L'Oréal Reviews

Updated 15 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
L'Oréal Chief Executive Officer Jean-Paul Agon
Jean-Paul Agon
1,289 Ratings
  1. "Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at L'Oréal part-time

    Pros

    Free goods , good training

    Cons

    Have to work a lot of late shifts

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Could be a great place to work, but not there yet"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, access to products, international opportunities

    Cons

    Terrible management from top to middle, below average pay, very long hours, high pressure, high turnover

    Continue reading

    L'Oréal Response

    January 3, 2020Global content and employee engagement manager

    Dear colleague, Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for your time with L’Oréal! We’re very proud of our workplace and the unique benefits we are able to offer. We also appreciate your honest feedback and want you to know that we're working every day to constantly improve the workplace experience for our colleagues, this might not be immediately visible throughout the entire company. We highly encourage our colleagues to voice any concerns about workload or culture to their manager and HR partners who are best equipped to help. Thank you again for providing your thoughts. Have a lovely day and happy new year! Madeline

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training opportunities, some pleasant and talented colleagues, product allowance and company events

    Cons

    Toxic working culture that's been an issue for a long time but nothing changes. Very political organisation where promotions are not based on talent but on connections and relationship with the management instead. Average remuneration.

    L'Oréal Response

    January 3, 2020Global content and employee engagement manager

    Dear colleague, Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for your time with L’Oréal! We’re very proud of our workplace and the unique benefits we are able to offer as much as our focus on personal growth and development for our employees. If you have any concerns regarding promotions and career, we encourage you to raise the issue to HR and allow an open talk about it. We wish you all the best, Madeline

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Lost job with under 7 days of notice."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at L'Oréal part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -In store management -Training nights -Flexible hours

    Cons

    -Completely disregarded by HO. No response to emails and important matters for months. -No communication between HO and in store. -No area manager to check in on stores -Given under 7 days notice of store closure, leaving 5 workers with no job. No compensation provided.

    Continue reading

    L'Oréal Response

    October 28, 2019Global content and employee engagement manager

    Hello, We're sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at L’Oréal. Stores should always have direct contact with Head Office since this is where our relationship with customers is the most important. We do care about wellbeing of store workers and will communicate to top management your review to make sure this does not happen again. We wish you the best for the future, transmitting your passion for beauty to customers. Madeline

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Chaotic and cuthroat"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wish Not to Disclose 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary package and benefits, friendly colleagues, desirable products and good office

    Cons

    Chaotic environment Cuthroat culture, no ownership within wider teams Unethical behaviour around treating employees not in corporate office Borderline bullying and entitled attitude within upper management No worklife balance

    L'Oréal Response

    September 2, 2019Global content and employee engagement manager

    Hello dear, It's a pleasure to see you were getting the best of the benefits we can offer to our employees, from the products to the offices and of course, but also what is the most important here: our teams! It is sometimes hard for newcomers to understand the organization as a whole since it is very organic and as you mentioned, sometimes like "organized chaos". That is why we encourage anyone new to the company to connect with people who should be able to help them in their projects, but also to be in a very entrepreneurial mindset. This culture doesn't fit all personalities, especially for the ones who prefer a clear path and a lot of processes. We still hope you will find something that fits you better and wish you the best for the future. Have a great day, Madeline

  6. "start place"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    very good place to earn experience

    Cons

    stressful work , no work-life balance

    L'Oréal Response

    May 27, 2019Global content and employee engagement manager

    Dear ex-colleague, Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for your time with L’Oréal! We are happy to see you've learned a lot with us and we know our fast-paced environment can be received as stressful. That is why we have put in place many programs and services to increase work-life balance and help our employees to focus on what's important for them. For instance, we provide a concierge service, which employees use for needs such as oil changes and personal shopping to release stress and we have extended recently the paternity leave. We wish you continued success in your career. Best, Madeline

  7. "Good experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    So much to learn from a big global company.

    Cons

    Expected to work extremely long days

    L'Oréal Response

    May 29, 2019Global content and employee engagement manager

    Hello dear ex-colleague, Thank you for this positive feedback! We're proud of our investment into our people and learning opportunities (on the job, training, e-learning) so they stay at the cutting edge of their expertise. We've also recently put in place many services to increase work-life balance, such as flexible work and home office. Thank you for your feedback, it helps us to improve continuously. We wish you the best for your future. Best, Madeline

  8. "Supply chain"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, benefits, opportunities, staff, brands

    Cons

    Work life balance poor systems and training.

    L'Oréal Response

    January 18, 2019Digital content and Engagement Manager

    Dear Colleague, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear about the things you enjoy at L'Oréal. Keep up with the great job in Supply Chain, Ana

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Produc Development Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very dynamic and motivated people Innovation and R&D are at the very heart of business growth model.

    Cons

    careful with politics Sometimes there is no processes.

    Continue reading

    L'Oréal Response

    November 11, 2018L'Oréal Talent team

    Dear colleague, thank you for sharing your positive experience at L'Oréal! You're so right, R&I is the core of our business, and our driven people make innovation happen. Yes, you're also right that L'Oréal is not the most process driven environment, but we think that this allows us the entrepreneurial spirit and flexibility we so value to make innovation happen. Thank you also for your advice to management, your feedback is useful in understanding where we need to improve. Best, Emma

  10. "Sales Representative"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal part-time

    Pros

    Good work life Balance Fully Autonomous

    Cons

    Management are secretive No systems in Place Bad communication

    Continue reading

    L'Oréal Response

    October 18, 2018L'Oreal Talent Team

    Dear colleague, thank you for sharing your experience on Glassdoor! We definitely agree with you, here our employees have autonomy and with the flex-work, we are improving our employee's work-life balance. Thank you also for your insightful feedback, we hope to make progress with Simplicity, with the Lead and Enable Leadership training being further rolled out globally, in an aim of installing the values amongst our leaders. Best, Juliana

Found 2667 reviews