J D Wetherspoon "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

J D Wetherspoon Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 13 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1182 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
483 Ratings
Pros
  • "salary very competitive for the pub trade(in 98 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours and contract set to your needs(in 63 reviews)

Cons
  • "Much busier than your average Pub/Restaurant(in 143 reviews)

  • "Long hours with not enough breaks(in 135 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    friendly people and management is good

    Cons

    low pay and long hours

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-27

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback. Best wishes for the future

  2. "Good so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good pay Large Team Discount food & drink

    Cons

    Long Hours Unsociable Not good training on bar

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-03

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    It’s great to know that the things we have invested in such as rates of pay and employee discount are valued. Thanks for your hard work.

  3. "Fast paced and hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

      Pros

      Always have something to do. Keeps you fit with all the walking around taking food if you're in a bigger pub

      Cons

      Long hours and late closes can be a drag

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-18

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      Many thanks for your feedback and hard work.

    • "Good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Cardiff, Wales
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Good pay, bonus and promotional opportunity

      Cons

      Hard work, long hours, can be monotonous, varies depending on the way the management work

      Advice to Management

      Communicate , action , and give staff varied shift patterns. I.e eve n weekends off in rotation where poss

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-17

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      We are pleased to hear you are benefitting from the bonus scheme and promotional opportunities. If your shift patterns are an issue, please speak to your pub manager.

    • "Brilliant but Tough Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Kitchen Associate 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Excellent bonus scheme based on overall pub performance Flexible Holiday Scheme Good pay

      Cons

      Long hours Potentially very late finishes High pressure

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-12

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      We really appreciate your comments in relation to the remuneration and benefits you receive. We are extremely proud of the pub performances achieved and that over 80% of our employees benefit from the bonus scheme in recognition of this.

    • "JD Wetherspoon"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Liverpool, England
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Monthly Bonus (depends on the pub performance)

      Cons

      Long hours weekend/bank holiday work no extra pay for bank holiday

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-20

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      We are pleased to hear you are benefitting from the bonus scheme. Many thanks for the feedback.

    • "Not bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southport, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good pay, free shares, staff discount on food - 50% while working, 20% on food and drink when off shift. Good pay, free shares, staff discount on food - 50% while working, 20% on food and drink when off shift.

      Cons

      Long hours, late nights, poor delivery.. not the best breaks. Long hours, late nights, poor delivery.. not the best breaks.

      Advice to Management

      Good pay, free shares, staff discount on food - 50% while working, 20% on food and drink when off shift.Good pay, free shares, staff discount on food - 50% while working, 20% on food and drink when off shift.

      J D Wetherspoon2019-03-31

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      Many thanks for your feedback and hard work.

    • "Decent first job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Bar Associate 
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Bar work is enjoyable and there are lots of opportunities to learn and progress.

      Cons

      Long hours, difficult customers, not always supported by management.

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-01

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      Many thanks for your feedback.

    • "Horrible company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Kitchen Manager in Aberdeen, Scotland
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Good pay, not much else

      Cons

      Long hours, no support from other managers, working overtime to complete tasks

      Advice to Management

      One team

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-01

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      We are sorry things did not work out for you and wish you all the best for the future.

    • "Good company with great people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

        Pros

        -Good opportunities within the company -Allowed me to work around education

        Cons

        -Long hours/Late shifts - comes with working in a pub

        J D Wetherspoon2019-03-14

        J D Wetherspoon Response

        April 5, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

        Thank you for your feedback. It is great that you had the flexibility to work around your studies and the opportunity to progress

      Found 1182 reviews