Jama Software Reviews

Updated 27 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Jama Software CEO Marc Osofsky
Marc Osofsky
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "My manager gave me and my teammates a lot of opportunity to grow within support, which I really appreciated, and I was able to learn a lot(in 4 reviews)

  • " growing pains (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Growth is a great place to be!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Operations in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jama Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Respectful and enthusiastic staff of the smartest people I've ever worked with, great benefits, wonderfully supportive culture. Their growth stage is being managed competently.

    Cons

    Remote work for now, which means a lot of Zoom conferences--but I'm looking forward to getting to work in the office!

    Continue reading
    Jama Software2020-05-27
  2. "Awesome Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jama Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, people, workplace, pay, Opportunities

    Cons

    Honestly, not a lot of cons. There have been a lot of changes over the years, but that comes with a lot of growth.

    Continue reading
    Jama Software2020-05-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Love Working at Jama"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jama Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Awesome people -Outlook internally is open-minded & thoughtful -Great work environment (big kitchen, rooftop, central location) -Interesting/exciting product (in my opinion) -Unlimited PTO -Ability to get promoted and advance -Generous salary -Dogs allowed

    Cons

    -I can't think of any cons. Sometimes teams can get siloed so it makes it harder to understand which groups need what from other teams/management and overall how we can be more successful, although, management knows this and has been making huge steps to improve this (creating stronger open communication, more collaboration, etc). Marc is very invested in the thoughts and ideas of all employees and encourages us to share which also helps combat this issue.

    Jama Software2020-05-14
  4. "Great place to make a big impact"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jama Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get to work with incredible people who are passionate about the work they do. Lots of opportunity to make an impact, whether it is leading new projects or initiatives to expanding opportunities beyond your current role. People take an open-minded approach to tackling new projects and challenges which makes for a great working environment.

    Cons

    For those who are not comfortable with change that naturally comes from working at a small or mid-sized company this may not be a place for you.

    Continue reading
    Jama Software2020-05-14
  5. "Great top-down leadership, transparency, and clear roadmap!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jama Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Open leadership team, great cross-team collaboration, everyone driving towards shared goals, positive culture, great communication around the remote work environment, open to new ideas!

    Cons

    Nothing really to complain about- it's a fast-paced tech company, so pretty standard high rate of production timelines

    Continue reading
    Jama Software2020-05-14
  6. "Great company motivated by customer innovation"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jama Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Jama Software has a strong culture motivated by helping customers achieve their strategic goals. The customers represent the most innovate engineering organizations in the world - developing highly technical systems across varies industries, such as Medical Device, Aerospace and Automotive.

    Cons

    Jama Software addresses challenges in complex product development. Depending on your role, having a drive to learn is key. This can be a downside for those not interested in that type of environment.

    Jama Software2020-05-14
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Management in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jama Software full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, fair pay, collaborative environment, challenging work, thoughtful leadership team.

    Cons

    Like many high-tech orgs, changes are non-stop. It can be hard to get your groove established when you're not developing any muscle memory.

    Continue reading
    Jama Software2020-05-14
  8. "Good tech company to work for in Portland"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Jama Software full-time

    Pros

    Good company culture even through all the change

    Cons

    Working through solutions still on the best way to operate with remote staff.

    Jama Software2020-04-01
  9. "Great Experience"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Director in Portland, OR

    I worked at Jama Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Healthcare coverage Work / Life Balance Dog friendly

    Cons

    Typical growing pains going from startup to mid sized company

    Continue reading
    Jama Software2020-02-24
  10. Helpful (3)

    "If only they'd dogfood"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jama Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    • Portland office is at a MAX stop, and 2 blocks from Waterfront Park. • Office is in a converted mall, which actually works out better than you might imagine. • Didn't make me sign an NDA.

    Cons

    • Office is at a MAX stop, blocks from Pioneer Place. Hope you enjoy random interruptions throughout the day of police activity, people setting garbage cans on fire, and only being able to use certain entrances and exits because of it. Oh and all of the parking garages near the office are almost $20 a day. • Company actively refuses to dogfood their software — who needs to use software that can track requirements and testing and also handle knowledge management? Surely not a software company making software to be used to track requirements and testing and knowledge management. • Toxic, backwards facing culture. Unless you're on a progressive team you'll probably want to go back into the closet if you're queer, and don't expect anyone to take mental health (or the effects of the toxic workplace) seriously. If you do take a job at Jama be prepared to meet three kinds of people: unsuspecting interns (who they are actively shielding from the toxicity), folks with Stockholm Syndrome who matriculated up from being interns and think the behavior is OK, and of course the folks perpetrating and furthering the toxic culture. • Won't pay market rates, will make you wear too many hats: hope you like making 10% less than folks downtown all with the honor of doing too much work and without any redundancy in staff with your skillset. Kiss the prospect of vacations goodbye.

    Continue reading
    Jama Software2020-03-04
Found 51 reviews