L'Oréal Reviews

Updated 1 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
L'Oréal Chief Executive Officer Jean-Paul Agon
Jean-Paul Agon
1,264 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fast Paced & Entrepreneurial"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fun, fast and full of passionate people who are willing to help each other out. As an individual you can effect change and make a real impact on the Business.

    Cons

    Culture is unique vs most Australian businesses. It's not for everyone - and even if it is, can take some time (~1 year) to get used to.

    L'Oréal2019-10-30

    L'Oréal Response

    October 31, 2019Global content and employee engagement manager

    Hello, Thank you for sharing your feedback! We’re very proud of our incredible colleagues, fun and fast(!) who contribute to our culture and drive our business forward every day. We’re glad to hear about your positive experience and wish you continued success as you grow your career with us. Have a good day down under! Madeline

  2. "Great Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Trainee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training and development and people

    Cons

    Sometimes stressful and heavy workload

    L'Oréal2020-05-27
  3. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best company to work for provides you with opportunity for career growth

    Cons

    Hard to move up the career ladder lots of sucking up to do

    Continue reading
    L'Oréal2020-05-07
  4. "Great job while studying or working towards something else"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Skin Care Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    L'Oreal offers an excellent social aspect and a lot of quality training and experience in sales. The job perks are wonderful with free products and the management team is really friendly and easy to approach. If you are working here while studying its an excellent job, however, if you do want to pursue a career in beauty or management there are a lot of opportunities and room for progression. They also work hard to recognise staff achievements and the in-store events can be really fun when they are successful.

    Cons

    While state management is really friendly and easy to approach, I found there was often a huge lack of communication and a lot of disorganization. Some of the managers had almost too much of a laid back attitude and there was sometimes a blurr between social & business relationships. The counters can sometimes go for months without resources such as testers/samples with no explanation and it can be frowned upon for you to follow up yourself. If you have a permanent position higher management will generally look out for you a bit more but I found that casuals were often forgotten about/left in the dark about their hours/shifts. There were many times where there were problems with the roster and a few issues with payroll which could be very frustrating. The 'OneLuxe' approach is great in theory and did create a lot of support between the different teams within stores; however, it's way too much work for the state managers to handle on their own and I think that's where the discrepancies in organisation and lack of communication came from.

    Continue reading
    L'Oréal2020-04-21
  5. "Competitive graduate program"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Trainee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, good learning opportuntites and personal development

    Cons

    Non-negotiable base salary, experience can be varied depending on your manager

    Continue reading
    L'Oréal2020-03-16
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Dear Paul Jaun Agon, please help."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Speed, brands, location, diverse retailers and categories, breadth of responsibility, empowerment, making a difference,

    Cons

    Leadership from the top, HR lack of support and enabling bullying, ethics not valued by senior team, senior leadership protect each other and not held accountable to anyone,

    Continue reading
    L'Oréal2019-12-07

    L'Oréal Response

    January 3, 2020Global content and employee engagement manager

    Hi, we take very seriously the comments and testimonies from both current and former employees and sincerely regret to hear you had such a bad experience. At L’Oréal, we have a proactive zero-tolerance policy towards bullying, discrimination or any kind of harassment and encourage our employees to provide feedback to their ethics correspondent. They are here to help and support all employees. Please do not hesitate to contact them, Sabrina

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Bullying & Lack of management support"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Demand Planner in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The access to the L'Oréal staff shop

    Cons

    No future job opportunities Managers who have all been promoted because they were there long enough Bullying approved by HR Strong lack of ethical values

    Continue reading
    L'Oréal2019-10-22

    L'Oréal Response

    October 28, 2019Global content and employee engagement manager

    Hi, we take very seriously the comments and testimonies from both current and former employees and sincerely regret to hear you had such a bad experience. At L’Oréal, we have a proactive zero-tolerance policy towards bullying, discrimination or any kind of harassment and encourage our employees to provide feedback to their HRD, manager or ethics correspondent. They are here to help and support all employees. Please do not hesitate to contact them, Sabrina

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really dynamic workplace, many roles anchored in digital, get a lot of autonomy and opportunities to learn and progress in the company. Working with lots of young, like-minded individuals so can make friends for life.

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be poor depending on the team, lots of pressure from top down and culture isn't always the best (but they're trying to improve this).

    Continue reading
    L'Oréal2019-08-06
  9. "Great starting point for managerial positions"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Store Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mid-range and Upper management was very nurturing and helpful. A great starting point for entry-level marketing or management position.

    Cons

    Sometimes the direct supervisor might not be the best in communication.

    L'Oréal2019-06-17
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Work at L'Oreal Australia"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations (Engineer) in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    International company. Nice location. If you're good in networking, then you can be promoted very quickly (no matter if you perform well or not in your job). Staff shop.

    Cons

    Old school management (incl. top management). Toxic atmosphere (high pressure, big turnover of the teams, can't trust HR and managers). Most of managers are there since years and are being promoted not for their competencies but thanks to politics games. All good elements resign after a few weeks/months. The company in Australia is getting bad results year after year (i.e. the global sharing is at its minimum since couple of years). However, the staff/management responsible for this poor performance is still being promoted to the top position.

    Continue reading
    L'Oréal2019-03-27
Found 2629 reviews