J D Wetherspoon "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 18 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1234 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
504 Ratings
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Fun environment- staff nights out, interesting people Discount is useful

    Cons

    Long hours and late nights often with little sleep in between Lack of work life balance because of the late nights.

    Advice to Management

    Increase hours between shifts and make managers more aware that with travel time included, 11 hours is mostly not done

    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-25
  2. "Good work for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    -Good pay -Usually quite flexible with shifts -Take into account your availability and studies -Friendly team

    Cons

    -Managers can be unprofessional -Long hours (have done up to 12 hour shifts before) -Late clsoing time (3am) and early opening shifts (4am starts) -Don't like giving you holiday off and it is hard to take weekends off

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to your team, and be more lenient with time off, esp. for family holidays etc.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-22
  3. "Good pay but left to your own devices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for part time job Discount

    Cons

    No real training in how things work on shop floor, sort of left to your own devices in working out things and potentially making mistakes Some long hours

    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Tiring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good discounts on food and drinks

    Cons

    Long hours No Work/Life Balance

    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Bar Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay on time, Good culture

    Cons

    Understaffed, Long Hours and slightly hectic

    Advice to Management

    More staff should e hired

    J D Wetherspoon2018-04-18
  6. "Floor Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

      Pros

      Meet great and friendly people

      Cons

      Tedious and long hours even for part time

      J D Wetherspoon2018-05-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great friends, awful management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Kitchen Team Leader in Camborne, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Got decent hours Room for progression If you like shifts it’s for you Bonus on performance made a great group of friends

      Cons

      management get jobs on brown nosing lazy management expect long hours and lots of over time with no extra pay treat staff like they are dispensable management are bullies

      Advice to Management

      Lead by example Work as a team Needs a total restructure

      J D Wetherspoon2018-04-24
    • Helpful (2)

      "Weatherspoons metropolitan pub"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

      Pros

      Great friends maded great banter between a few people lots of customers make me laugh while on shift pub manager at metropolitan bakers street cares the most and showed me a few tricks that he's learned over the years of running pubs

      Cons

      Team leaders one who I won't name but if management want to discuss this futher please feel free get to pushy and demanding managers in the pub need to be the floor more Stressful Long hours Staff food which we have to pay for Zero work life balance

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your staff Make sure staff are cared for emotionally and mentally don't run staff into the ground Allow staff on the floor to express them selfs in way that they feel works for them

      J D Wetherspoon2018-05-07

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 16, 2018Recruitment CoOrdinator

      Thank you for your feedback, all comments are discussed at our weekly meetings. We would really like to discuss the matter further if you could call and speak to a member of the recruitment team at head office,

    • Helpful (4)

      "Former Bar Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in March, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

      Pros

      2 days off each week Staff discount on/off shift meet a range of different people

      Cons

      Irregular hours Expected to carry burning/heavy plates lack of duty of care long hours on your feet no work/life balance as people were always being asked to work later

      Advice to Management

      care more about your employees wellbeing don't work employees to the brink of exhaustion/ill health better work/life balance don't accuse people of things they didn't do

      J D Wetherspoon2018-04-09
    • "No staff morale"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Bar Associate 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Staff are nice who you work with

      Cons

      Long hours. Treated like a child off management. To many process and procedures just to pull a pint. No recognition from management, feedback is always negative. Can sometimes work ) hours without a break

      Advice to Management

      Recognise your employees. Respect your staff and offer more legal breaks

      J D Wetherspoon2018-03-28
    Found 1234 reviews