J D Wetherspoon Bar/Floor Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 15 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1307 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
535 Ratings
  1. "Team leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Struggling to find any pros for this place

    Cons

    Backstabbing environment, based on favourism

    Advice to Management

    Find something better to do with your lives

    J D Wetherspoon2017-06-23

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 4, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    We are sorry you had such a negative experience

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Self esteem crushing, life ruining, and overall frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cross Trained Bar and Kitchen Associate in St Helens
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good employee bonus scheme Flexible shift patterns Good opportunities for career progression if you have the personality of a robot

    Cons

    Unpredictable hours - I and others routinely would go from working 48 hour weeks to 16 hour weeks with no warning of hours being cut Constantly understaffed - the managers were given unrealistic budgets with as many cuts as possible to maximize profit regardless of the expense to its employees Overworked, unhappy employees - Never worked with one single employee who was happy working for this... company Incompetent managers - Most of them are complete idiots with no idea when it comes to leadership and organization. More training required. Unfortunately these problems are across the board as I have worked in several pubs for this company, both front of house and back of house, all with the same issues

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to what your associate staff have to say instead of ignoring constant mistreatment of employees by pub managers

    J D Wetherspoon2013-08-16
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Money is ok, the people you work with are the best part about the job where every day is different. Company culture would be good if it was upheld in every pub (which it’s not). Training schemes are good and pay can be ok

    Cons

    Bonuses would be good if ever able to achieve them Under pressure to perform, blame culture when something goes wrong, long hours, shift patterns can be awful

    Advice to Management

    Stop blaming someone else when things go wrong - teach people the right way

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-13
  4. "The life and times of a shift manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Training is first class you can progress as far as possible if you you are willing to put in the work

    Cons

    Long hours although the working week has recently come down to 40 hours

    Advice to Management

    It's hard going you have to work on the bar a d floor while still managing management duties like appraisals disciplinarys rotas etc

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-12
  5. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Rickmansworth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary Bonuses Training courses Apprenticeship scheme 40 hour week Perks

    Cons

    Clientele, Shift patterns, High staff turnover, Highly stressful at times mixed with lack of sleep

    Advice to Management

    Make the most of the courses and training available

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-12
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Teignmouth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay Discounts Free food on 6+ hours shifts

    Cons

    Can be a bit stressful

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-11
  7. "Great for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Floor Staff 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    can pick up and swap pretty much as many shifts as you want

    Cons

    minimum wage, my part time job wouldnt have been enough to live off without student loan

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-10
  8. "King and Castle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    pay, bonus if your organisation achieves inspection

    Cons

    rota less than 2 days in advance sometimes

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-08
  9. "Great comp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good bonus, company looks after you, worth the career with plenty of opportunities if you put in the effort and the work, it will reward you with plenty of tra sferrabkw skills

    Cons

    Late nights mainly, be confident in dealing with customer complaints/aggression

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-07
  10. "It’s alright really"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Telford, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Worked at my local spoons for 5 years. Good pay, bonuses are okay, flexible working I’ve got kids so this works out well. Always busy love it..

    Cons

    someone’s always ringing in sick so constantly understaffed 🙃

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-06
Found 1307 reviews