J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Find jobs for Kitchen Manager

J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Manager Reviews

Updated 27 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
15 Ratings
  1. "Unfairness throughout"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job stability Well paid Good friends to be made

    Cons

    Never stick to their policies Unloyal Poor breaks No well being No work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you prwCh

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-27
  2. "Will be well looked after"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Living wage, GMH, associate promise

    Cons

    The usual working in hospitality issues

    Advice to Management

    Make sure the managers also feel the benefits of the associate promise

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your comments. All employees are offered GMH which is really popular.

  3. "Horrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay, not much else

    Cons

    Long hours, no support from other managers, working overtime to complete tasks

    Advice to Management

    One team

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-01

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are sorry things did not work out for you and wish you all the best for the future.

  4. "Competitive for this industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Multiple regular performance based bonuses and free shares

    Cons

    Pressure to make return on investment.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-14

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 5, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your hard work and we hope you continue to benefit from the bonus scheme.

  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Career progression is great. - hours are good. - bonuses monthly and after each audit. - great training - salary very competitive for the pub trade.

    Cons

    - poor management who seem to get away with anything.

    Advice to Management

    Pub managers should be monitored more closely to avoid issues.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "`"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Recommends

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you're willing to work hard and graft then you will get places in this company

    Cons

    The higher up you get the more polliticking does come into factor unfortunately

    J D Wetherspoon2018-10-12

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    October 23, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback

  7. "Kitchen manager review of job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Oakham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity to progress within

    Cons

    The hours and be unsociable

    Advice to Management

    None

    J D Wetherspoon2018-07-12
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Well where do you start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discounts Staff working together Can make great friends

    Cons

    Really late finishes Middle management As a manager I was told where to go so I was moved many times to different kitchens. I wasn’t asked I wasn’t consulted and some of the area managers or unbelieveable, sly and thinking of their watching their own cause. Said they would take note and help but nothing ever materialised. Myself and one of my pub managers who we both no long work for the company had a great working...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Area managers have to work to the pubs.. not for them selves.. support more to acheive more.. not scare mongering staff to acheive their goals

    J D Wetherspoon2018-08-10
  9. "Kitchen manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Colwyn Bay, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very good benefits, 5% of your salary on shares, several bonus schemes, very good pension prospects, overall really good perks

    Cons

    Difficult to climb any higher, looking into rcm is really difficult as there are very few positions available and very difficult to find info on them

    Advice to Management

    For all of you wanting to climb up the managerial ladder this company offers a good set of incentives for both bar and kitchen

    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-22

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback

  10. Helpful (2)

    "If you’re not “in” it you get pushed a side"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Training scheme Bonus Scheme additional benefits; childcare vouchers, discount on food and drinks on and off shift. GMH contracts for non salaried staff.

    Cons

    No work life balance. No overtime for salaried staff. Unrealistic expectations One rule for one another for another.

    Advice to Management

    Being micro managed who is inconsistent on what is wanted so therefore completing a task or several but then mind changes halfway through. A lot of time wasted on indecisiveness. No added support to create a happy work life balance. If you are not part of the “groupie” then be prepared to be pushed a side and not advance in your career possibly suffer being Managed instead for all the hard work that makes other people...

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

Found 21 reviews