Japan Tobacco International Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Japan Tobacco International Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 514 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Japan Tobacco International CEO Eddy Pirard
Eddy Pirard
100 Ratings
Pros
  • "JTI it’s a open and inclusive organization with a high commitment with his employees(in 44 reviews)

  • "Great working environment and healthy organizational culture(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "The people who are managers are good people but do need a lot of upskilling to be at a standard that JTI sells itself as(in 29 reviews)

  • "Sometimes too slow decision making but as usual in corporate world(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to learn and work with some smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Japan Tobacco International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Diverse company, international secondments possible, good pay

    Cons

    HQ used to be a pretty political place - not sure if that is still the case with new CEO

    Advice to Management

    Keep going

    Japan Tobacco International2019-01-04
  2. "The Best Tobacco Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Japan Tobacco International full-time

    Pros

    ambiance and working environment highly recommeded

    Cons

    Transformation will displace a lot of employees

    Advice to Management

    small room for promotion and improvement

    Japan Tobacco International2019-06-17
  3. "Top Employer Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Japan Tobacco International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing Company with amazing opportunities

    Cons

    Have no comment regarding Cons

    Japan Tobacco International2019-06-12
  4. "Current"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Madīnat an Naşr
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Japan Tobacco International full-time

      Pros

      The company is well known and I would like to utilize my experience with this company

      Cons

      Prove my self to the maximum level

      Advice to Management

      Take a chance on me and you won’t regret it

      Japan Tobacco International2019-06-09
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Teaneck, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Japan Tobacco International full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great company to work for. Depends on who your boss is, but most are great

      Cons

      Nothing I can think of. Very happy at JTI

      Japan Tobacco International2019-06-04
    • "Careful with tobacco sector"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - General Manager in Madrid
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Japan Tobacco International full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      High salaries, good training programs, well run company

      Cons

      Highly political, burocratic environment, tobacco sector in structural crises, really good opportunities offered only to a very reduced pool of employees, up or out HR policy

      Japan Tobacco International2019-06-17
    • "Review JTI"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Supply Chain Finance Assistant Manager in Ho Chi Minh City
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Japan Tobacco International full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Best place to work in VN

      Cons

      I have no cons for JTI

      Japan Tobacco International2019-05-31
    • "Cool and friendly team, supportive environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Market Analyst in Weybridge, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Japan Tobacco International full-time

      Pros

      Friendly team manager and colleagues Supportive culture Excellent pension scheme and benefits

      Cons

      Basic pay doesn’t rise fast enough with experience and market conditions Senior management changes and it’s a lottery sometimes

      Advice to Management

      Better pay and benefits for good workers if you want to retain them

      Japan Tobacco International2019-05-18
    • "Excellent Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Weybridge, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Japan Tobacco International full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Excellent Benefits and good work life balance

      Cons

      Limited progression of your face doesn't fit

      Advice to Management

      Allow people to be developed

      Japan Tobacco International2019-05-09
    • "Great Place To Work ... Need To Improve on Career Growth for Majority"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in Kuala Lumpur
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Japan Tobacco International full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great culture, remuneration and diversified exposure

      Cons

      Limited career growth/opportunities except for specific business functions/department

      Advice to Management

      1) Create Career Path for all employees/unit/function/department 2) Idealist on cascaded framework/initiatives/idea but would appreciate if it's realized inpraticality/reality. 3) Walk the talk on culture and less on lip service.

      Japan Tobacco International2019-05-06
    Found 514 reviews