J Sainsbury Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

J Sainsbury Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3802 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
J Sainsbury CEO Mike Coupe
Mike Coupe
1,208 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay, one of the best among retail companies(in 369 reviews)

  • "Very flexible hours and contracts available(in 144 reviews)

Cons
  • "The recent shake up less managers and getting rid of team leaders(in 129 reviews)

  • "Long hours in fast paced environment(in 127 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "deputy store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time

    Pros

    A big company which impacts lots of people in the UK, Working for Sainsburys allows you to make a big difference in people's lives. A good set of company values means that Sainsburys does the right thing for its customers.

    Cons

    long hours make working in a supermarket both physically, emotionally and mentally tiring. Grocery market is having a tough time at the moment meaning that promotions have slowed down in the last year.

    Advice to Management

    invest more in store labour to ensure service is our USP versus ALDI and Lidl. Product development is always important as customers want to feel excited by the offering.

    J Sainsbury2015-11-16
  2. "Was a good company to work for 5 years ago....not now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Goal driven, bonus tied to company performance

    Cons

    Some really strange company policies....became a horrible place to work when new management ruled to the letter of the law.

    Advice to Management

    Use common sense and don't hide behind policies. Talk to your staff and be sincere.

    J Sainsbury2014-06-09
  3. "I don’t know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant 

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people Salary is good

    Cons

    Very fast paced environment

    J Sainsbury2019-10-13
  4. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Online Shopper 

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    Good working environment and very good peers

    Cons

    Fast paced and must be aware of potential improvements to make

    J Sainsbury2019-10-12
  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service 

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    Benefits, the work environment is good

    Cons

    Do not have any cons so far

    J Sainsbury2019-10-12
  6. "good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Clothing Assistant 

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay, one of the best among retail companies

    Cons

    short break time and break time is not paid

    J Sainsbury2019-10-10
  7. "Boring but easy..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work, fun colleagues, good discount

    Cons

    Nothing really, just a little boring

    J Sainsbury2019-10-09
  8. "Excellent workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything is great at Sainsburys

    Cons

    No cons about Sainsburys

    J Sainsbury2019-10-10
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Trading Manager 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time

    Pros

    Inclusive and becoming more diverse

    Cons

    There are no cons at the moment

    J Sainsbury2019-10-08
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver 

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lovely laid back job working with lovely people, not a bad wage either what more could you want?

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    J Sainsbury2019-10-08
Found 3802 reviews