L'Oréal Reviews in Canada | Glassdoor.com.au

L'Oréal Canada Reviews

Updated 11 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 99 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
L'Oréal CEO Jean-Paul Agon
Jean-Paul Agon
33 Ratings
  1. "SAP FICO Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    If you want challenges, this is the place to work.

    Cons

    I have no comments on this so far

    L'Oréal2019-01-17

    L'Oréal Response

    January 17, 2019Digital content and Engagement Manager

    Dear Colleague, thank you for your feedback. Have a great time ahead at L'Oréal. Best, Ana

  2. "Produces category analyses working with the commercial teams and marketing teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Analyst in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at l'Oréal is a bit like working at a global startup. Their commitment for enabling entrepreneurship is real. And it's a bit like being at a university, tons of young and motivated people. Inspiring vibe and constant exposure to new ideas

    Cons

    Career development can be improved. Mostly left to the manager so it really depends on who you get.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that employees have an ongoing and transparent discussion about their career progression with their manager and HR. Implement 360 evaluation (evaluation by manager, employees and collaborators)

    L'Oréal2019-06-05
  3. "High stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal

    Pros

    Tons of opportunities to learn, lots of autonomy, engaging work, and employee discount on products

    Cons

    High pressure environment, very fast paced, poor work life balance. Expect to work 50 hour weeks while getting paid for 40.

    L'Oréal2019-06-11
  4. "Nice company, very low salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Prestigious Company, good opportunity to discover the products (for free or with discounts) - Impossible to be bored at work - Possibility to regularly work from home - 3 Weeks of paid vacation

    Cons

    - A lot of pressure - Kind of toxic work environment (it feels like every department is in war against each other) - Heavy workload - It feels like HR does not hire talents, but just an additional 40 hours per weeks - Low salary

    L'Oréal2019-06-01

    L'Oréal Response

    June 5, 2019Global content and employee engagement manager

    Dear colleague, Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts! We are glad to see that you would recommend working with us even if you notice many improvements needed. Work-life balance and low stress are very important for you to achieve your best, and we recommend you to check ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Medical Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Significant level of autonomy - Flexible schedule - Plenty of opportunities to be entrepreneurial in your territory

    Cons

    - Very bureaucratic environment - Poor management significantly impacts team morale - Lack of upward mobility if you are unwilling to move to Montreal - Communication between head office and field team is problematic; feedback from field teams is rarely leads to improvements in strategy - They don't invest in the professional development of their employees

    Advice to Management

    - Listen to your sales reps given that you emphasize the importance of gathering market intelligence that is communicated to head office - Value your employees and take reasonable sources of job dissatisfaction as opportunities to improve your organization and reduce turnover

    L'Oréal2019-05-01

    L'Oréal Response

    May 28, 2019Global content and employee engagement manager

    Hello dear, Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for your three years among us. We are happy to see you embraced our entrepreneurial culture, and benefits and services to our employees. Thank you for sharing advice and your opinion, we are working closely with our internal ...

    Show More
  6. "Only one division leads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Analyst in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Office is beautiful. You get to try products. They let you do any projects if you bring them to port. Summer hours good.

    Cons

    Hire people too Young fresh out of university with no experience Need to be in CPD to evolve

    L'Oréal2019-04-06

    L'Oréal Response

    April 24, 2019Global content and employee engagement manager

    Dear colleague, Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for your time with L’Oréal! We’re very proud of our workplace and the unique benefits we are able to offer! We're also glad to see that you embrace our entrepreneurial and empowerment culture. There is not one linear and ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Marketing Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Assistant in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The positives include: -Lots of free and discounted product -Young/fun co-workers -Nice office following the most recent round of renovations -Good mentorship available if you seek it out

    Cons

    Above everything else, L'Oreal is exceptional at sales - selling the product to customers, selling "opportunities" to new employees, and especially selling a certain type of delusion to everyone who works there. Here are the main difficulties I faced while working at L'Oreal: -3 out of 5 senior and mid-level managers are generally unequipped for the role This means a lack of understanding of what it means to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Without sounding like a broken record - please take off your L'Oreal-tinted glasses and assess the state of the company objectively. The issues I mentioned have been voiced hundreds of times over the years and no one has done anything about it. You know what the problems are, you just need to choose to resolve them.

    L'Oréal2019-03-12
  8. "Not so great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Supervisor in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good people Mostly like a high school click and management being the cool bully kids

    Cons

    No advancements, no benefits. Felt anxious

    Advice to Management

    Training for yourselves and your teams

    L'Oréal2019-03-14
  9. "CS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can’t say much - keep relationship with higher management you’ll go places .

    Cons

    Very unorganized company Too many errors Be careful criticizing management - it might be viewed as insult rather than recognizing flaw to fix for continuous improvement.

    Advice to Management

    No training process in place. Avoid bandage solution in the process. Too many unhappy employees.

    L'Oréal2019-03-26
  10. "L'Oreal review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint-Laurent, QC

    I worked at L'Oréal (Less than a year)

    Pros

    L'Oreal is known to catapult employee careers to higher levels quickly; you work hard, you move up. It's the place to be if you are ambitious.

    Cons

    The intensity (entrepreneurial spirit) is not for everyone. Be ready to have one or two side projects, on top of your regular responsibilities.

    Advice to Management

    I was impressed by L'Oreal, I don't have any advice to offer.

    L'Oréal2018-11-19
Found 99 reviews