J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1183 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
486 Ratings
  1. "Good, but it depends on the pub"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay for your position Progression opportunities can be plentiful Good bonus scheme and discounts

    Cons

    Unsociable hours, sometimes rotas can be established only last minute

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-27

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    It’s great to know that the things we have invested in such as rates of pay and bonus are valued. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review

  2. "Spoons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free food Busy Fun Good for meeting people Discount Shares

    Cons

    Hours Late finishes Poor upper management Abuse by customers Work life balance

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    It’s great to know that the things we have invested in such as shares and employee discount are valued. However, there are some points you have raised which we would like to look into further. Please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  3. "Shift manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in London, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Free shares for long term employees Can be very flexible to ensure a healthy work/home life balance

    Cons

    New 40 hour working week works well, however the expected shift pattern may not suit every manager yet we're not given the choice to make changes. For example, some managers have childcare that may not fit around two days off in a row etc Increase in staff pay leads to cutbacks on hours - you're expected to work twice as hard on busy sessions because the pub still needs to make profit which is exhausting both managers...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give management their own choice if they wish to have split days off rather than two in a row

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-10

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. If you would like to discuss flexible working please get in touch with the personnel advisor team at PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  4. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Make decent friends, have a good laugh

    Cons

    Pay is awful, there is no work life balance. Expecting to drop everything for them. 90+ hours a week, no progression no matter how long or hard you work,

    Advice to Management

    Respect staff’s need to have a life and give full time staff the correct hours not to all the parttime.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-10

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. There are some points you have raised which we would like to look into further. Please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  5. "A good starting point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Learnt a lot about customer service, gained a lot of confidence

    Cons

    Work life balance was non existent

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-09
  6. "Kitchen staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff in Wallasey, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible working hours are available

    Cons

    Not many hours of work

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-24

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We know flexible working patterns are really important to our staff. It’s great to know this is working for you.

  7. "Wetherspoon review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The work environment is very good and the managers are always friendly and there has never been any issues related to my availability when having more uni work

    Cons

    It gets really busy sometimes

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-23

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    It is great that you are enjoying the role and have the flexibility to work around your studies. Thanks for your feedback

  8. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Decent wage and the staff are overall friendly and helpful

    Cons

    Hardly any hours available even if you are full time

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your comments. We try to ensure everyone has hours that suit them but appreciate it is not always easy to achieve.

  9. "Bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good hours Flexible Fun environment

    Cons

    Bad customers Management issues

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Many thanks for your comments. It’s good to hear that you feel the hours are good and there is flexibility with shifts. However, there are a couple of points that you have raised which we would like to look into further. Please get in touch so that we can understand more @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  10. "Good pay, stressful sometimes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great pay, mid-shifts are easy enough if you have a good team with you. Good employee discount, especially on shift.

    Cons

    Often don't get out of work until 2am on weekends, can be asked to work 10 hour shifts, long closedown procedure, some time pressure during rush hours as meals have to be cooked within 10 minutes.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07
Found 1183 reviews