Jurys Inns Reviews

Updated Dec 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 205 of over 223 reviews

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Jurys Inns Managing Director Jason Carruthers (no image)
Jason Carruthers
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "The best colleagues and development opportunities, great hotels, excellent staff rate(in 12 reviews)

  • "Good pay and overall nice staff(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, working to the early hours of the morning(in 20 reviews)

  • "It’s hospitality at the end of the day so you still have to deal with the public(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Incredibly excessive workload

      Dec 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lovely coworkers Few interruptions Generally courteous guests Lunch provided from hotel kitchen

      Cons

      14 rooms (mostly two bed rooms) per 8 hour shift (excluding half an hour lunch) Workload caused myself and coworkers to have panic attacks/breakdowns Workload too excessive to be justifiable, even with significantly higher pay No fixed schedule

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Hotel Manager

      Dec 7, 2021 - Hotel Manager in Birmingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co workers and regular guests

      Cons

      Covid caused a change of the business

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Jurys Inns Response

      Group Recruitment Coordinator

      Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm delighted to see that you would recommend working at Jurys Inn Hotel Group.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good to build experience and learn more on hospitality

      Dec 5, 2021 - Duty Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good in house learning programs. Stay in any Jurys inn or Leonardo Hotel for £20 / £40 on staff rate

      Cons

      Short staffed at the moment

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Jurys Inns Response

      Group Recruitment Coordinator

      Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear that you are enjoying the benefits of our excellent L&D programmes and staff rate. Staffing levels have certainly been affected by the COVID-19 pandemic across the hospitality industry. If you have any concerns about this, please speak to your local HR team who can seek central recruitment support.

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Receptionist

      Dec 15, 2021 - Receptionist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Location, food, team, experience, resources

      Cons

      Low Salary, work pressure, stress,

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Jurys Inns Response

      Group Recruitment Coordinator

      Hi there, thanks for leaving this review. I'm sorry to hear that you wouldn't recommend working with Jurys Inn Hotel Group. Working in the hospitality industry can be demanding, so we do have various e-learning programmes on managing stress, and have a space on our colleague app to share positive quotes, stories and relaxation techniques. Without further information we can't offer any investigation so it would be great if you could provide further insight by emailing recruitment@jurysinns.com to help us improve the ways we work.

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      It was okay

      Dec 8, 2021 - Room Attendant in Plymouth, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People were nice and got free food every shift

      Cons

      Very harsh when not going the speed they want

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Jurys Inns Response

      Group Recruitment Coordinator

      Hi, thank you for leaving a review. I'm glad to hear that you liked working with the team here and enjoyed some of the benefits. The hospitality industry can be challenging for us all, but we wouldn't want anyone to feel they were being pressured. Please feel free to email us on recruitment@jurysinns.com to discuss further

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company to work for

      Nov 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The best colleagues and development opportunities, great hotels, excellent staff rate

      Cons

      Fast paced which may not suit everyone

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Jurys Inns Response

      Group Recruitment Coordinator

      Hi there, thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm delighted to hear that you are enjoying your time with us at Jurys Inn Hotel Group. Within hospitality, the colleagues and guests you would meet are generally the biggest attraction for newcomers to our industry! Equally, hospitality can indeed be fast-paced at times, which we completely understand; we have local HR teams on hand to support you with anything you need.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Insane workload, poor/non existant equipment and language barriers.

      Dec 12, 2021 - Housekeeper in Edinburgh, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free Lunches were nice. Not top quality food for sure but edible - and free! My boss was one of the loveliest, kindest and most helpful people you could meet!! and my supervisors were also very lovely people.

      Cons

      The workload of 16-20 rooms per day really is overload, I was working at a fast and furious pace trying to get as many rooms done as possible and still couldn't do the required number of rooms. Bear in mind rooms have to be extremely well cleaned no shortcuts can be taken. Equipment was often broken or simply in short supply and unavailable. Even basic things like cleaning caddy's and sprays/pillows/duvets etc. The hoovers rarely got empties and often had electrical faults meaning they'd cut in and out, the heads of the hoovers were all ruined and never replaced. The trolley I was given for my linens and towels and caddy's was comically undersized and not at all appropriate for the task at hand, I was declined when I asked for a bigger one. Most of the workers are Eastern European including the bosses and whilst most are nice enough people I found communication to be near impossible at times due to me being an English only speaker and very few of the other staff spoke any English at all or a few words of broken English. I ended up performing the wrong tasks at times due to me misinterpreting them. You will mainly be working alone by yourself as management takes the view that doubling up in a team decreases productivity, perhaps that may be so in some cases but it could make for a dull and lonely day at times as I prefer having someone to chat and banter with. All in all if you are a very introverted individual who is physically capable of working like a dog and enjoys doing so, this may be the job for you. Personally, this is not the job for me. My cleaning job prior to this involved half the work at half the speed for almost the same pay.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Jurys Inns Response

      Group Recruitment Coordinator

      Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave this review. You've got some great things to say about your managers, which is lovely to see. We're sorry to hear that you didn't have a fully positive experience with us. We will take all feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve our existing processes. The hospitality industry as a whole has been challenged with staffing issues due to the COVID pandemic, which has potentially caused some of the issues you highlight here. If you'd like to discuss this further, please do feel free to contact us on recruitment@jurysinns.com

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work if you love hospitality

      Nov 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      vouchers for employees, meals on duty, free uniforms

      Cons

      Difficult shifts, working different times every week, it can be tiring

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Jurys Inns Response

      Group Recruitment Coordinator

      Hi there, thank you for writing a review. I am sorry to hear that you would not recommend working with us here at Jurys Inn Hotel Group. The hospitality industry can certainly be challenging at times, specifically due to the staffing pressures caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. With this in mind, we do try to be as flexible with rotas as possible, so we would invite any further comments you have on this. Please email us at recruitment@jurysinns.com

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice place to work

      Oct 26, 2021 - F & B Attendant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people around you Helpful colleagues Easy going environment

      Cons

      Busy place but that’s not really a cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Jurys Inns Response

      Group Recruitment Coordinator

      Hello, thank you for leaving a review. I'm delighted to see that you would recommend working with us here at Jurys Inn Hotel Group and had a positive experience! We are wishing you the best of luck with your future career.

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Don’t aooly

      Nov 22, 2021 - SPA Concierge in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nothing good here do not work here toxic

      Cons

      Absolutely poor management no support no room for progression

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Jurys Inns Response

      Group Recruitment Coordinator

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. At Jurys Inn Hotel Group we pride ourselves on supporting our colleagues to develop their careers with us. With further information we could investigate your experience to understand how we can improve our ways of working. Please email us at recruitment@jurysinns.com

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 205 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Jurys Inns Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Jurys Inns? Share Your Experiences

    Jurys Inns logo
    or