Iress Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 3 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 of over 329 reviews

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Iress CEO Andrew Walsh
Andrew Walsh
208 Ratings
Pros
  • "The desire to deliver excellent customer experiences coupled with a positive, supportive working environment makes for a great combination(in 29 reviews)

  • "Strong community culture, flexible working patterns and dedicated professional teams(in 22 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Career progression can be harder if you are not a programmer or developer(in 11 reviews)

  • "Need to be mindful of work/life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to work

      13 Sep 2020 - Engineering Team Lead in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Flexible timings - Fully Agile - Great Supportive environment - Awesome culture and friendly people - Great location as well - Good work life balance

      Cons

      - Compensation is less than the same role in other companies

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Iress Response

      CEO

      Thanks for your feedback and great to have you part of the team! Our approach to compensation, we focus on providing a total package (covering salary, benefits, growth, opportunity, flexibility, working environment etc) and keen to chat on it with you.

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company

      3 Jan 2021 - Senior Test Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work life balance, good start point to get involved in financial market

      Cons

      $$$, and career development chances not so great

      2 people found this review helpful

      Iress Response

      CEO

      Thanks for your feedback. Career development is massively important at Iress, and the opportunities are there for those who want to grow. When it comes to rem, our approach is based around providing a total package (covering salary, benefits, growth, opportunity, flexibility, working environment etc) that rewards everyone for their contribution.

    3. 4.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Nice culture and good working environment

      7 Dec 2020 - QA Analyst in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance, relaxed job, nice work collogues and good company culture,

      Cons

      Changing situations and all your work might go in vain

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work, great tech and awesome people

      16 Dec 2019 - Engineering in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great learning opportunities - Agile development environment - Get to use AWS and new technology - FinTech environment - Huge potential for innovation - Team autonomy / flat structures - table tennis comps!

      Cons

      - Need to be mindful of work/life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      One of the best companies in Australia to work

      14 Nov 2019 - Graduate Software Engineer in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, people, work-life balance, growth opportunities, training by company, flexible working hours

      Cons

      I do not know anything so far. Maybe legacy code

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Iress Response

      CEO

      Thanks for taking the time. Great to hear that you have settled in - I love the energy, skill and outlook our graduates bring to Iress. Quality needs to always be upheld.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      An exciting place to work and grow

      23 Apr 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - the company culture encourages innovation and diversity. - lots of smart people who are also very friendly. many community events - fantastic CEO - visionary and approachable - modern workplace, technologies used have been evolving dramatically for the past 5 years - free fruits, coffee, Friday drinks and etc. - paid leaves etc. for example you get ~8 day paid leave when your kid starts school. - flexible working is supported - plenty opportunities to learn and grow (if you choose to)

      Cons

      - it can be overwhelming to keep up in a fast-paced place and sometime you just lose the work/life balance inadvertently

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Iress Response

      CEO

      Thanks for listing a variety of positives in your experience at IRESS. I am proud to read innovation, diversity, flexibility, leave and learning and growth. Things are pretty fast-paced (in the world too) but this needs to stay in control...if you ever feel yourself overwhelmed, make sure you discuss it with your people leader to help work through priorities.

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Help desk support for 2 years

      18 Nov 2019 - Support in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, good work-life balance and some great people in the team.

      Cons

      Lack of career growth, cocky upper management, projects become very slow to implement, pay is sub-par.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Iress Response

      CEO

      Thanks for taking the time to feed back. I'd like to understand more context of your comments. I will be in Melbourne tomorrow afternoon if this works for you - please contact me or a member of the People team so we can talk in more detail.

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Pretentious company

      17 Apr 2019 - Senior Full Stack Developer in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It has a relaxed environment with good work/life balance.

      Cons

      Advancing the career is quite tough. Have seen people who doesn't deserve to be promoted and those who do the real work, a lot of excuses and little or no raise. The compensation is average and the benefits are not as good as claimed. When your work depends on another team, it's painfully slow and cumbersome. In a nutshell, they oversell the culture and values. It sounds great on paper, the reality however, is far from it.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Iress Response

      CEO

      I’m disappointed to read your perspective/experience and meeting expectations in engineering - these aren't what I see and hear. In our most recent people surveys, 80% of people said IRESS they believed our values were important to us and 74% said they were proud to work for IRESS. Our focus regarding reward is on providing a total package covering pay, benefits and many other aspects (including growth, development, flexibility and opportunity). It would be good to chat further about the specifics of your comments around advancing your career and being hindered by others teams - let me know on SLACK if you want to discuss over a coffee.

    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Worst place to work

      19 Feb 2019 - Senior Software Engineer in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Some are really nice except few - Upper management is controlled by Bosses not Leaders

      Cons

      - Few people leaders are worst and stand at door to check your office timings. If you're 10 seconds late then you'll be called for meetings and threatened to fire. - Seniors have the mentality of my way or highway, if you've any opinion then please keep to yourself. - No work life balance as you're forced to work more than 9 hours a day because we don't have a choice - Last person promoted in this company is 40+ years old so NO GROWTH - Lower than market standard salaries - Checking time on mobile device in meeting is considered under performance - They offer performance checkins twice a year but you will always be under performing according to them - Many good engineers have resigned within last 8 months so retention rate is very low.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Iress Response

      CEO

      I am very interested in your feedback as it does seem to contradict the views of your colleagues at IRESS based on our most recent people surveys where 73% of people said their ideas and opinions counted and 79% said they have the flexibility to manage their work/life balance. Some of most important projects have tech leadership across all ages and so even more interested in your perspective. Give me a call.

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A not bad Aus local IT company

      18 May 2019 - Software in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance(depends on teams) Friendly colleagues

      Cons

      Pay is too low Tech is old(depends on team) Not driven by tech

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Iress Response

      CEO

      While we may have started in Australia we now operate internationally with half of our people ex-Australia. We are a technology company with more than 50% of our people in prod or tech roles, but agree that business outcomes for clients are what drive us. In terms of pay, we focus on providing a total package covering salary, incentives, benefits and other aspects including development, flexibility & opportunity. Thanks for taking the time to give feedback.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 27 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Iress Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Iress? Share Your Experiences

    Iress logo
    or