J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Find jobs for Bar Associate

J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews

Updated 9 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 236 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
102 Ratings
  1. "Reliable work, got the hours needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, high pay for bar work, good social aspect

    Cons

    Hard to manage due to worker to management ratio Customers are often rude

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-27
  2. "Unfriendly bar management team , busy , friendly associates (York Postern Gate)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in York, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Discounted meals are useful on the low wages

    Cons

    No proper training ....just get on with it Staff room appallingly small , you are supposed to eat in the same place sweaty colleagues are changing clothes , male and female in this barely 2m2 little cubicle of a room. Management seemed to talk to me only when I had made mistakes Because of owner some members of staff have jumped on the anti-foreign bandwagon

    Advice to Management

    Embrace all people

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-09
  3. "Floor Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent weekly pay and Flexible hours

    Cons

    Can be boring and less availability to work on the bar

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-22
  4. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    decent environment for working in

    Cons

    always closing, so get home late

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-21
  5. "Bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Good for overall development

    Cons

    Easy to get stuck in the job

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-15
  6. "Not amazing but not the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Bar/Floor Associate 

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

      Pros

      Can earn good bonuses and hours are flexible

      Cons

      Not every pub I've worked in has been the same, its all down to management style and so some are worse than others

      J D Wetherspoon2019-05-29
    • "If you fit the part then sure, if not AVOID"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Bar Associate 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good pay, frequent bonuses, 50% off meals

      Cons

      Long shift hours, Very rude customers, Finishing at 3AM, Management pick who they like and treat the rest like dirt, for example I requested to be bar trained but was refused due to having a little facial hair, which I shaved off and was still refused. Management granted me holidays but then took my last day of my holiday away without advising me and I got a disciplinary for not turning up for work, Shift patterns are...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Speak with your staff about issues instead of jumping the gun on certain issues you have with them. Treat all staff equally regardless of facial hair or any appearance, Stop speaking to staff like children, Work out fair shift patterns instead of random each week. Take the time to actually thoroughly train your staff instead of throwing them in the deep end.

      J D Wetherspoon2019-05-23
    • "Awful"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Bar Associate in Canterbury, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      20% discount, and nothing else

      Cons

      Literally everything except the discount

      J D Wetherspoon2019-06-09
    • "Friendly Environment but management tend to delegate a lot"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Bar Associate in Leicester, England

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Fun working environment There are some available bonus such £1 extra for hours after 12

      Cons

      associates tend to get the dirty unwanted jobs

      J D Wetherspoon2019-05-13
    • "Bar associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Bar Associate 

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

      Pros

      Good hours Flexible Fun environment

      Cons

      Bad customers Management issues

      J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      Many thanks for your comments. It’s good to hear that you feel the hours are good and there is flexibility with shifts. However, there are a couple of points that you have raised which we would like to look into further. Please get in touch so that we can understand more @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

    Found 236 reviews