Kool Smiles Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Kool Smiles Reviews

Updated 14 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 269 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Dr. Dale Mayfield & Dr. David Vieth
101 Ratings
  1. "Generally speaking a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kool Smiles full-time

    Pros

    Many good people work here.

    Cons

    A few bad seeds at the management level in each category.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the ignorant and rude people assuming management positions, mostly first line in each category, you will keep the good employees.

    Kool Smiles2017-09-10
  2. "Get them in, get their money, get them out!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant in Midwest City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kool Smiles part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to work with many underprivileged children. That's about all I can honestly say. I'm out as soon as I get another offer.

    Cons

    Owners and management only care about the bottom dollar. HIGH turnover in staff and doctors. Health insurance (if you are able to ever get to a full time status) is TERRIBLE.

    Advice to Management

    Don't make empty promises to your employees. I was told I'd be full time. Months later and I'm still part time. Im a single parent! I turned down several FULL TIME job offers to work here because of what I was told.

    Kool Smiles2017-09-19
  3. "Being qualified for the job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant in Forest Park, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kool Smiles full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Learn a lot. Hard work and fast paced.

    Cons

    Favoritism. Lack of management abilities.

    Kool Smiles2017-09-14
  4. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kool Smiles

    Pros

    They were great gave me options

    Cons

    They helped me and my sister

    Kool Smiles2017-07-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Unorganized and little communication about the position."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Relations Specialist in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team members on location. It was refreshing to work with people who care about what they do. You don't get that in a lot of business settings.

    Cons

    Again, the corporate relationship with people on the ground was a bit frustrating. It felt like we were people on the side.

    Kool Smiles2017-07-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid if you can. This company will drain you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hattiesburg, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PTO, short term disability insurance if you need it, and usually some food as a reward.

    Cons

    Long hours, constantly being understaffed while overbooked, little room for growth. The environment can become catty and favoritism does come into play. Management does not always come through on what they say they will do.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on job performance instead of facilitating friendships and coddling feelings. Also, have management who actually comes to work and doesn't take vacations and time off every week.

    Kool Smiles2017-08-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Patient Services Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kool Smiles

    Pros

    Monthly bonus Great staff Awesome hours

    Cons

    Must work 1 weekend a month

    Kool Smiles2017-05-17
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Not a great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kool Smiles full-time

    Pros

    Pay is ok for Office Managers. The company really does have a good mission and intentions and provides a service to people who otherwise might not have anywhere else to go.

    Cons

    Because Medicaid pays so little and the patients have a very low show rate (due to the fact that you cannot charge them a no show fee), Kool Smiles perpetually overbooks their patients to compensate. When there is a low show rate, it's fine. But certain times of the day (especially when kids are out of school) it is a perfect storm and everyone shows up and you have 12 people booked when you have 8 chairs in hygiene and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your people more. Increase pay for dental assistants. Find a better way than to constantly over book. RETRAIN YOUR CALL CENTER TO DO THEIR JOBS BETTER. They make the jobs in the offices so much harder than they should be.

    Kool Smiles2017-05-20
  9. "Dentist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dentist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No exams are paid for

    Cons

    Great benefit like 401k and medical

    Advice to Management

    Hope exam fees are paid

    Kool Smiles2017-05-09
  10. "XS Schedule Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - XS Schedule Coordinator in New Bedford, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kool Smiles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company. Flexible schedule. Upper mgmt is very helpful when you need them.

    Cons

    Health insurance cost and coverage

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Kool Smiles2017-05-03
Found 269 reviews