L.E.K. Consulting Associate Consultant Reviews

Updated Jul 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 of over 740 reviews

3.7
57%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
L.E.K. Consulting Global Managing Partner Stuart Jackson
Stuart Jackson
47 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Hard work but great people

    Apr 15, 2021 - Senior Associate Consultant in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people in the Australian offices

    Cons

    Hard work and long hours

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work.

    Jul 4, 2021 - Associate Consultant in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture and interesting work.

    Cons

    Not as much opportunity for client engagement.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to start a career

    Oct 26, 2020 - Associate Consultant in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Interesting cases and intellectually stimulating work - Very bright colleagues - Friendly and supportive culture

    Cons

    - Maintaining work-life balance is challenging at times

    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Review

    Aug 12, 2020 - Senior Associate Consultant in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People, type of projects, speed of learning

    Cons

    Work life balance, some senior managers

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Hard work but rewarding culture

    Nov 19, 2019 - Senior Associate Consultant in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, fast progression, fun culture

    Cons

    Long, draining hours with an obsessive work culture

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Excellent business experience. Best first job out of university

    Apr 30, 2014 - Senior Associate Consultant in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Excellent training ground: L.E.K. has what can loosely be considered a 3-year training program. At the associate entry level (first 1-2 years) you pick up core quantitative skills (financial modelling) and qualitative skills (primary/secondary research, analysis and synthesis of information). At the AC/SAC level, you will pick up very valuable high-level strategic/commercial thinking and problem solving skills. AC/SACs will also take on junior management responsibilities. It's a lot to learn in 3 years but there's typically pretty good support from senior team members as this progression is pretty well-ingrained - Generalist approach (apart from life sciences specialists): I was there for a bit over 3 years and worked on over 22 projects across a large number of industries. I worked on projects in technology, media, general industrials, healthcare, pharma, and private equity. - Swap (L.E.K.'s 6 month international secondment program): I was able to swap to both New York and London. This isn't typical but it was possible because the Partners are supportive of the swap program. - People: Everyone is very very bright. Fantastic place to learn from very analytical and very commercially savvy consultants, managers, and partners. Most people are also generally down-to-earth and very approachable. - Business school: L.E.K. are supportive of those wishing to pursue an MBA and have a good track record of alum getting into the top schools, both in the US and Europe. The firm also sponsors (cover tuition fees and a living stipend). - Exit opportunities: Exit opportunities in the UK as well as Australia are very comparable with MBB. Successful placement in blue-chip corporate strategy is common. PE opportunities are also a plus given transaction work has traditionally been a big L.E.K. strength. - Other: There is less travel than other consulting firms, which 1) allows for better work/life balance and 2) creates a tight-knit culture especially at the junior levels. This may be changing as the firm moves into more strategy activation/project implementation and management work. Overall, this was the best first job to have out of university (same can be said of other top strategy consulting firms). I had previously interned in a large investment bank but had nowhere near the same level of exposure to high-level strategy and commercial issues, which (in my opinion anyway) is ultimately what's most important.

    Cons

    - Uneven quality of senior management: Some posts have alluded to very negative experiences with people at the partner-level (especially in London). I would sympathise with some of those comments but I would say that from my own experience, those negative experiences are generally the exception, not the rule. It's true that Partners who are poor managers can make a huge difference to team morale and the quality of the experience on the project. Having been on the negative side of this experience before, it's very unpleasant when your time is being wasted in an entirely avoidable way. It's clearly something the firm is trying hard to get right (especially in London) which is encouraging. However, it's not there yet so there is still the off chance you will be staffed on a project which is not being managed well and the job feels like a terrible chore for that period of time. - "Luck of the draw" project staffing: I want to preface this by saying that I suspect this is the same at many other consulting firms as well. Project allocation can come down to luck, although you can influence the type of project you want to be staffed on to some extent. This can result in being staffed on projects in industries you have absolutely no interest in or on projects with Partners that are bad to work for. - Low-key brand internationally: Although exit opportunities are comparable to MBB, MBB alum definitely have higher visibility so you may need to work a little harder to get the quality of your experience across to headhunters, recruiters and even business school admissions officers.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great pay, dull work

    Apr 6, 2015 - Associate Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent pay. Company culture is generally friendly. Great colleagues.

    Cons

    Uninteresting work. Some senior staff refer to being a junior employee as "doing time". Poor opportunities to excel. Progression is largely luck of the draw. Opaque, poorly-designed review system.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Senior associate consultant

    Feb 1, 2015 - Senior Associate Consultant in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good perks, good communal feel, nice CBD location, great learning opportunities

    Cons

    Long hours, high expectation to perform

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Menial, non-challenging tasks as a junior

    Jun 10, 2018 - Associate Consultant in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent case mix, some interesting projects Most people, especially juniors, are fun to be around Good social events, emphasis on company culture

    Cons

    Menial work for juniors, especially in their first year (lots of phone interviewing and extremely basic secondary research. Too often a very boring job. Very basic / boring personal development sessions - content learned at uni. Pay is below average compared with competitors. Partners minimise costs to max profits and aren't great with benefits

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    The reason to join... is to exit

    May 8, 2021 - Associate Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I only rate LEK highly because of the strength of the exit opps. The opportunities are great if you reach for them. After my two year mark I would get interesting opportunities in PE, PE ops, VC, Strategy, and (oddly) data science teams in my inbox and LinkedIn every week. When I started to actively recruit I was able to get interviews in the industry and function of my choice with ease. My thinking is... treat the company like it treats its employees. Extract what value you can, then leave.

    Cons

    Partners and managers are incentivized to extract every bit of productive work out of As and Cs. This leads to high hours - 60-70 hour weeks for most. Not all ~65 hour weeks are created equally. At LEK the intensity of each hour is high, there's rarely a moment for a breather, I'm grateful if I can catch a 15-30 minute lunch and a 30 minute dinner before working til midnight or later. I am not one to get burnt out, but most As would complain to me about their feelings of burnout, which I definitely sympathize with. With hours and intensity at such high levels, the compensation feels low, especially when normalized for hours. After 1 year, the absolute comp and $/hr that you can get in industry is greater, and depending on the company, the trajectory can be just as fast.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 97 Reviews

Popular Careers with L.E.K. Consulting Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at L.E.K. Consulting? Share Your Experiences

L.E.K. Consulting logo
or