Kool Smiles Dentist Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Kool Smiles Dentist Reviews

Updated Apr 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
81%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Kool Smiles CEO Dr. Dale Mayfield & Dr. David Vieth  (no image)
Dr. Dale Mayfield & Dr. David Vieth
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A good place to start out."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dentist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Contrary to popular belief, the care about their patient and push for quality care

    Cons

    Untrained assistants. And Workplace drama.

    Advice to Management

    Train assistants well. Investigate work place issues properly before taking sides.

    Kool Smiles2019-04-27
  2. "Fun working with children"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Dentist in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Helping the underserved community Great experience with pediatric dentistry

    Cons

    They need to get more qualified than assistants

    Advice to Management

    South Carolina needs to be managed as well as Texas. The Texas clinic’s are more organized with better supplies

    Kool Smiles2018-08-30
  3. "Only if you have to..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dentist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you are desperate for money, need help with a work visa or some student loan forgiveness, it is okay short term and part time

    Cons

    Treatment planning is determined by coverage not clinical indications. The "mission" is to maximize Medicaid billing. Providers are encouraged to perform procedures rather than provide real health care. There is little or no continuity of care or regard for the patients. Your clinical skills will deteriorate quickly.

    Advice to Management

    Provide real dental care

    Kool Smiles2018-07-18
  4. "Dentist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dentist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No exams are paid for

    Cons

    Great benefit like 401k and medical

    Advice to Management

    Hope exam fees are paid

    Kool Smiles2017-05-09
  5. "Private practice versus corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Dentist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kool Smiles full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    When things break in the office, you don't have to worry. When an employee decides to move, have a baby, etc., you don't have to worry. When you want something done, you just mention it, and it is taken care of. Working here is definitely less stress than owning your own. The benefits are nice, which is rare in private practice.

    Cons

    There isn't much paid time off given, but, if you are in private practice, you don't get any time off. That is really the only negative I can think of.

    Kool Smiles2016-10-21
  6. "Kool Smiles is missions driven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Dentist in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kool Smiles full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been with Kool Smiles for about 6+ years. I enjoy working here because it feels like I work with family, as you become united when you join together for a greater purpose, which at Kool Smiles is for the mission of providing quality dental care to under served communities. I really enjoy everyone with whom I work and it's a great feeling to know that what I do makes a difference.

    Cons

    As with any job, there are good days and bad days but I think it helps to know that the overall vision of what we do is positive.

    Kool Smiles2016-10-17
  7. "Associate Dentist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Dentist in Fort Smith, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kool Smiles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I particularly like the fast-pace during the treatment day. I consider my workday as a mix of Hygiene checks, Operative and Surgical procedures. The best aspect is the friendly, family atmosphere of the co-workers working to the common purpose.

    Cons

    Inability to schedule vacation or PTO days during the summer peak patient period. This makes family vacations difficult to fit in to school summer periods.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to reach out to those of us providing care with office visits which allow insight into decision making. We enjoy putting faces with the names of those who affect our daily schedules.

    Kool Smiles2016-10-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Kool smiles employee review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    General Dentist in Gretna, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kool Smiles

    Pros

    Great support from co workers(doctors) and area dental directors. Don't have to worry about management of front office.

    Cons

    Don't get paid for hygiene checks which accounts for more than operative procedures.

    Advice to Management

    Paying doctors for hygiene checks might help y'all keep them in the company for a longer time

    Kool Smiles2016-10-18
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Dentist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kool Smiles

    Pros

    Very nice people Free interview Nice place

    Cons

    Long working hours Less income Not clear

    Kool Smiles2016-09-10
  10. Helpful (7)

    "General dentist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Dentist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a job that pays. After graduation, a new dentist with no experience needs somewhere to begin their career. This is where I began my career. I wanted to get more experience with kids and that's exactly what I got.

    Cons

    Seeing 40 to 50 patients a day (most of them were children) this WILL drain you Working through lunch...going home late Five days off a year Working every night after leaving the office (charts charts and more charts) Dental director that pressures you for more production Limited room for professional growth They don't mention this, but you will be expected to do comprehensive exams (hygiene checks) that you... will never be compensated for, this will annoy you once you realize how much time you spend doing them. It will also annoy you while doing operative (where compensation occurs), and you constantly get called for hygiene checks. Personally I didn't get many Saturday's off, working five days on and one day off occurred a lot, my schedule was never steady. There may be some docs that have worked for this company with a better history than I have had. Unfortunately this company was not for me. When I handed in my 90 day notice it was a long wait....but I found something better....way better. I enjoy work and my life outside of it now.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This is actually advice to dentist considering a position with this company. Cooperate dentistry should be a last resort get in and get out. Look into 3r.net, the national health service corps, local community clinics.

    Kool Smiles2015-08-16
Found 16 reviews