J D Wetherspoon Associate Reviews

Updated 4 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
200 Ratings
  1. "Good management = good experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Birmingham, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - met some lifelong friends from working at Wetherspoons throughout my teenage years into my 20s - absolutely great with transfers, so was extremely useful for me when going to university and back home - employee discount of 20% off drinks off shift and 50% off food whilst on shift

    Cons

    - had some very questionable managers who made my time there not as enjoyable, i.e. 12 hour shifts of constant work, lack of breaks - the clientele, as expected, tends not to be the greatest, so if you are preparing to work at a Wetherspoons, go in with a thick skin - most of the hours available were for during the evening/night and at the weekend, so if you want the most hours, expect to lose your weekends, too

    J D Wetherspoon2020-06-04
  2. "Good Experience"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Very good company to work for. Decent pay for under 18.

    Cons

    No cons - had very good experience

    J D Wetherspoon2020-06-03
  3. "Bar Associate"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Staff benefits, such as discount and free meal and drink on shift Opportunities to progress Monthly bonuses

    Cons

    Unsocial working hours Drunk and disorderly customers

    J D Wetherspoon2020-05-21
  4. "Great Job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Wakefield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I personally enjoy the job, it's nothing fancy but it can lead to a career with high pay if this industry is for you. The job itself is simple but can be stressful if it's busy or other members of staff don't contribute. Lots of overtime. Better than minimum wage pay, not much better though.

    Cons

    Often times there are shifts that are so short there's almost no point and other times incredibly long shifts with no pattern, so not great for a work life balance. often times while busy i do need to leave my break and either leave early or get paid the difference.

    J D Wetherspoon2020-05-11
  5. "Velvet coaster"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    KEY NOT FOUND: reviews.temporary-current - Bar Associate in Blackpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Good pay and Excellent management

    Cons

    Hard to pick up hours regularly

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2020-05-08
  6. "Whetherspoons employee review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Wage is decent, free food

    Cons

    The general public can be a pain

    J D Wetherspoon2020-05-17
  7. "Good benefits and Pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Higher than minimum wage pay Free meals 20% discount Extra pay for working late

    Cons

    Bad management Strict staff Customers can be rude

    J D Wetherspoon2020-04-30
  8. "Good job whilst juggling uni work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Cannock, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - valuable experience in hospitality - well paid and above minimum wage for part time work - regular opportunities to grow

    Cons

    - can be unsocial working hours

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2020-04-27
  9. "Fine"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Honestly, decent and is exactly what you expect.

    Cons

    Pay could be improved slightly.

    J D Wetherspoon2020-05-08
  10. "Fine for students"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Floor Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Occasionally get bonus pay, potential for career progression

    Cons

    Terrible hours, hard work, customers are all drunks and can be cliquey

    J D Wetherspoon2020-04-23
Found 483 reviews