J D Wetherspoon "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
556 Ratings
  1. "Good company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    -Good opportunities within the company -Allowed me to work around education

    Cons

    -Long hours/Late shifts - comes with working in a pub

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-14

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 5, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback. It is great that you had the flexibility to work around your studies and the opportunity to progress

  2. "Wouldn't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life balance okay dependent on your hours Discounts on food and drink on shift (50%) and off (20%)

    Cons

    Little to no guidance for new staff Disrespectful senior staff No clean or individual uniforms Long hours, minimal breaks (unless you smoke) Loud, irritating music played in kitchen

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-18

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. If you would like to discuss further the points you have raised, please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  3. "Enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Everyday is different Plenty of opportunities to progress

    Cons

    Unsociable hours Long hours Too much paperwork and office work

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-10

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have had the opportunity to progress and we wish you continued success

  4. "Okay for a pit stop, but don’t stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Pay is decent Holiday pay is good

    Cons

    Shifts are rarely given in advance Hard long hours

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-23
  5. "Kitchen assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Reliable hours throughout the shift pattern

    Cons

    Long hours and poor job progression

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-15
  6. "Good place to work if you're a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, no two days are the same

    Cons

    Long hours on your feet

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-12
  7. "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    discounts training support increase confidence in talking to others

    Cons

    long hours unsociable end up smelling of ale and food always on feet

    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-19

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are glad you thought we were 5 star, good luck with your future.

  8. "Bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Good job, easy, good hours and don’t start on minimum wage

    Cons

    Long hours sometimes, management are also lazy

    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-13

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 5, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We know flexible working patterns are really important to our staff. It's great to know this worked for you.

  9. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Flexible, student job, paid weekly

    Cons

    Long Hours Completely undervalued Rarely have a full break Managers are lazy Shifts are not given far enough in advance.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    February 19, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your review. If you have any further feedback you can contact us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk.

  10. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    bonuses, free shares, free meal on shift

    Cons

    long hours, shift work, no work life balance

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-15

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review

Found 1358 reviews