J D Wetherspoon Bar/Floor Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 13 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1182 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
486 Ratings
  1. "Team leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Struggling to find any pros for this place

    Cons

    Backstabbing environment, based on favourism

    Advice to Management

    Find something better to do with your lives

    J D Wetherspoon2017-06-23

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 4, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    We are sorry you had such a negative experience

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Self esteem crushing, life ruining, and overall frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cross Trained Bar and Kitchen Associate in St Helens
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good employee bonus scheme Flexible shift patterns Good opportunities for career progression if you have the personality of a robot

    Cons

    Unpredictable hours - I and others routinely would go from working 48 hour weeks to 16 hour weeks with no warning of hours being cut Constantly understaffed - the managers were given unrealistic budgets with as many cuts as possible to maximize profit regardless of the expense to its employees Overworked, unhappy employees - Never worked with one single employee who was happy working for this company Incompetent...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to what your associate staff have to say instead of ignoring constant mistreatment of employees by pub managers

    J D Wetherspoon2013-08-16
  3. "Shift manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good bonus Good training Easy progression

    Cons

    Drunk customers Hour cuts Wants more for less

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-14
  4. "Duty manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager in Chard, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great sociable and friendly environment

    Cons

    Can work long and unsociable hours

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-13
  5. "Great. Just slightly rough around the edges."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Lymington, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The incentives over time and the competitive pay is more than enough to deter anyone from going to a rival.

    Cons

    It can be challenging at certain times, but again I think this happens industry wide.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-12
  6. "enjoyment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in Dunstable, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    meeting all types of people and enjoy my team of colleagues

    Cons

    some customers can be quite rude

    Advice to Management

    the hours should be on a more stable rota I can work start shift , mid shift and finish shift all in one week

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-07
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Recommends

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for people just starting

    Cons

    Under staff issues making work stress

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-06
  8. "Lloyd’s Wetherspoons *****"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar and Advanced Associate in Carlisle, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I spent around 10/11 months working at Wetherspoons, I spent my first 3 months working on the floor as I was under 18 and then stared to work on bar shortly after turning 18. I would recommend this job to anyone, I have made so many friends and would consider them to be my best friends over the past year and would have stayed for longer if I could. My only reason for leaving was due to my living arrangements. Managers...

    Show More

    Cons

    There are no cons that I could think of for this job

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-05
  9. "Fun as a part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Waitress 

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Half price food friendly staff always busy

      Cons

      Long hours unfriendly bossy management did not book holiday off asked for

      J D Wetherspoon2019-06-11
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Associate 

        I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

        Pros

        Pay is very good and get bonus

        Cons

        Shifts didn’t suit me during night

        J D Wetherspoon2019-05-28
      Found 1182 reviews