J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Associate Reviews

Updated 21 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
40 Ratings
  1. "Hard work but good team dynamic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Lots of hours, good team dynamic.

      Cons

      Management can be inflexible and lacking in situational leadership skills.

      J D Wetherspoon2019-06-22
    • "Good pay, stressful sometimes"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Kitchen Associate 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great pay, mid-shifts are easy enough if you have a good team with you. Good employee discount, especially on shift.

      Cons

      Often don't get out of work until 2am on weekends, can be asked to work 10 hour shifts, long closedown procedure, some time pressure during rush hours as meals have to be cooked within 10 minutes.

      J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07
    • "JD Wetherspoon"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Liverpool, England
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Monthly Bonus (depends on the pub performance)

      Cons

      Long hours weekend/bank holiday work no extra pay for bank holiday

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-20

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      We are pleased to hear you are benefitting from the bonus scheme. Many thanks for the feedback.

    • "Brilliant but Tough Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Kitchen Associate 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Excellent bonus scheme based on overall pub performance Flexible Holiday Scheme Good pay

      Cons

      Long hours Potentially very late finishes High pressure

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-12

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      We really appreciate your comments in relation to the remuneration and benefits you receive. We are extremely proud of the pub performances achieved and that over 80% of our employees benefit from the bonus scheme in recognition of this.

    • "Spoons."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Worcester, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -Flexible working hours - Meet a lot of new faces - Develop interpersonal skills

      Cons

      - Unsociable hours - Not challenging

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-12

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      We are pleased that you have taken advantage of the ability to work flexibly, something that we offer all our employees as we know it is important to them.

    • "Bar/Kitchen Staff"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Coventry, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Decent hourly pay, 20% discount off-duty, 50% discount on-duty

      Cons

      Stressful workplace, Late rotas, understaffed

      Advice to Management

      Post rotas 3 weeks early as promised, hire enough people, take care of your employees

      J D Wetherspoon2019-03-21
    • "Wouldn't recommend"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Brighton, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Work/Life balance okay dependent on your hours Discounts on food and drink on shift (50%) and off (20%)

      Cons

      Little to no guidance for new staff Disrespectful senior staff No clean or individual uniforms Long hours, minimal breaks (unless you smoke) Loud, irritating music played in kitchen

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-18

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. If you would like to discuss further the points you have raised, please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

    • "Great for students and people who do not care about the job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      JD Wetherspoon tends to employ young people, who are just working there part-time whilst studying, or over the summer only, this creating new friendships with people. Decent pay too.

      Cons

      Management is under a lot of pressure, which reflects on the associates. Everyone tends to be stressed out or just upset. Working for the company for 4 years, I haven't met a person who enjoyed working at the company. And I have seen a lot of people come and go (some not even lasting one shift)

      J D Wetherspoon2019-03-13
    • "Not awful"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      GMH contract, so you know you'll be getting certain hours each week

      Cons

      Management are forced to only care about profit, long shifts and late nights with not a lot of room for flexibility

      J D Wetherspoon2019-02-24

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      March 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      Thank you for your comments and if you would like to speak to us about your shifts please contact us PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

    • "Horrible."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Haverfordwest, Wales
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon for less than a year

      Pros

      There is never a dull moment, always working.

      Cons

      Staff were extremely unprofessional by breaking staff rules. They see you as a number, not as someone who needs money to pay bills. Very mismanaged.

      Advice to Management

      Follow staff rules.

      J D Wetherspoon2019-03-02
    Found 97 reviews