J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 21 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1322 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
542 Ratings
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Colchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    weekly pay was very good

    Cons

    unsoical hours but you are working at a pub

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-06
  2. "rigidly set management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good hourly pay in London flexible hours

    Cons

    a biting culture difficult to progress

    Advice to Management

    care more about workers and harassment

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-19
  3. "Good work for part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in Ealing, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food on shifts longer than 6 hours meaning you never go hungry when working till late in the evening. It also has a friendly, social environment perfect for students and those new to the area.

    Cons

    During busy periods workloads can become very stressful as you are required to collect plates and glasses whilst serving drinks and serving many large food orders.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-20
  4. "JD Wetherspoon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not only do you get a great discount you can I have flexible hours and if you want to progress you can do so very very quick

    Cons

    How busy we get quickly if it’s not staff the right you really can get overwhelmed

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-04
  5. "Pros and Cons Come In Abundance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Duty Manager in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good starting salary Attainable bonus monthly/quarterly Clear Progression Worked with and met some fantastic people. Food and drink discounts both on shift and in personal time.

    Cons

    Selling your life Training not great Long hours Stressful work Often understaffed Senior management spend too much time hiding in office ''working'' rather doing what they are paid to in managing people and the venue. Also felt that there is a bit of of club where by if you are not in it then you are a true outsider. I found that as management changed they were pushing out old staff to bring friends in to... create an ecosystem that suited them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Not enough time developing talent to see people excel. Far too much just pushing people in a direction and expecting them to take everything in and be a vat of knowledge that makes zero mistakes. Far too much time with people ringing you up in free time asking things or asking you to cover because the amount of people going on the sick with stress related illness is ridiculous. So better training so people can do... their jobs correctly, better support on site or online for people for both personal and professional issues that may arise to keep the workforce happy and functioning.

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-18
  6. "Bar/ Floor staff review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Birmingham, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay, long shifts, flexible hours and proper breaks

    Cons

    Can get very busy at time

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-03
  7. "50/50"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grade IV Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for! They look after you. Great bonus scheme:)

    Cons

    Unsociable hours and high staff turnover

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-01
  8. "Neither good nor bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Watford, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay is always a bonus, but management are always being told to cut hours, so sometimes there were people barley making enough to pay rent. If you were friendly with the manager of your pub would always mean you got a say in your hours etc

    Cons

    Very little in the way of motivation to make you improve, expected to undertake what is generally an easy role that does not provide much satisfaction, thus a little encouragement or gratitude from management wouldn't go amiss

    Advice to Management

    Be more engaged with employees, and less hiding in the office doing paper work...

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-15
  9. "It's a good job but a lot as changed. I've been working here nearly 12 years now."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Bootle, Merseyside, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Bonus,shares,pay, training programmes my jdw helps alot, the staff you work with makes your day 10 times better, benefits. Great progression opportunities.

    Cons

    Lack of hours Poor rotas Unfair rotas No work life balance (no matter how hard they try) although the hours have recently cut to 40. Long hours

    Advice to Management

    Think they expect too much of the management team. You cant keep expecting us to run pubs on less hours every week hours are getting taken from us cause we aren't making enough money but the pubs are always busy because the prices are so low. Soon the associates will be on more than us. They expect so much from so little. It is hard at times but we always manage to get where we are supposed to be as a team. But it... is really difficult at times.

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-15
  10. "Bartender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Bedford, England

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun job. Get to make a variety of exciting drinks

    Cons

    Too much favouritism and biased decision

    Advice to Management

    Stop the favouritism

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-15
Found 1322 reviews