Jama Software Reviews

Updated Jul 31, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 of over 71 reviews

4.3
76%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Jama Software CEO Marc Osofsky
Marc Osofsky
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-life balance, inclusion, and community involvement are well-supported(in 8 reviews)

  • "great people(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Growing pains and Employee retainment(in 4 reviews)

  • "My manager gave me and my teammates a lot of opportunity to grow within support, which I really appreciated, and I was able to learn a lot(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Avoid accepting a role in the support department

      Jul 29, 2021 - Technical Support Engineer in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My coworkers on the Support team were some of the kindest, funniest, hardest working people I have ever worked with. A job's a job, so if you are in a desperate situation, ignore my title and the rest of this review. You can use this job as a resume line item to get a better job somewhere else.

      Cons

      -Management looks down on the people in the support department and has very little understanding of the actual work they do. You will be asked to do genuinely unreasonable amounts of work and there will be no let up until you burnout and quit. There is fast paced work, and then there is treating employees as disposables. In the last year, over 70% of the team has turned over. -There is a lot of talk about growth opportunities, but those opportunities are dangled with no real intent to follow through. On the extremely rare occurrence you get a real promotion, you will be paid significantly less than an outside candidate would and you'll be told to be grateful for the small raise you did get. -I regularly heard one of the executive level managers make jokes in large meetings such as "You're in America, speak f**king English" and "Have you ever really had an intern if you haven't broken your intern?" I can only imagine how he speaks in smaller meetings. They're 'just jokes' though of course. -I've heard very similar stories about working in Engineering and Account Management

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company, many opportunities

      Jul 31, 2021 - Support Team in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is welcoming and everyone is friendly. I've been able to grow my career and learned so much in a short period of time. The work is challenging but I have lots of support from my team, engineering and the great product managers. Our team lead is very nice and has helped me get going quickly.

      Cons

      I wish there was a little more training and reading. Sometimes I have to ask more questions that I would like.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Excited again

      Jun 30, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Jama's culture and focus on our growth are great. This company has been around for awhile and gone through quite a bit of change. That's especially true over the last couple of years. We are finally going in the right direction. * I have clarity in my role and my project. * The culture teams listen and work hard to include everyone. * Our DE&I efforts are actually producing results! * Promotions are tied to accomplishment instead of time.

      Cons

      New leaders have brought new ideas. It can take awhile to settle and we make changes fast. We should take more time to let things settle before making other changes. The tech stack needs some attention. I know improvements are coming.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Place has changed a lot in the past 2 years, but maybe you like the direction

      May 4, 2021 - Senior Manager in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great colleagues: I made so many good friends over the years. -Good benefits: decent health, 401k, options, etc. -Customers build really cool things with our products: lifesaving medical devices, autonomous vehicles, semiconductors. -Nice office perks, when you're in it: beer on tap, snacks, towel service, bike storage. -Made swift change to remote-first mentality. -Great work/life balance for most folks, in that you could work 8-5 most days.

      Cons

      -Performative DE&I policies & "values": we formed groups but it was the marginalized folk doing all the work. -Not empathetic to COVID: leadership never encouraged vacation, never encouraged mental health days, and expected everyone to overdrive performance in isolation. -Company provided a small one-time stipend for COVID; not enough to supplement a comfortable home office. -Upper management rarely displays empathy towards or appreciation of workforce.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      After 6 years, I still enjoy my job and continue my personal growth alongside the company

      Jun 29, 2021 - Team Lead in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Amazing company growth and value. - Job security - we continued to grow through the pandemic, I have no concerns about losing my job, market downturns etc. Such a relief compared to some of my friends who are struggling or stressed. - Opportunities to move around the company and try new thing. I was a leader on the QA side of Engineering and wanted to challenge myself, so I was given the opportunity to convert a professional services team and turn it into a high functioning engineering team and productize several new projects. - Work with amazing customers building amazing things. - Flexible work hours, remote work and family time. - Good benefits, time off, bonuses, gym membership, showers. - Stock options in a growth company that will be worth something !!$$$!!!

      Cons

      - Jama is a fast growing company and we finally hit a point when some of the long timers (6,9,12 years) are looking for a change. This is the lifecycle of a company like Jama, so there are opportunities for new leaders to emerge, but also spots of growing pains rebuilding tribal knowledge. -Not really a con in today's world. Most teams have remote members now, so there is some culture change from getting drinks, playing board games etc. Now we have more virtual hangouts and online game nights.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fantastic Virtual Culture

      Jul 12, 2021 - Sales Operations in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's taken a lot of smart ideas and hard work, but this company has found an amazing virtual culture built from its diversity.

      Cons

      Too many tech tools. Some of them do the same thing.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing Company

      Jul 6, 2021 - Software Engineer in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Leadership values the opinions of all employees - Leadership values diversity and inclusion - Work is challenging and interesting

      Cons

      No cons to share yet

      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      No strategy

      Jun 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They hire bright, talented, wonderful people. The product has nothing but potential.

      Cons

      They often fail to empower those bright people they hire, and they leave. Leadership seems to embrace unimpressive managers lately. And there is no product strategy to drive focus and good contributions. The strategy seems to be little more than making the numbers look good so they can exit. Plus they are basically owned by investors at this point.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Our Purpose: Ensure that customer and employee innovators succeed.

      Feb 26, 2021 - Senior Product Manager in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Inclusive and diverse teams. Positive collaboration, the norm is helping each other grow. Great leadership Top-Bottom. Thriving SaaS Business. Customers are global innovation leaders in Medical Devices, Automotive, Aerospace & Defense, Industrial-IOT and Finance. Great inclusive culture where thought leaders help push and sharpen each others skills. Personal growth is entrenched. Challenge and stretching is the norm. Has fully embraced and optimized virtual work environment. Great Benefits.

      Cons

      Embracing growth is not easy, so this has to fit for you. A constantly changing environment requires rigor. Not a place to "coast". Ability to manage ambiguity is a plus. Can be fatiguing if you don't have good life balance skills and ways to proactively refresh yourself.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Disappointed but not surprised

      Jan 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Improved hiring practices, virtual culture team was trying to find ways to keep employees engaged, decent pay, remote work environment

      Cons

      Some folks at Jama had a very uncomfortably unspoken disrespect for one another in meetings; yelling at one another, slandering one another, talking down to them,. This would happen and it was just "how that person was" and people were okay with this. There was a huge lack of ownership across the org and teams, reeks of white male privilege, executive team has an interesting bro culture, unrealistic OKRs, lots of Sr. managers and directors who lack basic knowledge around the tools they use, lack of diversity, minimal growth opportunities and/or unfair promotion practices that never follow written policy model, gender pay gap, a balance between folks who take several weeks off and folk who are too scared to take time off due to the unrealistic goals, compared to other tech companies Jama gave one small stipend and no budgets to improve team morale.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 68 Reviews

    Work at Jama Software? Share Your Experiences

    Jama Software logo
    or