Iress Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated 1 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
90%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Iress CEO Andrew Walsh
Andrew Walsh
157 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "One of the best IT company in Australia"

    5.0
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress for less than a year

    Pros

    A very good working environment in Iress

    Cons

    Promotions are quite slow, it takes long to promote on the next level.

    Iress Response

    August 10, 2020CEO

    I agree! Thanks for your feedback. We look to provide an environment that is supportive, encourages growth, and enables everyone to contribute.

  2. "Software Engineer in Iress"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Melbourne

    I have been working at Iress full-time

    Pros

    - Friendly working environment - Flexible working hours

    Cons

    - Growth path is not clear

    Iress Response

    August 10, 2020CEO

    Great to hear you are enjoying working at Iress. Ensuring available growth opportunities for everyone is important, and defining clear and suitable career paths is a priority for us. Please reach out to discuss further.


  3. "Great Flexible Work Environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Developer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Work Environment Opportunity to work with latest technologies Supportive People Leader

    Cons

    Can't think of any con.

    Iress Response

    May 5, 2020CEO

    Thanks for your feedback. It is great to read what you have highlighted as contributors to a positive experience at Iress.

  4. "Great Work environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Appreciate the quality of work over quantity Flexibility in terms of working hours. Option to work from home if required. Newly renovated office space. Yearly Global Hackathon

    Cons

    Employee benefits and discounts are not that many

    Iress Response

    August 4, 2019CEO

    Thanks for your comments and identification of quality over quantity.

  5. "Not too bad overall"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time

    Pros

    Relaxing work environment, options to work from home or anywhere else. Hot desking, brand new office with games, large area for lunch, lots of free food activities and employee engagement

    Cons

    Lower salary, no job advancement

    Iress Response

    May 4, 2019CEO

    Thanks for your comments. We are focused on ensuring everyone is paid fairly for their contribution and also has the opportunity to grow and develop. I’d love to understand the context to your comments, so please contact me if happy to chat.

  6. "Analyst"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Fantastic culture and work environment - Friendly colleagues and support from senior management

    Cons

    - Diet coke usually runs out too quicky in the machine -Nothing really

    Iress Response

    March 16, 2019CEO

    Thanks for your feedback. It’s great to hear you are enjoying IRESS so much. Will see what we can do about the diet coke supplies :-)

  7. Helpful (10)

    "Low pay, not enough benefits"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Iress full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Flexibility. Allow people working remotely, which is good especially for those having young kids. * Team mates are friendly, nice working environment. * A lot of smart people to work with.

    Cons

    * Poor pay. Much lower than average, pay raise is small every year. When discussing with managers, they said company is not making enough money to give a good pay raise, but they just renovated the office and get everyone an expensive laptop... * There was a bonus system (although still just a little bit money), but not anymore. * Some people that don't do much work but are paid a lot, and some people are doing actual work get paid not well, which make people disappointed. * High turn over rate. A lot of experienced developers left the company. Some of them were made redundant, and were replaced by new employees with much smaller package. * Employee benefit was not as good as it used to be a few years ago, and are getting worse. Free soft drinks are now 50 cents, and the money goes to charity. Pizza used to be Crust, now is Domino..... I believe a big company like IRESS doesn't lack such a small amount of money. * Lacking of communication between teams. If requires help from other teams, from official channel would take ages, it's much easier if you have a friend in that team. * When a production issue happens, teams are throwing the ball to each other * Not much career progression.

    Continue reading

    Iress Response

    August 26, 2018CEO

    We’re consider our pay and benefits package to be competitive, and the new remuneration model we introduced earlier this year brings even more focus to this. When it comes to communication and collaboration, we recognise there are always more ways to improve, but my personal experience with teams sees very positive collaboration directed to great client outcomes. I can assure you that we recognise the value of teamwork and the diverse range of experience, talent and expertise we have. Thanks for your feedback.

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Good place to start a career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice working environment. Nice people.

    Cons

    Legacy and poor quality code.

    Continue reading

    Iress Response

    August 5, 2018CEO

    Thanks for your feedback. I’d love to understand more about how you see the balance between employee benefits and product quality - I actually see them as linked and both important. Please contact me if you’re happy to discuss further.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great people and place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great people - Great culture - Great office Generally relaxed work environment.

    Cons

    - Pay - Complicated legacy systems (true for pretty much everywhere though) That is pretty much it.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Business Analyst"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iress full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work environment, not expected to work long hours, well established company with good job security

    Cons

    Salaries are well below average for the industry, and management positions are always filled externally and so there is no chance of career progression.

    Continue reading

    Iress Response

    July 19, 2017CEO

    Continuing to provide the right reward, appropriate career progression, and a broad range of challenging opportunities are important elements for us. There will be always be instances where individuals feel there is more we can do and your views illustrate this. All the best for the next stage in your career.

Found 24 reviews