportunities these changes offer we can expect a degree of disruption, new parameters and understandings are being scoped out and established areas are changing to cope with an evolving market. That is not to say anyone should be made to feel like a cog in a wheel, our success now as always, will be down to the skill and expertise of our people. As we have said before the beauty of Glassdoor reviews are the anonymity and the frankness this allows, we can act generically to improve on areas that need our attention and that is great. What would be even better is if you felt you could speak to someone ‘neutral’ within the business, in the strictest confidence it will remain anonymous. If you feel you are able to we would like to ask you to contact Lisa Holberton so we look to remedy some of your concerns.

Found 99 reviews