Kool Smiles "dentists" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Kool Smiles Employee Reviews about "dentists"

Updated 14 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 269 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Dr. Dale Mayfield & Dr. David Vieth
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "We stand behind our core values and make decisions through our priority pledge and work to give the best service while providing quality dental care(in 18 reviews)

  • "Senior leadership understand clinical issues and concerns because they are dentists themselves(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "The dentists were struggling to keep up with the patient load making the wait times ridiculous and patients upset(in 13 reviews)

  • "Scheduling from the call center would become a problem due to not scheduling considerately(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "dentists"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Get ready to work for a year of two then find a new job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dental Assistant in Christiansburg, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved the people I worked with. They were young, fun, and overall tried to make the office a nice place to be.

    Cons

    Overworked and underpaid would basically sum up my qualms with this position. High volume offices regularly missed lunch and worked late. The dentists were struggling to keep up with the patient load making the wait times ridiculous and patients upset. It all came down to poor scheduling. It was not uncommon to have 10 patients scheduled an hour in hygiene and only 6 chairs with...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fix your scheduling!! It will help you keep your staff!

    Kool Smiles2019-05-03
  2. "RDA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time

    Pros

    Good management, great teamwork, helpful and nice dentists

    Cons

    Overbooking, outrageous expectations, no growth for learning other procedures besides basic for children due to most dentists are new

    Kool Smiles2017-12-08
  3. "Dentist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - State Dental Director in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kool Smiles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good teamwork & communication with partner doctor, office manager and assistants. - Autonomy in dentistry as a doctor. - Clear company policy in dentistry as well as office management. -Good training and continuous learning opportunity.

    Cons

    - have to accept specific insurance. - considerable workload. (in some part, can be good experience for the new dentists)

    Advice to Management

    I believe it is possible to build up smarter time schedule for patients if call center cooperates with each office.

    Kool Smiles2016-10-19
  4. "KS Doctor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Dental Director in Terre Haute, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kool Smiles

    Pros

    I started working at KS right after I graduated from dental school. I was worried about working in a corporate dental atmosphere as the things you hear in school are less than positive but I can honestly say that I'm so glad to have chosen KS to further my career as a dentist. Our mission to serve children and adults in areas where access to care is lower aligned with my ideals as a practicing dentist. I think that our...

    Show More

    Cons

    This isn't a con to me, but it could be to some people. Kool Smiles life is fast paced, but I love it that way.

    Kool Smiles2016-10-06
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Worst place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dental Hygienist in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Kool Smiles

    Pros

    The coworkers were the only good thing about this place

    Cons

    They only care about numbers. Dentists salary is based on production so the more pts they see the more money they make. Very stressful environment and employees are not appreciated.

    Advice to Management

    The reason you lose employees is you do not value them. You lost multiple hardworking dedicated employees because you did not value their worth. You give promotions to employees that do not deserve them and bypass the ones that work their butts off for you and you do not recognize them . Shame on you !!!

    Kool Smiles2016-08-31
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Dental hygienist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dengal Hygienist in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kool Smiles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sometimes you have fun days. Working with kids at times can be very rewarding, they say things that make you realize why you do what you do.

    Cons

    Some Horrible dentists that are too rough for kids and miss a bunch of Visible cavities. They overbook pts and don't have the staff to cover it so everyone is over worked. Not everyone is a team player.

    Advice to Management

    Try caring about your staff so everyone doesn't want to leave

    Kool Smiles2016-07-02
  7. "Not so cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Kool Smiles

      Pros

      They hire people that are coming out of school. Giving them a chance to gain experience.

      Cons

      They aren't kid friendly like they advertise. The doctors aren't pediatric dentist. Lack of professionaconduct

      Advice to Management

      To focus more on being professional instead of being about the money

      Kool Smiles2016-06-22
    • "Flexibility"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Dental Assistant in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Kool Smiles full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Kool Smiles is extremely flexible for a part time employee. Working PRN is excellent and in my experience, the OM works to get you hours when asked. Kool Smiles will train you in front office duties, and different specialties. This is good for those who want to gain experiece from a 1st job. CPR certification, Nitrous Oxide Monitoring, Sealant Certification are all expanded duties an assistant can take advantage of....

      Show More

      Cons

      Fast paced, which may be good for some, but can be too much at times. If over booked, many times employees may work into lunch hour. Over time is not acceptable. Many different dentists with different expectations, so you have to learn many different personalities and ways. Sometimes promises from OM or above is not fulfilled. Not enough time for patient education or rapport....

      Show More
      Kool Smiles2016-05-11
    • "Progressive company w/ steadfast commitment to worthy vision"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Area Dental Director in Shreveport, LA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Kool Smiles

      Pros

      This year is my 10th year w/ KS, and it has been an amazing journey. Dentist-focused organization that has not wavered in its vision of serving kids and parents in under-served areas and improve access to care for those in dire need of services in smaller cities. Senior leadership understand clinical issues and concerns because they are dentists themselves.

      Cons

      Working with children every day is a blessing - you always wish you could do more for the kiddos.

      Advice to Management

      Amazing job focusing on developing your leaders and please stay doctor-centric by keeping the current clinical leadership structure. Smile On!

      Kool Smiles2016-05-07
    • Helpful (3)

      "Area Dental Director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Kool Smiles

      Pros

      Being with the company for 8 years, I have seen our company face many challenges from our communities and peers. We recognize that things are not always perfect and we will continue to face challenges as any organization. However, Kool Smiles and those who truly believe in our mission have the resiliency to see these challenges through to make things better, not only for our patients, but for our employees. This company...

      Show More

      Cons

      Work/ life balance is a continuous challenge, but manageable.

      Kool Smiles2016-04-12
    Found 269 reviews